We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Umi London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Umi London to your Saves list
Umi London
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #709 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“poor hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you plan to experience the old, squeky wooden hotel with never washed windows and bed with old mattress, this hotel is pefect for you. As a benefit you can use internet for just 1 pound per 20 minuts. What a bargain! When the standard in almost all hotels around Europe is internet for free.
The other benefit is the window in a room one can not close completely so you will not suffer from lack of fresh air.
The only good thing for this place is a location. However, I am sure you can find much better hotel in London for comparable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    189
    191
    76
    66
See reviews for
78
158
98
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we stayed there in June and we enjoyed our stay there. The rooms are spacious, the design is awesome and service was quick and great. The location is a bit far to walk (about 10 minutes) to next metro or bus stops. The location, otherwise, is very nice example of the city-planning. Quite a place to stay :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was quite lively, on the Saturday night I stayed they had a nightclub. The hotel is quite big from the small look inside. (Quite like a TARDIS), the hotel was quite busy the weekend I stayed. I suppose it was coming up to Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Umi for 4 nights in September 2013. I did a Topdeck tour which departed from the hotel hence the decision to stay there. Big mistake.

The hotel is old and run down. We were all taken aback by the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. It's understandable for London, during the cooler periods, but when the heatwave strikes, you're practically roasting in the rooms. I would say that looking down the corridor at the rows of rooms on either side, is almost akin to the hotel in The Shining.

In 4 nights we had to change rooms twice. Once due to a shower head that had no pressure at all and we couldn't take a shower. The second time was when the light bulb blew in the bathroom in the 2nd room and when we called someone to come fix it, they broke the whole thing and we couldn't use the bathroom at all. Not impressed.

While many other hotels offer free WiFi/LAN, you had to pay for internet use at the Umi. Clearly it's not as progressive as the other hotels.

Basically, there isn't much good things to be said for this hotel. There are plenty of other hotels littered about the same location so it's not slim pickings. Pick another hotel, just not the Umi and you'll be guaranteed to have a slightly better time in London.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good. Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I only stayed in this hotel one night, but i was kind of glad to get out. The hotel was far too warm. The room itself needed one huge update, my shower was tapped together, the shower head was clogged with lime-scale and you either got a boiling hot setting or cold. AWFUL!

The beds were not really all that comfy.The carpet really needed a good clean, and i was in a room next to these two doors which literally remind me of restaurant doors. They were awful! I was woken up at 2, 4 and 5am by drunk people coming in banging along through the doors! Not pleasant, my advice if you are put in this room and are sensitive to noise, ask to be relocated!


The location was a walk out from any tube stations or bus stops and if you don't know the area, you will get lost..

Not good value for money! £70 for one room for one night. BAD! I expected way more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while attending a concert near by. Seen the reviews here and for the price it is one of the cheapest in London so wasn't expecting much. But have to say I was surprised room was clean and big enough staff on the desk friendly and was in a nice neighbourhood.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel 15 minute walk from Hyde park. Coffee facility in room. The carpet was thread bear and mirror stained , shame, really let the hotel down. Needs updating, but apart from that everything was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#559 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#659 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#576 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#323 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#140 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#474 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #709 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel
Umi London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umi London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.