We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discretionary Service Charges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Kensington Gardens to your Saves list
Thistle Kensington Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Bayswater Rd, London W2 3HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Discretionary Service Charges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The showers on the 9th floor did not work... the pressure was very low

The thing that really annoyed the business trip was a discretionary service charge... it was almost like a stealth charge - because when we asked what it was, the hotel removed it! They said it didn't require paying, so we were not really sure what this charge was doing?

Just be careful about how much you are being charged fellow hotel users... however I must say the hotel has been nicely renovated... however cost was through the roof, with no breakfast included....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback. With regards to your feedback concerning a lack of water pressure, unfortunately there was a problem with one of the boilers and as a result some areas of the hotel did not have acceptable levels of water pressure. As soon as we were made aware of the issue these rooms were taken off line and were not relet until the issue had been resolved.

With regards to the service charge, this is a discretionary charge for any food and beverage ordered at the hotel as stated on the menu and detailed on the restaurant, bar or room service receipt. As the charge is discretionary I am glad to hear that this was removed as requested.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    411
    115
    20
    11
See reviews for
203
382
35
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Overall very good experience. Rooms are very good neat and clean, bathroom little small but impressive. Breakfast was also very good. Located on central London nearby market at queen sway tube station. in front of the hotel there is a huge kensington park which gives very nice view.

Room Tip: we got rooms on 2nd floor road facing and i like it.d
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Good central hotel. Stayed for two nights in beginning of November for a friend's birthday. We ordered dinner on the first night which took too long to come so we had to cancel as we were going to the theatre. The staff asked us to return the second night for dinner instead and couldn't have been more sorry, giving us wine on the house, and made the dinner so special the following evening, so we were delighted we decided to have dinner there. Breakfast was also terrific, the staff couldn't do enough for you, although on first impressions they were a bit disorganised, but these things happen. The rooms were of a good size and clean and the lounge area and brasserie had a good atmosphere, although the drinks from the bar were expensive. All in all a great stay and would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the park, my room didn't, although I wasn't too concerned, but fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the issues that you experienced in the restaurant on the first night but Im please to see that we looked after you well on the second night.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed here for one night to go out to dinner in London. Staff were very friendly and the room, overlooking the park, was a reasonalbe size. It was loverly to have the view over the park, especially at this time of year with all the trees changing colour. The bathroom was a bit on the small size but very clean. There was no bath plug so we rang housekeeping and a lady brought one up to us within a few minutes. The breakfast was excellent both in terms of the friendly and efficient service and the vast choice on offer. Anything that ran out was replensihed straight away and the food was very fresh and appetising. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us particularly the autumn park view and breakfast! Please accept my apologies for the issue with the bath plug but Im pleased that this was rectified quickly by the team.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel at the end of October.

Transport:
It's 15 min walking from Paddington Station where you can catch the 'Heathrow Express' from/to Heathrow airport which takes 15 min.
We got a Oyster card which you can 'top-up' as you go with money so you get lower prices for the bus and underground. I found that the bus was cheaper and you get to see London instead of being underground
There's a bus stop right next to the hotel where you can catch several buses to different places(Oxford Street,Buckinham Palace and Southbank)
There are several taxis in front of the hotel
Queensway is the nearest underground(5 min walking)

Location:
15 min walking to beginning of Oxford Street
Near the bus and underground
45 min walking to Harrods across Hyde Park
There's a supermarket right beneath the hotel

Hotel:
We got a free upragrade to an executive room in the 9th floor when we asked so we had a view of Hyde Park
The room was big enough for two people and had mugs for tea and coffee
The english breakfast was good except for the bacon but i loved the croissants

Bad:
They didn't clean the room very well, every night the bed had LOADS of hairs so that was disgusting

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to executive in the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. Can I assure you that I will personally follow up your feedback regarding cleanliness as this is well below our usual service levels.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is the first review I have done but I felt I had to write one , I have stayed in London three times so far this year in various hotels and I booked this one on last minute.com. I was delighted with this hotel it has been far the best I've stayed in in London, my friend was a bit dubious as she had stayed here before a few years ago but it has been refurbished and it was lovely, the rooms are well decorated and spotless, the staff very friendly and its very handy for the tube, I was pleased to see proper sized mugs in the rooms for the tea and coffee and decent hairdryers, the beds were comfy in fact I had a very good nights sleep, the bar area is very welcoming with sofas it's a nice area to sit and have a drink, we didn't dine there as we had reservations at the Ritz but we will come back and eat there next time, the menu looked lovely. We had two rooms, my friends had a front room overlooking the park.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back again soon and hopefully this time you will have time to have dinner with us as well!

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were a group of 8 ladies sharing 4 rooms. The room I shared with my friend was very nice. It wasn't spacious but not totally cramped either. We had a shower only in the bathroom but it was great with a huge fixed shower head and smaller separate shower attachment. The room and ensuite was spotlessly clean. The hair dryer stopped working and it took just one call to reception and two minutes later they turned up with a new one. The traffic noise was noticeable. Breakfast was good. All the usual cereal and cooked breakfast buffet too. A chef stands and does the eggs how you want them and toast on demand. I like strong coffee but the hotel coffee was too bitter and no-one in our party liked it. Apart from that a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the issue with the hairdryer but Im pleased that this was rectified quickly by the team. I have also passed your comments regarding the coffee to our Purchasing Team for consideration.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Rd, London W2 3HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in London
#184 Business Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#213 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Kensington Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.