We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - room claustrophobic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassadors Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #490 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location - room claustrophobic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

First impression of the hotel was good with bright entrance and welcoming reception. First impression of the room was terrible - room 611. It really is a box and made me feel quite claustrophobic. No windows and therefore no views. I wish I had been brave enough to go back downstairs and ask to be moved. I don't care if it has a decent wet room, not having enough space to be able to walk around the double bed means it shouldn't be classed as a double room. Breakfast was fine. Space should be used as a store room and not as a standard double. There are better hotels in the area. I stayed at Novotel last time and would pefer it to this one.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    412
    208
    105
    50
See reviews for
88
366
80
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

This hotel was for us a great location, just round the corner from friends and not far from Kings Cross station and bus stop. Check- in staff very good and quick. We asked for a quiet room and appart from the air conditioning units outside it was, even though we were opposite the lift.
The room although not huge was big enough, sadly not the case with the wardrobe, hanging space was about 6 inches deep and no drawers, if you are planning staying longer than two nights take something to clip over the door.
The only other thing was the bed, comfy enough but very noisy, turning over was not welcomed by my husband, en suite, small but roomy enough for one at a time.
Breakfast was very good and the service was also very good.
I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Nicely designed, modern hotel with friendly staff and in a good location. The wetroom bathroom is a great novelty. The breakfast is a delight!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

The location is great, just around the corner from British Library and British Museum. Euston tube is really close, and King´s Cross and Russell Square are just a few minutes away. If you are travelling from Heathrow by the tube, I´d actually recommend you to get off at Russell Square. King´s Cross is much more crowded.

My room, 309, was quite small for a double I´d say, but very clean and the bed was comfy. Small but modern bathroom with a lovely shower. The wardrobe is a bit on the small side with about five hangers in total, and you wouldn´t be able to get two peoples clothes in there. Tea and coffee-making facilities are in the left cupboard by the bed. The in-room safe can be found in the right cupboard.

There was complimentary wifi-internet at the hotel, but unfortunately it didn´t work properly. I stayed for 4 days, and had to phone the reception a couple of times every morning or evening to ask them restart their router.

A nice touch is the complimentary bottle of water they put in the room every day. You also get a morning newspaper for free delivered to your room if you want it. Just tell them when you check in.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Gorgeous hotel and in a prime location. Minutes' walk from Euston and Euston Square. Pleasant walk to the bus routes serving Trafalger Square and Westminster if you don't like the Tube.

Women judge an entire establishment on it's toilets. so do not miss the public toilets on the basemant level - best basins I've ever seen!

Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, nothing seemed to much effort for them.

We were in the seemingly notorious room 111 and it wasn't that bad! I imagine, from the floor plan of the first floor, that all the "11" rooms are the same. Yes it was small, ridiculously so, but it was reasonably well equipped for an overnighter. There were no opening windows on account of the fact it was in the middle of the building, and therefore no natural light. But it was more than bearable. I wouldn't recommend one of the "11" rooms if you plan to spend a lot of your time in the hotel though!

This place let itself down completely in the breakfast department though. Let's face it, the biggest thrill of a hotel stay (apart from all the obvious DIY ones, of course!) is the breakfast. Undercooked bacon, undercooked sausage, burned black pudding, anaemic tomato and greasy eggs that gave me a quite unpleasant surprise the next day. The mushrooms were gorgeous though, I'll give them that.

Ultimately, the perfect hotel for using simply for night-time activities (sleeping, etc...) whilst you enjoy London Town. Not a place to book if you want to stay in your room.

And there's a cafe at Euston for your breakfast rather than the evil they turn out.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

The building is a nice red-brick structure, recently renovated. Once you enter the lobby, its modern, looks new and very neat. The check-in process was quick, and staff was courteous.

Once we got to our floor, the walk to the room was through a very narrow passage. We opened the door, and our fear of a tiny room came true. But I suppose this is London and one must expect this.

The room seemed very recently renovated, with a modern and straight line design, and a nice and simple colour scheme. It had a very comfortable bed, a small desk, and a good TV. The bathroom, though tiny, was again modern and up to date. All in all, comfortable enough. Most of the time we were out, and only came back in the afternoon to rest and at night to sleep. A little stuffy if you are planning to spend a long time in the room.

Negatives of the room are minimal, basically no view, and a little dusty.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. It was close enough to the centre of town, yet away from the chaos. It is close to 2 tube stations so very convenient, and neighbourhood is nice and fairly quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful.

All in all, we had a good stay.

  • Liked — Location and the modern and up to date condition
  • Disliked — Tiny room
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

This hotel is in a superb location, 10 mins walk from Kings Cross, within easy reach of great shops, restaurants and sightseeing. Room was small (not much storage space for clothes) but very clean, modern and comfortable. Our room (401) was very quiet. The staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly. The breakfast was superb. All in all, great value. Would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#294 Luxury Hotel in London
#327 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassadors Bloomsbury is a Grade II listed Edwardian building, located within walking distance from Euston, Kings Cross and St. Pancras Stations. 10 minutes walk from Oxford Street, 5 minutes from the British Museum and 15 minutes from Covent Garden. We are just 2 miles away from the famous Camden Market.The hotel has 100 en-suite superior or deluxe bedrooms. Our Superior rooms are designed to be calm and relaxing with neutral colours throughout. Wi-fi is free throughout all property.All guestrooms are dressed with crisp white bed linen complete with contemporary bathrooms or wet-rooms with power shower, LCD tv's with payview movies and international channels.The hotel has a gym, 7 meeting & event rooms and the award winning Number Twelve restaurant, a fusion of Italian and British ingredients.We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London
Ambassadors Bloomsbury London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassadors Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.