We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouldy Curtains!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Close Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Close Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Close Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #617 of 1,066 Hotels in London
stoke on trent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mouldy Curtains!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

we had a twin hotel room in November 2012, what this actaully turned out to be was 2 single beds pushed ext to each other so that they would fit in the room. slide door to the bath room was a cause for some amusement as it got stuck on several occasions. Breakfast was very good and set us up for the day, staff very helpful. Main disatisfaction was the mould on the curtains due to bad ventilation in the room, which is strange since its only just been refurbished.

Room Tip: a perfect hotel if you are visiting museums or Harrods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear superEP,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion, noting that you were dissatisfied with the room allocated to you. As you have rightly mentioned, we have recently undergone refurbishment which included the addition of new rooms. However, many of our rooms are due to be renovated which we have already commenced. This will see to revamping our guestrooms with new bathroom and room facilities. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the accommodation, as we offer our guests the option of booking our newly renovated executive rooms or alternatively, our club rooms. On another note, I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast service and that you found our staff to be helpful and courteous. We hope to welcome you back again, giving us the opportunity to change your opinion of the Kensington Close Hotel.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    673
    497
    263
    156
See reviews for
305
644
92
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

my husband and I went to this hotel on the 6th February for two nights. I can honestly say it is a very nice hotel it has been renovated to a high standard although we didn't use the gym or pool so I can not comment. In the bar area there was a guy called Carmen he was so helpful and really friendly he went out of he's way to show us around the hotel.The room we had was very clean and modern but was small however that wasn't a problem as we only slept in it would I recommend this hotel defiantly and will use it again when in that area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear beaufina,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at the Kensington Close Hotel. I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us, noting that the rooms, service-particularly that at the bar and location were all to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon, and I shall be sure to pass on your kind comments to Carmen.

Kind Regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed one night on business. Cost £109 B&B and was good value on the whole. Basic single room but with HD TV. Nice bar (with waitress service), good average buffet breakfast. The encouraging wi-fi log-on message: 'if you are a guest of the hotel just enter your room number and your surname' doesn't work - you have to go and pay £10 at reception to get a code that does,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear John W,

Thank you for choosing the Kensington Close Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay with us, noting that our breakfast, service, and accommodation were all of great value. I can sympathize that you feel our wifi-service should have been offered as complimentary, however, as an independent hotel we do not have the luxury of doing so as many large hotel chains. Thank you for your understanding regarding this matter.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I read the recent poor review and thought it can't be that bad, but I was wrong! I stayed for 2 nights for work which was booked by a travel agent. As mentioned in previous poor reviews, the receptionist was very unhelpful and insist the room was not paid yet. The travel agent rang the following morning and her comment was "most rude and incompetent hotel she has ever come across!".
My double room was on 8th floor, very small for the price my company paid. No space to walk with a small shower cubicle with LOW water pressure. The full English Breakfast was basic.
My advice, look for other hotel within this price range, you cannot do any worse.
Don't waste your hard earned money here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear YeeSan,

It is my regret that you did not pass an enjoyable stay at the Kensington Close Hotel. We offer our guests- both corporate and leisure alike, the options of booking our standard, executive and club rooms- each providing different standards of luxury and comfort. Having said that, each of our guestrooms are equipped with 4-star bathroom facilities with high water pressure throughout. Moreover, it comes as a surprise to me to learn that one of our receptionists had conversed with a client in an unfriendly and unprofessional manner, as this behavior we most certainly do and will not tolerate. If you would be so kind to write me directly on zs@kensingtonclosehotel.com providing me with further information on that particular incident as well as the room number you stayed in- I would be most glad to investigate these and report back to you.
Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very friendly hotel. Staff were helpful from the moment I made my reservation, ensuring that I had two connecting rooms. Check in was smooth and efficient. Room was clean and a reasonable size although the bathroom could be described as compact. Ideally situated for access to a range of London's major locations. Would certainly use the hotel again if I was in the area.
Frustratingly I did not have time use the leisure facilities, which looked good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for choosing the Kensington Close Hotel and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed a pleasant time with us noting that your experience throughout was swift and efficient and the location made for very convenient commute and sightseeing. We hope to welcome you back to the Kensington Close in the near future, upon which you may take advantage of using our eMotion Leisure and Fitness spa.

Kind Regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very nice lobby, bar and Reception area, and a great breakfast. Very friendly staff. Our room was very small, allowing only a few inches between the wall and the bed. All in all, a great place to headquarter for a London visit. Convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear CJM1987,

Thank you for choosing the Kensington Close Hotel and for providing us with feedback on your recent stay in October. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us, noting that despite finding your allocated standard room on the small side (which meet the standard size for London hotels) you were pleased with the accommodation, service, accommodation and ideal Kensington location. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in one of the supposedly best rooms on 8th floor. The lifts weren't all working and it was difficult to get to and from the room.The room was very ordinary with a noisy air con unit in the bathroom that ran continuously. Met another guest who was being moved because the toilet in her room wasn't working and the water pressure in the shower in our room was really poor. We went to the leisure centre to be told we hadn't paid to use it (which we had). The pool was tiny and cold and the whole area was shabby and worn out. The jacuzzi was out of order.

The service in the restaurant is truly dreadful. A woman at a nearby table waited with her starter in front of her for 10 minutes till a waiter finally brought her a spoon. We waited and waited and no one came to take our order so we left and ate elsewhere.

Next morning we were told very rudely that we couldn't go into breakfast (which again we had paid for). The attitude appeared to be that we were liars and no offer of help or advice to resolve what was their mistake. This was very unpleasant and done in front of other guests. We went to see the duty manager who promised to sort it out but we went to do a day's work without breakfast as all this made us late. They said they would upgrade our breakfast next morning but what a surprise - we got treated like criminals again next morning as we STILL weren't on their list and we had to go through the whole performance again.

Hotels in London are busy and mistakes get made. But at the Kensington Close you pay a lot of money for no better service than a budget hotel. The staff are rude, dismissive and uninterested in helping their customers. The experienceof staying there was stressful and left us feeling we'd been ripped off. I would never recommend to anyone to stay here - in the end it was a relief to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Close Hotel

Address: Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#337 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Close Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Close Hotel and Spa is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. Following a multi-million pound renovation the Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive Club rooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. The Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Close Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.