We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, terrible room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassadors Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #481 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, terrible room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff in this hotel are fabulous, nothing was too much trouble and they were all smiley and lovely.

My room, however, was awful. Extremely small, with a wardrobe that could only hold 3 items of clothing. A wetroom, which was tiny, with no shelving for even a toothbrush to be placed. Pillows that as soon as you lay on them, squashed down and provided no support, the bed was not comfortable at all. There was no comfy place to sit in the room, a small hard desk chair only. The tea and coffee station took up the entirety of the desk so nothing could be placed on it.
It was noisy, difficult to get the temperature right and generally a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    491
    244
    119
    59
See reviews for
113
430
91
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved, loved, loved the location of this hotel, just a block or two from Euston station, and right near Tavistock Square and the British Museum. Although the room and bed were on the smaller side, it didn't really matter because we didn't spend much time in there! Service was excellent, fast check in and we were brought extra coffee to make in our room whenever we requested it (no surcharge). We didn't eat any meals at the hotel, too many other places to explore in London.

You can see more photos and reviews of London at
www.saucesandsuitcases.com

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here twice last week, before and after going to Spain via Eurostar. Easy check-in, asked if I wanted a paper in the morning and on the way out was offered a very good packed breakfast as I had an early start.

The rooms have tea and 'Nespresso' machines. The beds are 'Hypnos' and very comfortable.

Only 10 mins walk to St. Pancras makes it very convenient.

Upon my return same level of service and room, on this occasion I had time for a really good freshly cooked breakfast.

Admittedly it is not cheap but there is no doubting it offers quality accommodation and is in an excellent position if you are using Eurostar.

I have no hesitation in recommending.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel but very small room With bed touching wall at top and bottom. Wet room much bigger than actual bedroom area...................................................................................

Room Tip: Don't expect to swing any cats!!!! Very small amount of room around bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good hotel, a short walk from Euston train station. Quick check-in. Clean room although very cramped, almost tiny. We had booked 2 rooms, a double and single, both costed the same but the double was bigger. I would have thought you would get the same size for the same price.

No breakfast. I would have thought at least a continental breakfast was warranted for the 100 GBP that we paid.

Room Tip: Take the front facing ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were impressed by the hotel. The staff on reception were extremely pleasant and helpful. The bedroom was adequately sized, the bed was large and comfortable and the shower worked well. We had a good breakfast and overall were very impressed by the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Like many other reviewers, we stayed here because it proved a convenient stop upon coming back via the Eurostar.

The price is reasonable for its location, but the room leaves little to be desired. At some point perhaps it was grand, as they use upscale brands for their bathroom fittings, but the carpet was grotty and sink had stains. A heated towel rack is provided but it is situated so stupidly, that your knees hit it when you sit on the toilet. Complimentary water is provided but the rim of the bottle is caked with gunk! caked!

For a four star rated hotel, slippers are not provided and we requested for two toothbrushes but after a 20 minute wait, only received one.

Perhaps the icing on our unpleasant time here was the rather rude receptionist at night, a rather grumpy Asian man who frowned a lot and threw his hands up as if to say "WHAT STUPID REQUEST ARE YOU ASKING FOR?!" when we asked him to send a toothbrush up to our room whilst on our way out to eat: apparently, despite it being a hotel with master keys, it is clearly impossible to send a toothbrush up to the room whilst we go out to eat, so that we could come back and quickly get ready for bed - we arrived at the hotel very very late, and wanted to quickly eat and sleep - so another 20 minute wait for a toothbrush that we had actually requested for a long time ago wasn't something we wanted to do.

The rate was cheap but not that cheap: you are far better finding a B&B for cheaper or splurging and staying at the Hilton right across the road.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#295 Luxury Hotel in London
#316 Family Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London
Ambassadors Bloomsbury London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassadors Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.