We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Gardens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Gardens Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly TOP Hotel Kensington Gardens) (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #500 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“enjoyable visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very happy with the accomodations, including the continental breakfast at the hotel. The service was exceptional, especially the people at the desk. I want to specifially thank Kornela who went out of her way to help us, including straitening out a situation when two taxi's both arrived for our aiport trip. She cam out and talked to the drivers & got us in the right cab.
The location was great on a quite street, but close to everything including Hyde Park.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Kensington Gardens Hotel your top-score! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We would like to point out to our potential future customers that the breakfast you mentioned in your review, which is served at Phoenix hotel, is not included in the room rate when staying at Kensington Gardens Hotel.
We hope to welcome you back to stay with us next time you visit London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    89
    32
    12
    9
See reviews for
24
60
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The smallest room I have ever been in an hotel (and I have spent thousands of nights abroad in hotels!); no room to move around - ridiculous space between the bed and room walls or furniture; unclean floor carpet; untidy bathroom/shower;no service provided after 5 pm - we have to go to the Phoenix hotel, next door, which means leaving KGH to the street sidewalk and then enter Phoenix. In a nutshell - a nightmare!

Room Tip: Dont' go to the Kensington Gardens Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Kensington Gardens Hotel; we appreciate your honest comments. The reception at Phoenix hotel is open 24 hours and staff will always offer our guests an alternative room, if another room is available, should they not be entirely satisfied with the one allocated to them. It is clearly stated on our website that Kensington Gardens Hotel does not have a 24 hour reception on-site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was booked as a birthday present for me and it all started going wrong as soon as we arrived. Check in was supposed to be at 14:00 we arrived promptly at this time as lunch reservations where made at the Kensington Roof Top Gardens. Our room was not ready, as we couldn't wait any longer we had to accept a room designed for a single person which didn't include the window seat that was in our original room at 14:45. I have stayed in many hotels as I have to travel for my business and have never been downgraded due to a hotels fault. We where told the hotel was fully booked by the trainee receptionist but when I went online there where various rooms available for the same date. I would have even payed to upgrade but after being lied to I didn't think it appropriate. We ended up missing our lunch reservations and couldn't be seated elsewhere because the restaurant we booked was so busy, we weren't offered anything to compensate for this which I find highly unusual for a 5* hotel. After finding out the hotel wasn't actually fully booked we decided to call it a night and check out a day before we where supposed to because I found this to be rather insulting. On check out another staff member was very apologetic and tried to help but due to it being past 16:00 there was nothing she could do. We ended up staying in the nearby 4* K West hotel where the service was amazing. I'm not sure if we received this treatment because of our age or appearance at the time but if so I would suggest retraining staff, especially in dealing with complaints after 16:00 when no superiour management is around.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugalete, España
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Lovely family hotel attended by very kind staff. Room was small but warm and confortable. Location is excelent. Hotel is at a quiet square, but near to tube stations, restaurants and shops. Breakfast, served at next door Hotel Phoenix, is very good too.

Room Tip: Room number 8 might be too warm for people who like to sleep in a cool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Kensington Gardens Hotel; your comments are much appreciated! We like to advise our customers that the breakfast you mentioned in your review is not included in the price when staying at Kensington Gardens Hotel. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

The owner of the hotel was very friendly. When I got to the hotel, I was told that a basic room normally involves sharing a bathroom but she had given me an en suite anyway! I was even offered breakfast for free which also hadn't been included. The owner gave me a map of the city and explained how to get to Paddington station from the hotel and even drew on the route. The room was clean and comfortable and I would defiantly stay there again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Kensington Gardens Hotel; we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We like to advise our customers that the breakfast you mentioned in your review is not included in the price when staying at Kensington Gardens Hotel. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Me and my partner arrived at the hotel mid-day to drop our bags off. We arrived at 10 and were able to check in early. Clean room, and bathroom. Great location to bay's water tube station. Room was quite small but that was expected. We were made to feel very welcome. Overall very nice stay and breakfast the next day in it neighbour hotel had a large choice of food.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Kensington Gardens Hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Didn't expect much when we booked this hotel - me and my mum were just planning to use it as a base while spending a few days in London, but it was far better than we expected!
The hotel is like a simple 'anex' to a bigger posher hotel next door called the Phoenix.
It had everything we needed though, the room was very clean, beds were comfortable enough, our room had an on suite, plenty of hot water, and tea and coffee in the room.
And the receptionist while we were there was absolutely lovely!!! Really friendly and welcoming, gave us advise on the tubes ect, and a continental breakfast was also thrown in for us, even though our room was already a bargain!
If your not looking for luxury, but just want somewhere clean and friendly for a few nights, this is deffo the place for you :)

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Kensington Gardens Hotel; we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We like to advise our customers that the breakfast you mentioned in your review is not included in the price when staying at Kensington Gardens Hotel. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Gardens Hotel

Address: 9 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly TOP Hotel Kensington Gardens)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #500 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington Gardens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Gardens Hotel is a 17 bedroom 2 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theatres within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi is always included when making a reservation with Kensington Gardens Hotel. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. Reception is manned from 8 am to 5 pm. The reception at Phoenix hotel, next door at 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, will assist during other hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kensington Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Gardens Top Hotel
Top Hotel London
London Top Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.