We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bumpkin South Kensington

Bumpkin South Kensington
102 Old Brompton Road, London SW7 3RD, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)
020 7341 0802
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bumpkin South Kensington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,133 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Description: Bumpkin restaurant is a new thing, a country-in-the-city organic eatery that���s opened its doors on the Old Brompton Road in London���s South Kensington. Bustling with an art-collecting, sports-jacket-wearing local crowd, Bumpkin is a warm and cosy restaurant that has been decorated with farmhouse-chic furniture and eclectically upholstered chairs to relax in while you watch the chefs create their magic in the open-plan kitchen. The classic British cuisine revolves around the availability of fresh market ingredients, so the menu at Bumpkin changes frequently with sumptuous daily special as well. Apart from olive oil, all the ingredients on Bumpkin���s menu are one hundred percent British. Signature dishes include a variety of organic pies, gourmet salads and grilled fish accompanied by an excellent selection of wines, ciders and real British ales. We love this local gem, and it's an ideal spot for post-shopping salads, Sunday roasts and Bloody Mary���s, and organic on-the-run snacks.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun but very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The ambiance was great, relaxed and decorated tastefully, the food and service was okay, but the acoustics were terrible, we had to shout to be heard, so not at all relaxing, annoying as I had spent the morning traveling and wanted to unwind!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    138
    61
    37
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Casual dining place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel manager recommends this place. Unfortunately when I visited here, it was on Valentine's Day and all tables were fully booked. However the receptionist kindly checked some availability to invited us.
The foods are more than the average considering in London. The waitresses or waiters are so so friendly because of pretty busy day. We felt the average London foods improved a lot recently.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

An obligatory visit in London. When you go to Bumpkin you discover all the differences between a restaurant and a place where you don't appreciate the real tastes.
The receptionist (Rodrigo) is amazing! He is really sympathetic and, during our meal, we noticed all his hard work and job commitment.
Thank you!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good home-style cooking. Dry chicken with heirloom tomato and radish salad. Plus a leg of lamb with not a speck of salt. Needs help. Service not interested in your experience or feedback. When asked "how is your food and I answer "just ok" I expect a question or some further engagement. They really don't seem to care what you think.

Much better options nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I went yesterday to have an early dinner and I left the place because I was so badly treated that it was unbelievable. A bunch of young and inexperienced staff kept on treating us really bad in the sense that they insisted in not offering us a table when the place was almost empty (it was supposed to be fully booked....) and with some tables occupied by the flowers of some visitors coming back from the Chelsea Flower Show. When we left the place I told the manager and he had a face that clearly showed up his absolutely non-care about customers. I won't return even if the food it is quite good, I am not paying in a place to be treated so badly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumpkin South Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Bumpkin South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumpkin South Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.