We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Close Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Close Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Close Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #616 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After reading a lot of bad reviews I was a bit hesitant to book this hotel but did so anyway in regard to the location of the place.. I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby looks very posh, as does reception and the bar downstairs. The rooms were tidy and very nice too. I can understand why people have been moaning on their reviews in regard to the size of the room but for the two of us it was just fine. Shower was lovely and beds very comfortable. Staff were very friendly too and check in and check out went quickly and smoothly. Should we come back to London for another overnight stay, I would be more than happy to come here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    671
    496
    263
    156
See reviews for
305
642
92
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is very livable with a nice new feel and the location is very handy to the best parks in London and the proximity to the High Street Kensington underground station is time saving to say the least.
Breakfasts as good as you will find and the Gym is well appointed.

Room Tip: Add the "London Pass Card" to this hotels advantages and you will have a no hasstles cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from a great weekend in London which we stayed one night at the Kensington close hotel, I must admit after reading some other reviews before we went I was a bit apprehensive but found the hotel to be in a really good location for getting around London we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and I can't fault the breakfast it was above average for a hotel of this size my only criticism is the size of the room we was in, to say its the smallest hotel room I've ever seen is an understatement, to get in my side of the bed I had to climb over the bed itself as there was no space between the bottom of the bed and the wall. All in all the hotel was adequate for a one night stay but I wouldn't want to stay in the same room again (room264)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Hotel suited us, near shops, tube and taxis at door. Lobby/bar relaxing and comfortable and after spending day walking streets beds so comfy and exactly what you need. We didn't have breakfast but had dinner and it was good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Great location but I can't rave about the room. Extremely tiny and definitely no flat screen tv in my room. It's an old fashioned tiny analogue number. They also mucked up our booking by putting us in a double room instead of twin( and yes just a double bed) and had no other rooms available. Pretty disappointing when our booking states twin share. Better be rectified when we come back in 4 weeks time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having read the reviews complaining about room size, I forewarned my daughter and her partner so that their expectations were not too high. Checking in at reception added to our fears as 2 guests either side of me were asking for moves to larger rooms! We gingerly opened the door to the double room, we had been allocated, and to our delight, it has been recently been upgraded and was a reasonable size. Our twin-room was not as modern, or large but was perfectly adequate. The hotel was lovely, the staff professional and helpful, especially the breakfast chef and the doorman. The hotel was full so we did have to wait for a table but breakfast service was well organised. Thanks to the simple idea of a "table in use card" we could join the buffet together and enjoyed a well cooked and plentiful breakfast. The hotel is in a lovely area close to Kensington High Street tube. Wi-fi charge was our only negative comment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

On arrival we were informed of a room upgrade to executive which was good as we had a long journey, on getting to our room it was hardly big enough to swing a cat! (executive?) on getting ready to go out that evening couldn't find an iron or ironing board, asked reception only to be told it does not come in the room it needs to be requested? At 6.30am we got a wake up call that we did not request, not amused to say the least. Waited 10 minutes to be offered tea/coffee at breakfast on the Friday but wasn't offered tea/coffee at all on Sunday and got fed up with waiting- overall not worth the money - spoke to the manager re my concerns and he said I could pay to upgrade my room etc! I think the hotel looks very nice but the money hasn't been spent on the rooms

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, General Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Please note, we provide irons and ironing boards on request at no extra charge. Our Hotel has several room categories ranging from moderate to luxurious suites. I am happy we were able to discuss upgrade options with you, but regret you chose to remain in the category originally booked.

For your guidance, our executive rooms are over 19sq.meters or over 20 square feet, some of the largest in their category for London. We are sorry you did not find that space adequate.

Thank you for your comments on the coffee service. I have spoken to the area managers and team who have taken corrective measure to prevent reoccurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Close Hotel

Address: Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#336 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Close Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Close Hotel and Spa is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. Following a multi-million pound renovation the Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive Club rooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. The Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Close Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.