We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to sleep!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Barbican London to your Saves list
Citadines Barbican London
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 40%
Ranked #443 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Impossible to sleep!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here a few night, and impossible to sleep. Could here everything from the other apartments, and when I say everything, even when they were in the toilet...! Each night around midnight a truck came below oru window, which was waking us up if we were sleeping. The fridge kept making awful noise every 30 minutes.
If you want to sleep in the morning, forget it, the cleaning ladies start their work at eight o'clock. same thing if you would like to have a rest in the afternoon, they are still working, slamming the door pulling their trolley without being careful.
Awful stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Area Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay with us.

We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Duty Manager at the time when any issues arise. The purpose of this is to ensure that all concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making our resident's stay with us a pleasant one. I am very sorry to learn that you were left with an unpleasant experience.

I hope that you will reconsider staying with us or any of our other serviced residences,
giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    162
    62
    20
    19
See reviews for
43
99
31
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wales
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here 1 night as at a conference in the Barbican, very close. Was told on booking in how to pull the bed down. That should have told me what I was in for!
Once you pull down the double bed you cannot walk around the room. Bed was comfortable however. The room was like a sauna - but it was not that warm outside. Windows open and still too hot so had to take cover off the duvet and just use that as a sheet! It smelled of smoke although supposedly non smoking. Towels old and rough. TV didn't work, man came and fixed it. Very complicated to access wifi.
I paid £174 for 1 night - was advertised as 150 ish and the rest was added as tax etc. That is no value for money at all, even in London.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Area Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry to read that you di not enjoy your stay with us. Clearly on this ocassion we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with my Housekeeper and Maintenace engineer and have asked that they look into your concerns.

In regards to the rate, hospitality pricing in London, as in any other major city, is very much market-driven. It also has a direct relation to the various factors such as location, product, availability and demand within the given vicinity.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My recommendation is do not stay here, luckily I only had to stay the one night to be honest I wouldn't have even stayed that had I the choice. Checkin was fine, got to room and thought oh where's te bed then realised it was a pull down one, the carpet was covered in stains saying that the rest of the room was clean. But to top of my stay I turned on the tap in the bath got the water to the correct temperature only to then try and switch it to the shower to find out it didn't work due to the fact I needed to get to a meeting I had no choice but to lean over and washy hair under the tap, when I advised on check out all I got was a sorry an asked if I reported it, well no I didnt have time to get dressed wait on someone come up to look at it and most likely not fix it anyway. I am sorry but I know that things break but I got the impression this had been broken for a while how did the cleaners not find it when cleaning the room

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Area Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and my sincere apologies for the obvious inconvenience caused to you.

I have shared your comments with both my Housekeeper and Maintenance Engineer and have asked that they ensure that the communication between both departments is improved.

As for the carpets, they are cleaned weekly or whenever a new resident arrives. Professional deep cleaning is also done bi-annually. Despite this regular cleaning, we apologise that we still failed to meet your expectations with the level of cleanliness.

Once again my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obr2000
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I have Stände there now a Couplet of Times. The Hotel is an Alternative Compactdisc to Standard Hotels. The small pantry in Roms would you to prekäre for small Metal. The Roms are small and inferior is Bit worn but the Roms are clean. Dont Booker the breakfast it is over priced.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here in a studio went with my boyfriend who was working close by. Location was great only a mile or so away from most of the attractions and enjoyed walk but was close to the tube if you wanted to use that also. Room was good enough for the break it had a mini kitchen with everything you needed and a dishwasher. Breakfast was good. And nice Indian on opposite side of the road towards the national museum

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Area Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your review about our serviced residence.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and the location.

We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The room was small, it reminded me of the accommodation that I used to stay in as a student at university.

It was very expensive at almost £150 per night and only had a very unfortable sofabed.

The room was not serviced in the three days that I stayed.

The room was very dark and the furnishing, especially the bed looked very shabby.

I shalln't return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building look directly into student accommodation and are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Area Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry to read that overall you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we were unable to make you feel more at home and comfortable.

As an Apart'hotel we do not clean the rooms on a daily basis, this is advertised as such on all our internet booking partners, my apologies if this was not explained to you during check-in.

Thank you once again for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed here to go and see Arsenal Emirates Cup and we got an apartment here, the room itself was clean enough with sufficient bathroom, bed, kitchenette ect but the parking was certaily not ideal, then again it is London, the room was so hot and stuffy, we turned all heating off and had window fully open all night bith nights and it was so hot there was just no wind or breeze, London is very different to where we live as always breeze but this meant we were so uncomfortable it was just so stuffy, the second night the heating turned itself back on by itself and would not turn off, therefore we were inconsolable, i could not wait to go home, it was also £120 for two nights which we thought was quite good actually but we had to haggle for that. It could have been much more. If you had to stay around here i suppose it was ok and better than hotel for fridge, ect and atleast we could make ice in freezer for heat, although we bought ice trays as there wasnt any. Alright place to stay for sink kettle ect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Area Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

We read with concern about the experience you encountered during your stay with us.

We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Duty Manager at the time when any issue arises. The purpose is to ensure that your concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making your stay with us a pleasant one.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish discuss further, max.phillips@the-ascott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Barbican London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in London
#282 Family Hotel in London
#316 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Barbican London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Barbican London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.