We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shambles” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Close Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Close Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Close Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #615 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Shambles”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Unfortunately I had a really bad experience in this hotel.

A friend & I had booked, which she had arranged & checked in for us as she arrived hours earlier.

I was surprised how small the room was for £120 but shrugged it off as a place to sleep for the night after a work function.

Knowing a had an early morning, I got back to the hotel around 11.45pm leaving my friend to enjoy the rest of her evening.
I got to our floor & realised I couldn't remember our exact room number. Rather than try my key in every door & likely scare the occupants, I figured I'd ask reception. Apparently this was an awful idea.

I advised the guy I couldn't remember the number, but provided details of the booking. Apparently I wasn't on the booking. I was told I should call my friend to essentially prove I'm not lying. I should point out this is all being said to me in the tone that I'm already a liar, with the dirty looks to match.
I hired to call my friend, who of course clearly can't hear her phone as she is at an event.
I ask what happens if she doesn't answer ? I get told they'll call security.

I eventually catch my friend, by which time this 'helpful' gentleman was too busy ignoring me & helping someone else to take the phone.

She tells me the number, so I walk away assuming I can get in now. That also wasn't the case. My room key was flashing green for access, but the door would not open. It'd seem it was still locked, it made me wonder if this had been done to keep me out?
This had now been going on over 20mins & I felt stupid & upset that all my items were inside & I was being accused of being a liar.

I came back down in tears, luckily a nicer man was on hand to help me who took me up to the room & let me in. He did explain they need to be careful with security, I understand this but I was not a drunken suspicious lout. I was a young sober woman in an evening dress, on my own, trying to get in MY room.

Drama over, I get to sleep.
This morning wake up with no electricity & no running water ... Same for the whole hotel !! Apparently it was the area ? I don't think so! I left about 7am couldn't wait to get out. I had to get ready in Euston station toilets! The 30p to use them was more value than this mean hotel. Their treatment ruined my evening & I don't remember them well.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sues86

I would like to apologise for your experience whilst staying with us, please be assured I was most concerned to learn of the occurrence. However, I believe you have already been in contact with our Operations Manager to discuss further.

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    672
    497
    263
    156
See reviews for
305
643
92
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Chose this hotel whilst on a city break in London. The location of the hotel is fab, right next to a tube station. As for the hotel itself we were slightly disappointed with what we got for the amount of money paid. The hotel isn't cheap, the last thing you expect is to pay another £9.95 for Wifi. Especially when it doesn't even work, it was very difficult to keep a connection. For the price the rooms are quite small and standard, all amenities needed are in their but sizing and decor no way as appealing as the lobby of the hotel itself. Overall it was a nice stay but just wanted slightly more for the price!

If you are ( as I was) looking forward to using the spa facilities then be prepared to pay £8 per person per day.

Lastly the most annoying part of the hotel was the shower curtain. I do not want to shower with a curtain wrapped around my body.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Katy-jersey

Thank you for staying at Kensington Close hotel.

Some of the standard rooms can be described cozy and at the moment are undergoing some soft refurbishment, especially with the bathrooms which your feedback is mostly valued!

If your travels ever lead back to us, our Executive Club rooms come with more comfort, complimentary Wi-Fi as well as the complimentary use of the Leisure and Spa Centre.

Thank you for your feedback, it will most certainly be passed on to the team!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days. Everyone was courteous and friendly. We arrived later on a Sunday evening and someone suggested the pub down the street which was quite nice. 3 minutes to a tube, 2 blocks to the Main Street. Always felt safe and welcomed. Doorman arranged taxi for our ride to get connector for Paris. Looking at staying again. Well worth it!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sherylhazzard

Thank you for staying at the Kensington Close hotel!

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It is great to read that our staff has been lovely and friendly!

Thank you again for the wonderful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Other than being very close to Metro station, not much going for this place. The rooms were likely converted from old apartment units and need some major work. One of the last places on earth that doesn't offer free wi-fi. We joined the Cosmos tour here, and for the entire trip this was the only place that wouldn't even let us into the restaurant until 7 AM sharp.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear MtEverest

Thank you for staying with us.

I’m sure you will appreciate that we have just undergone a major refurbishment through out the hotel, and some rooms are still undergoing a soft refurbishment. The charge for the Wi-Fi is to ensure the speed of the Network, however guests can use the computer in the media centre complimentary.

I am glad you noted the closeness of the Tube station as it does make the journey to different parts of London fast and conveninent.

Thank you again for your feedback, it will be shared with the team.

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Clean comfortable hotel just off high street Kensington and 5 mins from tube. Small rooms but adequate. Tea and coffee making facilities and molton brown toiletries. Would stay again.Can't comment on food as didn't eat here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear KatiebrightonSussex

Thank you for staying in Kensington Close hotel!

It’s great to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable as we work hard to keep them that way. The Housekeeping Team will be delighted of your feedback!

Thank you again for the feedback, always helps on going forward!


Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Have just had a one night stay at this hotel. We were warmly welcomed by all staff when artiving at the inviting entrance and foyer. The room was spacious enough for two but the bed would be big enough for 3 - 4!!!! The tv was also more than ample for any tv addict. The bathroom was also spacious with a powerful shower. The whole hotel was clean throughout.
Breakfast was delicious with all food being well cooked and grease free.
The only negative would be the charge for the internet at £10 daily and other people who slam doors!!
I would definately return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear jelb

Thank you for staying at Kensington Close hotel!

It has been lovely to read that you enjoyed the room as well as our new beds! It is wonderful to see that our refurbishment has not gone unnoticed!

I will be passing the comments to the staff as well as the Restaurant Manager!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel Friday 18th. Before we had arrived I had arrange a bottle of bubbly to be in our room as a surprise. I liaised with Monika the room service manager. She was extremely helpful and arrange my request. When we arrived we found difficulty finding the underground parking but there was someone outside to help us. We went to reception to check in who we had Monika to check us in. Monika was really welcoming asking us if we were here for a special occasion. Even tho we wasn't really it was just our first weekend away since having a baby she still had upgraded us to a executive room as she said it still a special occasion which was a really lovely surprise.
We found our room at ease as the hotel is well sign posted (if you did get lost you can always easily find someone who is more than happy to help you). When we entered the room too be honest my first fault was this is a pretty small room however it didn't bother me as we weren't cramped.

Our bottle of bubble was there as we had requested plus Monika (room service manager) had also arranged strawberries dipped in chocolate. Such a lovely surprise again! I did have to ring down to room service as only one glass had been given and too my surprise I actually spoke to Monika. She was really apologetic about it and we didn't have to wait long at all for the extra glass. Monika had actually personally came to our room to deliver the glass and also brought us some fruit for the mistake. She didn't need to but we are greatful as we did really enjoy it and I was very much impressed with the customer service.

My partner and I got ready to pop out for some cocktails whilst getting ready we ordered some room service for nibbles our starters. My partner ordered us the duck wraps and spring rolls. The food was AMAZING we literally licked the plate clean. Words actually can't describe how amazing the food was. Also the the food arrived prompt and didn't have to wait long at all. When me and my partner arrived back to the hotel we just wanted to lay in bed get our dinner and enjoy a film. I ordered the spag Bol and my partner ordered the beef burger also we actually got our film free due to a room service deal they have. Again I couldn't complain and they do not hold back on the portion sizes either.

That night was stupidly hot and sticky and we were greatful for the air conditioning, the bed we're comfy. We really did have a lovely night sleep it was defiantly what we needed.

We did upgrade for the breakfast which was really at a reasonable price considering it included everything. Again I couldn't fault the food at all. It was amazing they kept the buffet topped up and clean. The staff we're welcoming and we received a quick service.
The only gripe I have is that when we checked out and paid for the car parking the gentleman told us that he gave us a special price but he didn't it was a standard tariff as we saw the car park prices on a sign as we left. I would of been fine if he said that you been here for 12 hours so the cost is....... But this isn't major issue.

Overall this hotel is brilliant and I will defiantly stay here again. The staff are amazing, they all have brilliant customer service skills, all welcoming and always happy to help you.

The food is amazing. Cannot fault it at all.

The location is perfect.

Rooms are clean and comfortable.
The money we paid was reasonable and we defiantly got more for our money.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so relaxing :-)



Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riikka G, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Skye0503

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Close hotel!

I am most delighted to learn we provided you with well deserved rest and with a great service, especially on Monika’s part! I will be forwarding this to her as it is most lovely to hear when our staff works hard and receives a compliment!

Thank you again for the review, I would love to welcome you back in the future!

Kindest regards,

Riikka Granroth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Close Hotel

Address: Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#337 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Close Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Close Hotel and Spa is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. Following a multi-million pound renovation the Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive Club rooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. The Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Close Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.