We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt At The Last Moment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Umi London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Umi London to your Saves list
Umi London
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #703 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spoilt At The Last Moment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in one of their superior double rooms and initially were very impressed. The room was spacious, well presented, warm and clean, the bathroom was also clean and had bath and powerful shower. We had complementary dressing gowns though they weren't exactly fluffy, there was also a freeview TV, kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits and 2x bottles of water.

The bed was comfy but our nights sleep weren't great. The floorboards in the hallway were very creaky, this was funny at first but then you can hear people up and down at all hours. We were lucky we were at the end of the corridor so I dread how it must have sounded for people further down. The windows are single paned so you can hear everything outside which whilst we were there included some kind of roadworks and what sounded like children trying to kill each other.

We had a continental breakfast inculded which included selecting 4 options from a set menu and was very nice. The reception and dining area are well presented and staff seem friendly enough.

We had a pleasant stay up until the last moment when we found that under the window where we had left our suitcase for 2 days (still with some clothes in) had soaked up a large amount of damp through the carpet. When we mentioned this to the receptionist on checkout the lady just stared blankly and asked us what we wanted to do about it rather than offering any recompense. Then to top things off the waitress forgot our crossiants at breakfast!

The hotel location is great near to a couple of good pubs and casino if you like that kind of thing. Bayswater tube station is a 5 minute walk away. I would have stayed here again until our stay was spoilt by leaving with musty smelling clothes. Also on seeing some of the other photos the standard rooms appear to be a lot less desirable.

Room Tip: Opt for superior room, appears to be worth the difference. Don't leave suitcase under window in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    188
    189
    75
    66
See reviews for
77
155
98
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

More like a hostel than a hotel. Room tiny. Floorboards really old so squeaky. Toilet practically in the shower as so small.Staff were friendly at reception and in the bar area. Located near Bayswater tube station so that was handy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent location, very close to metro stations, restaurants and shopping.
In the place they offer city maps, information on tours and contact shuttle to Heathrow airport.
The breakfast is adequate and the price is quite reasonable.
The biggest problem is the rooms. The Victorian windows does not have good sealing and wind enters during the night, which is very uncomfortable on cold nights, as I took in November. The problem gets worse because in several rooms (rooms visited friends) are the beds next to the windows.
My bed had a mattress bad, sinking and was crooked. After the first night I asked to exchange but nothing was done.
The attendants are young and friendly.

Room Tip: The apartments of the funds are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This small little hotel is conveniently located close to several tube stations and portobello road. I stayed here while on a spring break trip with my college class. The place was fairly clean and quiet. We had our own bathroom and shower, television in the room, armoire for our clothes, iron in the room, tea and coffee, etc.... They provided complimentary breakfast for everyone staying there and had a fairly reasonable little bar area with a few TVs in it. The only complaint is that the mattress was a little funky. Whenever i would lay down the end of the mattress would pop up into the air haha. All in all i would stay here again though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here before and after a bus tour, as it left from this hotel. I thought it was overpriced for what it was, but all in all we had a comfortable stay. Would stay again under the same circumstances.

Pros:
- excellent front desk staff, very helpful and friendly
- good selection at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner
- water supplied in-room free of charge
- around the corner from a street packed with restaurants and cafes
- several laundromats within walking distance
- short walk to the subway
- close to Hyde Park
- comfortable bed and pillows

Cons:
- very noisy/creaky floorboards in rooms and hallways
- a bit tired around the edges, didn't use shower because it looked a bit scungy
- expensive for the quality of the rooms, but you're paying London prices after all

Room Tip: Higher floors have less floorboard noise, and are further from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, ON Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of Sept 2012 as a family of 2 adults and 2 kids under 4.

We had a triple bunk bed room with a crib as well. The room was crowded when we had our stroller in it but without that or the crib, there was plenty of room for the price. The elevator only goes to the 4th floor but for the price I didn't mind hauling our stuff up an extra flight.

The hotel does attract a lot of students and got loud on a couple nights.

The restaurant was very well priced and had good food for dinner. We also had the continental breakfast included and this was enough food for us to make it to lunchtime when we were out and about.

The internet was 2 pounds per 20 minutes. Or you could go around the corner to the Starbucks and use their wi-fi.

The location of the hotel was great. Close to 3 metro stops and about 15 minutes from Paddington station which we used to arrive from the airport directly.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only negative was the rooms were a bit grungy and the towels one day looked dirty.

Overall, if you're looking for a reasonably priced place to stay that is close to attractions and metro stops, then I'd recommend Umi hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in July, and found it to be considerably overpriced. I stayed tonights and was quite disapointed in the general up keep of the hotel. The outside looks amazing and it fits in well with its surrounding area. The reception and breakfast area is also quite enjoyable. The rooms however are out dated. The bed was not very comfortable, and the window did not open very far so the room was quite stuffy. Its location is great if you intend on staying in the area of Bayswater, there are alot of local business. overall the hotel is reasonable, its is just overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #703 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel
Umi London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umi London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.