We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Cafe

Regency Cafe
17-19 Regency Street, Pimlico, London SW1P 4BY, England (Westminster)
0207 821 6596
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Westminster
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Why pay the extortionate price in the hotel we were staying? I was happy to go out for breakfast. It sounds an insult to call it a greasy spoon as it was wonderful. The service was very quick, you queued up placed your order and then went to find a seat and shortly afterwards in a very loud, deep voice your order was shouted out and you collected it. The Regency was very basic but clean and I was transported back in time to the 1960's but I loved it. I would certainly go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    76
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“It's what it says on the door.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

OK, here goes with my opinion....

It's a Cafe - it's what it says on the sign. Despite what some of the negative reviewers say, it makes no pretensions to be anything else, so don't judge it by what it isn't.
There are a couple of comments here that mention a slightly "threatening" atmosphere, but if you want to feel really threatened, go to a Cafe a bit further East of here and see how you get treated. My view is that tourists as well as locals could eat here easily, and just blend in with what is quite unique in this environment. There's a bit of showmanship with the shouting of orders etc. but the overriding positive is the breakfast - it's done with a lot of noise and passion and is made from great quality ingerdients. The English breakfast isn't something to be linger over with meagre portions of skinny this and that while you mess around on Facebook - it's a good old shot of substance for the day ahead. If you want to spend three times as much and wait in a queue for a fancy coffee then go somewhere else and be one of the sheep.

Everywhere has it's place in your life and schedule, and this is the big weekend breakfast for me. Would I come here every morning - no. Would I come here before work - possibly depending on what the day has in store. Would I come here after a nght on the beer - absolutely. A lazy Staurday mid-morning - too right......

If you prefer an old English boozer over a branded lager and premixed cocktail warehouse you'll love this place. If you you don't, then you'll probably prefer Starbucks.......but I'd be interested to see you order a skinny winny frappucino with an extra decaf shot here!

One criticism - I saw a salad on the menu......?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A good breakfast is hard to find, but we found it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy a good cooked breakfast and it's amazing how many hotels get it so wrong. We were staying at a 5* hotel in town and thought we'd give their poncy and very expensive fare a miss and track down somewhere else to go for a classic British fry up in honest surroundings.... And we found it at the Regency Cafe.

I have to say its not easy searching for a decent breakfast cafe and I happened to find a forum elsewhere that mentioned the Regency. It's a pity Trip Advisor doesn't include Breakfast in their search filters. Anyway perhaps it's a good thing as it would be a shame if this place became overrun with tourists.

If you follow the owners rules on ordering, you'll be just fine. The breakfast choice is great, catering for all combinations and however you like your eggs done. The portions are generous and satisfying. The bacon is cooked perfectly, just a little crispy and the fried eggs were spot on, not at all overcooked with a runny yolk. The tea is a good British brew too.

Thoroughly reccommended!! We'll be going back for sure!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must if you're in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Step back in time for the best breakfast in London. Walk up to the counter and order the set breakfast - bacon rasher, sausage, beans or grilled tomato and an egg with choice of toast or bread and butter, and of course coffee or tea. Take a seat and once it's ready you'll hear a deep bellow to pick up your breakfast!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A cafe from the 60's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a regular stopping point on a Saturday for a group of us.food is good,cafe is spotless.about correct value.few points for first timers..Don't take a seat before ordering,that's not allowed.remember your order(& who had what in front of you if possible)itll be shouted up when ready.take your own cutlery from near the tea urn.in winter try not to sit near the front door or you'll get an artic blast everytime someone enters.if you want a second cup of tea you don't have to queue up again just go to front & order it.all in all one the best cafes of its style in London.theres not many left like it.italian one on bethnal green similar

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regency Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Regency Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.