We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Kensington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Close Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Close Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Close Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #616 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Kensington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in the Kensington Close Hotel and would recommend it to anyone needing to stay in that area. Close to lots of shops and restaurants too. The service was exceptional in the bar but also excellent from all staff.
The breakfast however was not the best we've had and the bacon was just awful - overcooked and stuck together. Again though the service was excellent and they catered to special needs.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    671
    496
    263
    156
See reviews for
304
642
92
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The reception and public areas are spacious & stylish but the the bedrooms are rather cramped. We were in a refurbished Executive Twin but it might as well have been a double because the beds were pushed right together. We weren't a couple so it wasn't ideal & there was very little other space in the room so we couldn't separate the beds without blocking the bathroom door. I can't imagine what the standard rooms are like. The room was clean and bathroom was fine but with cheap shampoo and no other toiletries - which you would expect at this grade of hotel. Our room, on the 5th floor, was quiet and our stay was OK but there are many better hotels so I won't be staying here again. The best thing about the hotel was the staff and they are fantastic, they couldn't be more freindly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

You call that a 4 star hotel??? Lobby looked nice but that's it. Our room had dirty curtains, broken picture frames, dirty bed (clean sheets), broken side panel in the bathroom, rotten door frame. The list is endless. Sides of the swimming pool were stained and so was the steam room. At breakfast coffee was burnt and you had to pay extra to get a proper coffee. Orange juice was diluted with too much water that you could call it a water with an orange flavour. For a 4 star hotel you would expect bit more. I won't go again and won't recommend that to any one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Wasnt happy with room service, cold!!! Upgraded for £50 for better room but was 2 single beds pushed together with big dip in middle. Staff tell you pack of lies to think its resolved stating we would not be paying for upgrade only to be told after 4 weeks of ringing it would not be put back in my bank and the staff was telling lies to me on the day. Joke. Never trust them. They just try to keep you happy while your there. Would never stay there again. Poor bathroom facilities aswell. Overall room.. Terrible.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Blondie 2014,

I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on your recent stay at the Kensington Close Hotel. We take great pride in the service we provide, and it is therefore disappointing to learn that you did not have a good experience in this regard and failed that you were somehow mislead by our staff. Please do contact me directly at zs@kensingtonclosehotel.com as I would like to personally investigate the issue highlighted in your review.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The room was very well equiped and new decor. Bed good and comfortable.
A very good range for the english breakfast and hot and well cooked. Toasters always a problem in hotels as they either burn with 2 runs through or not done enough for 1 trip through and very small for size of dining room so wait wait wait..
Good bar and very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Take a room at back of hotel away from front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We visited this hotel on a business trip and it was very suitable for that I think should I have been staying there on holiday I might have found it a bit too compact, the room was very clean and neat, the bed was comfortable although the pillows where very hard, we used room service which was very efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thanks Xavier and the other guy in the concerge that i do not remember his name for your help with our car accident! All the staff help me and my mother in this dificult moment.
The hotel is nice and i coming back in a few days with my family. Thanks for everithing Kensington Close!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Close Hotel

Address: Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#335 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Close Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Close Hotel and Spa is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. Following a multi-million pound renovation the Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive Club rooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. The Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Close Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.