We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Close Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Close Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Close Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #615 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Sjömarken, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotels is 200 meters from High Street Kensington tube station. Perfect for getting in to central london or watching fotball like Fulham or QPR. The lobby has a big nice bar and the rooms are okey. Breakfast is really nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    668
    494
    263
    156
See reviews for
304
640
91
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wifeand I recently didn't have a great experience at the Kengsington Close. Check in was busy but efficient. I was surprised to be asked for £50 cash deposit for extras considering there was no mini bar in the room.

What a surprise when we got to our room. I can safely say that our main bathroom at home is larger.We returned to Reception and the friendly lady there "upgraded" us to the newly renovated rooms. It was somewhat larger although you couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom. There was a kettle with tea and coffee and the room was clean.

The are issues in the bar. The staff were not friendly and didn't attempt to engage us. Guinness drinkers will be horrifed at the way it is poured. The staff need to be trained in this somewhat simple task. When my wife mentioned to the bar manager about the general attitude he retorted that "we see thousands of people every day" Indeed!!!

We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment.

Check out was reasonably fast and my £50 was returned.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I found an offer for an afternoon tea at the Kensington Close Hotel at 12.50 pounds per person so we went for it. The amount of food was really good, we couldn't eat any more that day although the quality of the food and the service was not outstanding for the price we paid it wasn't too bad at all. Great if you can combine it with a visit of the Victoria and Albert museum or any other in the surroundings

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here a month ago and was pretty disappointed.the room was minuscule and upon arrival the cleaner came out and apologised for the overwhelming smell of smoke, even though it was a non smoking room as we had requested, no suggestion of a new room, so pretty much shut up and put up.On the plus side it was clean and tidy,a decent bathroom and location just off the high street made up for the cramped quarters.Also the breakfast included was nothing short of amazing,so if the room doesn't mean too much to you I would probably consider staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givatayim
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fair value for money. Hotel staff made the difference. I got single room facing to the back side of the hotel so no complaint on street noises. The room was in reasonable size taking into account that average room size in center of London is usually not that big.The hotel years can be seen at the room decoration. The bathroom is small and there was no extra room to leave any personal stuff at the bathroom. The breakfast was good and the service is welcoming.

Room Tip: If your budget allow, prefer double room. The street is very quiet so no problem staying in street f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I used to stay in this hotel quite frequently some years ago before it had its most recent makeover. Then it was a pretty good standard three-star hotel with the bonus of free access to the nice swimming pool in the basement. But now it purports to be a four-star property, by virtue of spruced-up public areas (rather glitzy 'Las Vegas' style) which speaks of the management going for party and conference events. But the guest rooms are just the same as they were before - small and just about adequate. Woeful lack of lifts, just as before, given the number of rooms, long queues for lifts are common. I got a reasonable price for the room from Expedia - definitely not worth paying the rack rate. But entry to the pool is £8 extra (that's mean) and wi-fi is chargeable (even more mean). But it is in a great location, right next to High St Kensington tube, and reasonable restaurants and coffee shops nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Booked this hotel online and was very disappointed with the room as I had seen beautiful pictures online. Arrived late in the evening and only discovered on the following day that the hotel had some rooms refurbished and others that hadn't been. My room was very cold and noisy (extractor from bathroom went on until 2.00 a.m.). Bathroom very old fashion and very small, TV also small and not flat screen. Paid 2 days of internet but it never worked in the room. No adaptar, so unable to charge my phone, computer or use my hairdryer. I asked reception and was informed that they did not have any adaptors. Had to buy one.
The Breakfast was very poor for a 4 star hotel.
I wouldn’t return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Close Hotel

Address: Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#335 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Close Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Close Hotel and Spa is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. Following a multi-million pound renovation the Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive Club rooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. The Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Close Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.