We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umi London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Umi London to your Saves list
Umi London
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #730 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Ballymena
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Grand stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was quite lively, on the Saturday night I stayed they had a nightclub. The hotel is quite big from the small look inside. (Quite like a TARDIS), the hotel was quite busy the weekend I stayed. I suppose it was coming up to Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at the Umi for 4 nights in September 2013. I did a Topdeck tour which departed from the hotel hence the decision to stay there. Big mistake.

The hotel is old and run down. We were all taken aback by the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. It's understandable for London, during the cooler periods, but when the heatwave strikes, you're practically roasting in the rooms. I would say that looking down the corridor at the rows of rooms on either side, is almost akin to the hotel in The Shining.

In 4 nights we had to change rooms twice. Once due to a shower head that had no pressure at all and we couldn't take a shower. The second time was when the light bulb blew in the bathroom in the 2nd room and when we called someone to come fix it, they broke the whole thing and we couldn't use the bathroom at all. Not impressed.

While many other hotels offer free WiFi/LAN, you had to pay for internet use at the Umi. Clearly it's not as progressive as the other hotels.

Basically, there isn't much good things to be said for this hotel. There are plenty of other hotels littered about the same location so it's not slim pickings. Pick another hotel, just not the Umi and you'll be guaranteed to have a slightly better time in London.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good. Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl_SG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I only stayed in this hotel one night, but i was kind of glad to get out. The hotel was far too warm. The room itself needed one huge update, my shower was tapped together, the shower head was clogged with lime-scale and you either got a boiling hot setting or cold. AWFUL!

The beds were not really all that comfy.The carpet really needed a good clean, and i was in a room next to these two doors which literally remind me of restaurant doors. They were awful! I was woken up at 2, 4 and 5am by drunk people coming in banging along through the doors! Not pleasant, my advice if you are put in this room and are sensitive to noise, ask to be relocated!


The location was a walk out from any tube stations or bus stops and if you don't know the area, you will get lost..

Not good value for money! £70 for one room for one night. BAD! I expected way more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emoloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while attending a concert near by. Seen the reviews here and for the price it is one of the cheapest in London so wasn't expecting much. But have to say I was surprised room was clean and big enough staff on the desk friendly and was in a nice neighbourhood.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Timeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel 15 minute walk from Hyde park. Coffee facility in room. The carpet was thread bear and mirror stained , shame, really let the hotel down. Needs updating, but apart from that everything was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smithyWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Would be fine to stay there anytime outside of summer but pretty much July, August, September I would not advise it. The staff were helpful and the location is very good but it is difficult to appreciate any of that when you can't sleep.

We stayed here as our Top Deck tour left from there the following morning, would be ok for one night but no more than that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielP1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

this is a reasonably cheap hotel for its location, it is the ex westminister hotel. Stayed here as a quick over night for which is prefect. Room is out dated and a little noisy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good.
This hotel is in the popular tourist backpacker area and shows. It has a very international feel. But is on a a budget.
You get what you pay for and in Central London that is limited.

Room Tip: stay in the rooms on the front of the hotel they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#566 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#339 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#178 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#631 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#632 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #730 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel
Umi London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing