We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Gardens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Gardens Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly TOP Hotel Kensington Gardens) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #505 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Hamilton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Our room had hair all over the walls and floor in the bathroom and the shower had a condom wrapper in it. Plus the room was dated. We left at once.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    81
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
55
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Booked this hotel as close for a concert at Royal Albert Hall, which wasn't far away. Had to check in at the next hotel and get the keys from there, but that wasnt a problem.
Room was on the 5th floor and there is NO STAIRS. Beware.
Breakfast was included at the other hotel, continental, low quality but did the job. Ok for the money in central London.
Would stay again, but request lower floor next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

5 minute walk from the nearest underground station and just off the main street. The hotel is a pleasant little place and the staff at the nearby Phoenix hotel are super helpful when checking in late.

The room was pleasant and the window was open when I arrived allowing a nice breeze in. Shower and sink in room and the toilet was close by. This hotel is definately on my list of hotels to return to as the location is excellent and the hotel is good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed here for 12 days in early August and I must agree with the review that suggests the stairs are a pain! But, besides that it was a great hotel. It is located down a quieter street, but sometimes people do come by and cars drive by. It happens, it is in London!

Positives:

A fantastic receptionist. She was so helpful and so friendly. She even let us use her computer to print out a voucher for a tour we were doing.

Great location only 5min from Bayswater Tube station and 10min from Queensway Tube station as well. So many different restaurants in the area - Greek, Italian, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Lebanonese, Persian, Indian, American, Brazilian, etc plus a Starbucks, McDonalds, Burger King, and Cinnabon.... It was all so good! Safe neighborhood with a mall and Marks & Spencers close by.

We had a private bathroom, but I know not all rooms (possibly the singles) have a toilet.

Included breakfast next door was great and worth getting up for it. I had an English Breakfast one morning and it was fabulous.

In a package deal with flight, we only paid about 40 BPS per night for the hotel. Great value in London!

Negatives:

Stairs - but know this ahead of time because there is no elevator (lift).

No A/C - but we did have a fan. It was warm, but overall Europe does not have the need for A/C that we do in the USA.


Overall:

I would stay here again. It was warm after taking a shower and the stairs were a pain, but it was a good workout and the location is well worth it. Dropping your key off next door is not a problem and contrary to what someone else said on here, it is easy and not a pain. Many hotels in Europe make you do this. Next time though, I am packing light!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

it'd be almost perfect. However, I cannot travel "light", when I'm away from home as long as I usually am, and being faced with three flights of stairs is always a real dampener to any trip. Luckily, we were there for 5 nights, so I only had to tackle them twice with my baggage, but due to ill~health... I'm not terribly fit anyway, and every traipse up the stairs was far from fun. Apparently our room type option wasn't available on any other floor. *sighs*

That, out of the way.... in all other aspects it was fine. Quiet and relatively cool, which are big plusses in my book, although I'd rather hotels invested in working ceiling fans, at least, or air conditioning, rather than televisions, which I never watch! However, it wasn't in the middle of a London heat~wave and there was a floor fan, and we could keep the window open, but at other times I think that could be a big issue, in hotter weather.

We didn't have an issue with having to hand in the key. It worked out well for us as the two of us came and went separately, a lot of the time.

Very friendly staff.

Location good... excellent even. Everything you could possibly want in London close at hand (public transport, eateries, pubs, shops of every description and a plethora of other services).

Oh, and the room size was small, but we fitted two large suitcases, and other assorted bags, but it IS what one expects in London in this price range, and I've stayed in worse situations in B&Bs before!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

There must be large disparities in room quality depending on the the room that you get, but I found my triple quite pleasant. The staff was really nice and the whole key thing really wasn't a big deal. I stayed for one night and the hotel was clean and tidy and very comforatble. The triple was a decent size room for an affordable European hotel and the bathroom was nice and spacious. I also saw a single that another friend stayed in and it was very very tiny (especially the bathroom), but still nice. The location was also great. Close to the Bayswater tube stop and there was cheap internet down the street on the 3rd floor of the mall.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Stayed here 2 nights with teenaged children. Lovely receptionists (2). However, site that booked my reservation said that there were 88 parking spots (It's printed on my reservation) . There are none. Parking several blocks away at shopping center is 50 pounds for 24 hrs. I parked many blocks farther away for 19 pounds for 24 hours. If you don't care to walk-don't stay here. Bathroom reeked of barf and feces-and an incredibly strong deodorizer is used to mask bad smell. My clothes smelled of the deodorizer days later. Only plus is that it is about 3 blocks to subway. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Gardens Hotel

Address: 9 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly TOP Hotel Kensington Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington Gardens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small townhouse hotel located in city center near Hyde Park and Oxford Street - a short walk to Central Line and Circle Line subway stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Gardens Top Hotel
Top Hotel London
London Top Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.