We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely London hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umi London

Save Saved
You added Umi London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Umi London
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #678 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Lovely London hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in the Umi hotel because it ticked all of our boxes. Ideal location-the tube station is a 10 minute walk, great restaurants especially Middle Eastern and Greek with a few good pubs too. The price is reasonable and the breakfast was tasty. The hotel has a varlety of newspapers and magazines that you can peruse . This hotel is in a 19th century building so has character. We've stayed in lots of London hotels and this would be in our top 5.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have a view of Leinster square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    183
    187
    76
    66
See reviews for
76
152
98
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I chose the Umi based on price, location and TripAdvisor comments, not necessarily in that order. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the location is great for the price. My room was very small and a little shabby, the carpet could definitely do with replacing, but I did enjoy the bed placed directly next to the window ( which actually opened, for a change ) and which looked out onto the private park across the road. The room was fitted with a radiator but no air-conditioning which would put me off staying here in summer. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from local shopping centre, Whitleys, and not much further to two underground stations. The bed was comfortable, the shower worked and the TV had plenty of channels, I couldn't expect more for the $100 a night I paid considering it's in London.

Room Tip: Does not appear to have air-conditioning - a consideration for summer visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The title says it all but to expand this is my 2nd stay here and everything you need for a business tourist trip to London is in walking or rental cycle distance. Excellent public transport facilities too. Great range of reasonably priced restaurants especially Middle Eastern on Queensway and surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here pre and post departure for a tour. The single room i was given pre departure was terrible. Had to walk sideways to get my suitcase past the desk and bench to get to the bed and tiny area to put my bag. The bed was awful, i could feel every spring i think it was broken. Was contemplating staying somewhere else when i came back from tour but luckily i was given a much better single room which was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms definitely went from a 1 to an 8, The full english breakfast was very nice. Location is very easy to walk to Queensway station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you plan to experience the old, squeky wooden hotel with never washed windows and bed with old mattress, this hotel is pefect for you. As a benefit you can use internet for just 1 pound per 20 minuts. What a bargain! When the standard in almost all hotels around Europe is internet for free.
The other benefit is the window in a room one can not close completely so you will not suffer from lack of fresh air.
The only good thing for this place is a location. However, I am sure you can find much better hotel in London for comparable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we stayed there in June and we enjoyed our stay there. The rooms are spacious, the design is awesome and service was quick and great. The location is a bit far to walk (about 10 minutes) to next metro or bus stops. The location, otherwise, is very nice example of the city-planning. Quite a place to stay :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was quite lively, on the Saturday night I stayed they had a nightclub. The hotel is quite big from the small look inside. (Quite like a TARDIS), the hotel was quite busy the weekend I stayed. I suppose it was coming up to Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #678 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel
Umi London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umi London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.