We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel. Close to everything.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Gardens Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly TOP Hotel Kensington Gardens) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #504 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel. Close to everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice little Hotel situated 2 min walk from Bayswater (circle line) or 5 min walk from Queenswater (central line) tubes which means you can hit more or less most of London within 15 min. The surrounding area is safe in nighttime, so no worries there. Theres a ton of restaurants nearby, nothing fancy, but you should be able to find a good meal somewhere.

The Hotel is run by next door Best Western Hotel so the breakfast is the same and is in the basement of that hotel. Around 8.00 it gets pretty busy with guest and getting a table can be hard at peak times, but I didnt have any problem and no one wait for more than couple of minutes.

The staff is very friendly and helpful - all in all its great value for the money compared to what you get normally in London for that price.

Rooms are clean, new towels and cleaning everyday which is nice.

Room Tip: Room 17 is at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    81
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
55
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is situated just around the corner from Bayswater tube station and is a 2 minute walk further down the same road to Queensway Tube station - brilliant! Also Queensway road is just studded with restaurants and takeaways including a pharmacy, supermarkets, bureau de Change and a mall. So you're never far from what you may need - on business trips one tends to forget things...

But best of all is the service. I was warmly received and accommodated by the hostess, Rochana (I hope I spelled that correctly!) The rooms were clean, modest and practical and the price was certainly the most attractive that I found at short notice - I believe that I got more than my moneys worth at this hotel.

The Hotel is located on Porchester Gardens street and is directly across Kensington Gardens - I had a great view, watching the squirrels clamber up the oak trees... It has no lift and the stairs may not be for everyone. My hostess called the 4th floor the "punishment level" LOL!!! , as the stair climb is definitely not for sissies ;-) Also the key had a huge key-ring which she called the "ugly-key" - hilarious!! I enjoyed my stay and was able to relax there despite my busy business schedule.

I definitely recommend this hotel for stopovers and business trips or simply for budget short stays!

Room Tip: Keep the stairs in mind when booking - the higher floors require a level of fitness that not everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Stayed at the Kensington for nearly 3 weeks whilst looking for accommodation in London. Its your classic tall London townhouse, no lift so if steps not your thing maybe request a low floor room. The rooms are not massive, and the shower basically a cupboard but works well. The room was well presented the TV & Wi-fi both worked fine. Shared toilets very clean.

The hotel is owned by the Phoenix Best Western up the road (which is far more expensive) yet this where you have breakfast & pick Keys up after 5pm, as well as used facilities such as luggage room. The receptionist threw in the continental breakfast for free (even though it wasn't included in the rate) although if I did have to pay the £6 supplement I would be disappointed.

The woman who looks after the reception at the Kensington Gardens Hotel has excellent customer service skills and very pleasant. After 5pm you use the Phoenix reception who again are very accommodating especially the happy young eastern European girl. Compared to some of the tourist traps and dumps you get in this part of London I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The stairs are deep and narrow in a typical London townhouse manner if you have heavy luggage be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night and we were very happy! The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful! Our room was on the third floor, it was nice and clean. Only thing is there is no lift so if you can't manage stairs make sure you request a lower floor room! The location was really good too, 2 mins from the nearest underground. Would happily stay here again!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Kensington Gardens hotel your top score! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I checked in early in the day after traveling for more than 24 hours and I was tired. Reception was very welcoming and helped my friend and I carry our suitcases up the three flights of stairs. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The windows did not seem to open as much as I would have liked but at least they did open and the neighbourhood was relatively quiet. My friend was rather short and had some difficulty reaching the shower head so she took a bath each night. I am tall so I had no problems with the height of the shower head. In room tables and chairs were adequate for the two of us. Wifi was free but I found it a bit dodgy at times. Slow connection. Breakfast was included and that was served next door at the Phoenix Hotel which have the same owners. It could get a bit crowded but we actually never had a problem. Breakfast included cereals, breads, yogurts and fruit and hard boiled eggs. I always left satisfied. We ate as several local restaurants that were recommended by the staff. I would definitely stay here again. Location was great, sandwiched in between two metro stations.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have a problem with stairs get a room on a lower floor. I was out the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are deligted that Kensington Gardens hotel suited your requirements and hope to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The hotel is in a very nice location. Rooms were appropriately sized and bathrooms were modern. Relatively quiet area. The stairs are a bit long and there is no elevator so plan accordingly. Breakfast is a fairly large spread in a breakfast room in the adjacent property. The manager was a delight and very helpful. The rooms were quite reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at Kensington Gardens Hotel. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in mid September 2014 and found it perfect for what we wanted, 5 minute walk to Bayswater Station, close to Sainsburys and other local shops. Stayed on the very top floor, some 80 steps away from the lobby. You are required to carry your own bags,so please ensure you are physically capable or request a room lower down. The staff where very helpful, the room was in good condition and clean

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Assistant Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighred that Kensington Gardens hotel suited your requirements and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Gardens Hotel

Address: 9 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly TOP Hotel Kensington Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington Gardens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small townhouse hotel located in city center near Hyde Park and Oxford Street - a short walk to Central Line and Circle Line subway stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Gardens Top Hotel
Top Hotel London
London Top Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.