We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay at Thistle Ken Gdns- would definitely recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Kensington Gardens to your Saves list
Thistle Kensington Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Bayswater Rd, London W2 3HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay at Thistle Ken Gdns- would definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from Fri 15th to Sunday 17th November. We were celebrating an anniversary and the forthcoming arrival of our first baby. We could not have asked for more from the staff- we had complimentary fruit and chocolates in our room, a lovely handwritten welcome card signed by staff and also had a complimentary late check out. Staff are totally professional and can't do enough to help. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms are of a very good standard. Rooms were slightly on the smaller side, hence my not giving 5 stars but were really very good. The location is ideal- across the road from Hyde Park and Kensington Palace and the nearest tube station (Queensway) was a straight 2 minute walk. The hotel is above a petrol station (the main entrance is on the adjacent road to this) but this did not have a negative impact on our stay at all. In fact the petrol station shop is a part of one of the more upmarket supermarket chains but still cheaper than lots of places in London which meant we were able to buy some lovely, reasonably priced sandwiches for lunch and snacks and drinks for our room. Breakfast was good - all freshly prepared with a varied range of options. We would definitely stay here again and would most definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear LisaEastSussex,

I was absolutely thrilled to read your 5 star review of Thistle Kensington Gardens and delighted you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us. We always try to recognise and enhance such memorable milestones and I’m glad we were able to do it on this occasion, I’ll be sure to share your great feedback with the team. Thanks again for the review and for the recommendations. And the best of luck with the new arrival - hopefully we can welcome all three of you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    486
    141
    24
    13
See reviews for
242
487
38
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

ideal for london sight seeing and close to tube, easy to get around sites. Rooms were slightly on the small side but the breakfast was really good and a good tasty fry up was had by all. i would recommend this and i would stay here again no complaints

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear biddybaxter,

I was really pleased to read your 5 star review of Thistle Kensington Gardens and absolutely delighted you enjoyed the hotel and our breakfast! Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Springs, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Lovely hotel situated across from Hyde Park. Close to the tube, hop on/off bus and many great restaurants. Room was very comfortable but a bit tight squeezed. Lifts a bit of problem being very tiny with lengthy waits and no bar fridge in room made it difficult to keep milk for a cuppa or a cold drink

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Rita S,

Thanks for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and location, and your point reference the fridge is being reviewed with the team to see what we could do to improve given this feedback. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Located across the Hyde Park and a stone throw away from Queensway Tube and a 10 min walk to Paddington hub, perfect location for your holiday or catch the tube to the Shopping Hub Bond,Regent,Orchard, Baker street. Compact room, clean bathrooms, excellent English breakfast, a supermarket right below you. Food and restaurant were impeccable in service and food quality, options.
Biggest disappointment is the ground floor side entrance, lift size, 1st floor cramped reception and narrow corridors.
Value for money.

Room Tip: Ignore the entrance and reception lobby. Rest everything goes well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear RamsPR,

I was so glad to hear we ticked all the boxes for you during your stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens – location, service, food and rooms – and was delighted to share this review with the team. I hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The location was perfect. Short walk to many restaurants and tube, with bus stop right there. The hotel staff, desk, concierge, and restaurant was extremely helpful - many times. We had a great room - more like a small suite. Breakfast was very good. Oh yes, the lifts were a bit of a challenge, but we made friends in those tiny spaces! We had a delightful stay here.

Room Tip: Garden side - 6th floor or higher (unless you want to use the stairs a lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear CaptDavey,

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens and hope we can soon welcome you back. Thanks for your review and positive comments about the team and the hotel! Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erbil, Iraq
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Apart from the disappointing ground floor entrance, this hotel is very nice. Located across the road from Hyde Park, and very close to Queensway (the street and Tube Station). The petrol station underneath dents the hotel's class, but the attached Waitrose means you have access to a small but good supermarket 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: If you choose a cheaper city-view room, ask for one on a higher floor to avoid the not very nice roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Ahmed75149,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay. We’d like to think the addition of a 24hr convenience store is exactly that for our guests – a great convenience! Thanks for highlighting this, and our great location and nice rooms. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel was located in a great area. The shops, restaurants, and the underground were located within a reasonable walking distance. The food was not good at all. I wish I had not paid for the continental breakfast in advance. I did not use it once I realize how terrible the food was. There were some added fees on the bill which could not be explained and since we were checking out so early in the morning we did not have time to investigate.

The best concierge service was provided by Antonio. He went well out of his way to help us from helping us get a taxi to rearranging our transportation pick-up for our tour.

Room Tip: Please make sure you are not in the first room on the left as you exit the elevator. That is the wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Ericka T,

Thank you for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens and in particular highlighting Anthonio specifically for the great service he delivered to you during your stay. I know he is delighted to have read your comments. I am sorry that you did not feel the breakfast was up to your expectations; we are currently reviewing our offering and will launch a new, enhanced breakfast specification this month. If you would like to contact me directly I will certainly look into the details of your billing queries. I hope to hear from you soon, and thank you again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Rd, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in London
#168 Luxury Hotel in London
#176 Family Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Kensington Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.