We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Close Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kensington Close Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kensington Close Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #591 of 1,075 hotels in London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Booked this hotel online and was very disappointed with the room as I had seen beautiful pictures online. Arrived late in the evening and only discovered on the following day that the hotel had some rooms refurbished and others that hadn't been. My room was very cold and noisy (extractor from bathroom went on until 2.00 a.m.). Bathroom very old fashion and very small, TV also small and not flat screen. Paid 2 days of internet but it never worked in the room. No adaptar, so unable to charge my phone, computer or use my hairdryer. I asked reception and was informed that they did not have any adaptors. Had to buy one.
The Breakfast was very poor for a 4 star hotel.
I wouldn’t return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    546
    386
    219
    120
See reviews for
244
509
77
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Upon arrival on the 5th November 2012 we were impressed with the initial appearance of the hotel. Not impressed with having to leave a deposit (other guests did not have to pay this). Not sure why it has 4 stars as there are limited facilities. Spa, gym, pool, internet are all at a cost. Breakfast was low quality and staff ignored complaint about the water quality (chlorine and quite alkaline giving a soapy feel). Room was on 6th floor and quite noisy from heating system on the roof I guess). A basic travel lodge would have been a good alternative. Service charge in bar was a rip off. No basic information in room. Communication with the foreign staff was difficult.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The staff made our stay special. It does somthing with your day when you are surounded by smiling profetional staff.

Breakfast was good, 2 serving stations and no cuing, te and coofe served at table.

Lobby bar was ok, some waiting time to be served. Bar staff was somtimes more eager to chat with colleques than serving guests.

But all in all i will happily stay again.

Geir. Norway

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Congratulations to the wonderful employees of this hotel. Your positive attitude, great manners, willingness to help was greatly appreciated. When it comes to customer service "You simply deliver"
A special thanks to Mr Quinn, concierge, you truly lead the way.
Location is just around the corner from "The Tube," great food,, a first rate hotel
.A. O.K accomodation, yes our room was small, but modern and clean. Dont expect champagne on a beer budget.

Room Tip: When you check in ask about the size of your room and decide if you wish to upgrade, our room was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ben is obviously not 50! Sorry about that! I signed in from an e mail so not sure how I was on Ben's profile not mine. However Kensington Close Hotel was fab!! Really enjoyed our stay and will book again when we go back to London next.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed at the Kensington close hotel from 2nd November 2012 for 2 nights. We were part of a party of approx 50 who arrived early afternoon. We were allocated a room on the 1st floor and when we entered the room my wife commented on how cold it was. We assumed that perhaps the heating was on a timer and therefore would come on later. We were out the remainder of the day and did not return until nearly 11.00pm. We were greeted with a very cold room and although I tried to contact reception no one answered the telephone. I reported the cold room to reception first thing Saturday morning and was assured that it would be sorted. Again we were out until mid afternoon and when I returned I could not access our room. I went to reception, who had to issue me with 2 new key cards thereby invalidating the card that my wife was carrying. On entering the room I found it extremely cold. I found a maid who was cleaning rooms nearby and asked her if she could try to make the heating work, but she could not. She said she would inform her supervisor about the problem and within about 5 mins the supervisor arrived. I explained the problem and she instructed me to go to recepton and request a change of room. I duly did this and was given a room on the 8th floor. We found both rooms pleasant, clean and tidy but not particularly large, but ample for our needs. We are constantly being asked to conserve water, but in both rooms the plunger in the sink did not seal, so the water continually drained away. The one on the 8th floor was also difficult to operate due to the position of the mirror which was very close to the back of the tap. The breakfast selection was wide and varied but could have been hotter. Overall a very pleasant stay but was not happy about the above and also the service charge which was applied on Saturday night when purchasing drinks particularly as I had to wait approx 30 minutes to be served. Will probably stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First impression of the hotel was very nice and smart , all the staff were friendly and helpfull on arrival . Although we couldn t check in to our room until 2.0 pm we were able to leave our bag there . When we did get to our room , it was very nice , but quite small , The large double bed was really comfortable , so slept well apart from be woken in the early hours by people singing on route to their room ! I would stay there again as we often go to London to visit our son .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kensington Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Close Hotel

Address: Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in London
#323 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Close Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Close Hotel and Spa is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. Following a multi-million pound renovation the Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive Club rooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. The Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kensington Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Close Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.