We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sloane Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sloane Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sloane Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-12 Sloane Square, London SW1W 8EG, England (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Express Breakfast
Ranked #241 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well located, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is located extremely well. Just outside one can find great shopping, lots of good restaurants and cafés, the tubestation, and the charming neighbourhoods of Belgravia, Chelsea and South Kensington.

The rooms are quite small, as typical for London.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the Square. This is nice, but would be best avoided if you have a hard time slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Deputy Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our great location and look forward to your next stay. Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    226
    62
    39
    11
See reviews for
78
201
86
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good location on Sloane Square, so very handy for Kings Road and not too far to walk to Pimlico or Knightsbridge. Underground station is across road as is taxi rank with plenty there.
Had booked car parking though which is in underground car park in side road nearby. Staff were very helpful, room well equipped, great stay.
Their restaurant has access from Hotel and street, looking at the menus though breakfast seems few pounds cheaper, and runs later, if you come in off the street entrance rather than via Hotel. I may be missing something but don't think so.
All in all a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Deputy Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you Mark, for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your kind works to the team. In the hotel part of the restaurant we offer an overall price for the breakfast whereas in the public section everything is individually priced - this is why it might have appeared cheaper. We look forward to your next visit. Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had a lovely stay in this beautiful hotel with an excellent location.
I absolutely loved my room: nicely decorated, it had a large window with an amazing view on the square and the bed was extremely comfortable. A wide wardrobe and the free espresso were definitely a plus!!!
Thanks also to the staff, they were always helpfull and smiling, making me feel at home. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Deputy Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was great to read that you had such a great stay. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Sloane Square Hotel is a very quaint place to stay in the heart of the Knightsbridge/Chelsea area.

Pleasingly, the hotel is situated at the end of the famous Kings Road and you only have to step outside the hotel doors to be immersed in the true London atmosphere.

Walking distance from many sights including Buckingham Palace, you also have the Sloane Square underground station 50 metres away as well as shops, buses, taxis and many other attractions.

The hotel is a little less modern, but the decor is lovely and you feel very comfortable at Sloane Square hotel.

Staff were fantastic and very helpful. My only issue was that wifi had to be purchased on a daily rate and it certainly wasn't cheap.

The highlight of the hotel is definitely it's location, however I would be more than happy to recommend the hotel as well as stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a balcony facing the street of Sloane Square which was fantastic and really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Deputy Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and I am happy to inform you we now offer complimentary internet (up to 1Mb) to all our guests. We look forward to your next visit. Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with a terrific location. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and want to make your stay the absolute best. Martina was the best, most thoughtful and helpful person that I have met in a long time. She made our trip! Breakfast and/or lunch next door was delicious, with friendly staff. The cloudy apple juice is worth a sip!
I will be back next year for an annual trip, and plan to stay at the Sloane Square Hotel. I hope the bathroom are redone by then, as management has promised. Cheers!

Room Tip: Lovely rooms with French doors that open onto the Square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Deputy Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you Christie, for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you found our Front Desk team, in particular Martina, to be extremely helpful. I will pass your kind comments to them. We look forward to your next visit. Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel has a great location, situated on Sloane Square and metres away from Kings Road for shopping and Saatchi gallery for art. Rooms are small but comfortable. Choose a room with a view on the square. If breakfast is not included in the room price could do better at another restaurant as breakfast at the hotel bistro quite pricey.

Room Tip: choose one with a view on sloane square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Deputy Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you Luzanne, for posting a review and for choosing our hotel for your trip to London. I am pleased that you enjoyed your view of Sloane Square and our great location. Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have now stayed quite a few times at the Sloane, and I still come back for its excellent location and relatively fair London pricing. My GF and I meet every year in late December here, just before Christmas, and always stay in the same room. We like it - particularly the Christmas lights on the square are just great.

However, this last time was the very first time both of us thought whether it might be time to start thinking of looking for a new preferred London hotel. The Sloane is slowly, but very surely, starting to look a bit tired - and cleaning could also be a bit better. In the bathroom, there were large markings in the ceiling from, I presume, water coming down from the bathroom above. And those markings had been there for a long time. Also, the staff, particularly the maids, are not as service-minded and friendly as they used to be.

All in all, this is now a hotel that is not that many years off from the need of a serious vitamin shot - 2-3 years probably. Then you would want to see some substantial renovation happening to the rooms.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room facing the square - the other side, towards the church, is not very charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Deputy Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you Freddy, for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to read that you and your girlfriend continue to stay with us during your trips to London. I am pleased to inform you that we have extensive plan already under way to upgrade the hotel. This has begun with the refurbishment of 34 bathrooms which will be completed by the end of February as well as extensive works in our lobby and entrance. I look forward to hearing your thoughts after your next stay. Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sloane Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sloane Square Hotel

Address: 7-12 Sloane Square, London SW1W 8EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Family Hotel in London
#175 Luxury Hotel in London
#198 Romantic Hotel in London
#210 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sloane Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sloane Square Hotel is right on Sloane Square – the ideal location for Chelsea and Knightsbridge. Half of our beautifully designed air-conditioned bedrooms overlook the square, while half have views of Holy Trinity Church. We pride ourselves on our personal and attentive service. The hotel and bedrooms have the feel of understated elegance, with quality and comfort above all else – you will enjoy a great night’s sleep at Sloane Square Hotel. All air-conditioned rooms come with complimentary Internet, free local and national calls and an iPod docking station. Only metres away, you will find many of the most famous luxury brands on Kings Road and Sloane Street, leading to Knightsbridge, Harrods and Harvey Nichols. Within 100 metres are Cadogan Concert Hall, Royal Court Theatre and the world-famous Saatchi Gallery. London Underground is right across the square, providing convenient access to the West End’s theatreland and nearby attractions, such as the Natural History Museum, the Victoria and Albert Museum and Buckingham and Kensington royal palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sloane Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloane Square
Sloane Square London
Sloane Square Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sloane Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.