We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean Rooms,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Corus Hotel Hyde Park London to your Saves list
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #624 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean Rooms,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Location was excellent. Hyde Park just across the street and only a short stroll to Oxford Street. Lancaster Gate Station and bus stops is just 100m away! Bus No.148 runs directly from/to and Victoria station. Rooms are spotlessly clean and had a nice view to Hyde Park. Very professional and helpful staff. English breakfast is great but have to get there early to avoid queue.

Rooms are a bit small - could only do it one at a time. It's the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Bsthroom also a struggle coz its really small; there was no where to put anything. There was a short and narrow bath. The space between the bed and outside wall was only wide enough for one person. also the walls are a bit thin - you can hear almost anything and everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    718
    583
    268
    134
See reviews for
241
747
118
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton & Hove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I booked this room through Travelzoo and am very glad that I didn't pay the full rate. The room was situated right next to the lift doors of floor 9 (room 917) and we were woken up several times during the night and very early the next morning. We could easily hear the noise of the bell each time the doors opened, the lift going up and down the lift shaft and people chatting right outside our door while waiting for the lift. It was classed as a family room and had a chair that converted into a 3rd bed which had a very thin, lumpy mattress. Breakfast was also very disappointing, the food was luke warm and dried up, with very strange tasting scrambled eggs! Although the location is very convenient, and the decor is nice, I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 917 - dreadful location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusGM, General Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay at the hotel and I am pleased to read that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay but I am sorry to read that you were dsiturbed by the lift and that the breakfast was below standard. I have instructed that the lift alert sound system is inspected by our specialiast lift contractor in an attempt to reduce the volume and also to assess whther better sound proofing can be installed. The breakfast standard is recently improved and I am disappointed to read that you experienced issues. The Head Chef is monitoring breakfast standards to ensure that quality is maintained and I would assure you that our scrambled egg is made conventionally with eggs, milk and and seasoning. Your comments are important and will be acted upon to improve standards wherever possible.
Thank you for using Tripadvisor
General Manager , Corus Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The location of this hotel is great if you are after something that is easily located for the West End, the Oxford Street shopping area, as well as Bayswater and Notting Hill. It is situated a few minutes walk from Lancaster Gate tube station, and has a lot of bus access (also at night).
Vastly overpriced for a room that would not have looked out of place in a student hall. The bathroom was tiny. Only good thing was that it was clean.
Breakfast was not even included, which for the price of the room, and its state, is a joke.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusGM, General Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel and I pleased to read that the location was convenient for your trip and that you appreciated the high standards of cleanliness. I am however sorry to read that you were disappointed with the bedroom and also the rate that was charged as the rooms are always priced to be competitive with hotels in the same class.
There is an ongoing maintenance programme across the property and action is always taken to improve the standards when we discover issues or receive comments. I would be delighted to know which room you stayed in so that a full inspection can be carried out and action taken.
Thank you for using Tripadvisor
General Manager , Corus Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

After reading the mixed reviews on Trip, it felt like a bit of a gamble booking this hotel, but one that paid off!!!
A Travelzoo offer, executive room, breakfast and a bottle of wine, £89 per night, what's not to like?
Friendly service when booking in; quiet room on the side of the hotel. Room a good size, small bathroom but perfectly formed. Struggled with shower curtain, but have to say that's the same in about 50 % of other city centre hotels we have stayed in.
It was a twin room and the beds were comfy; linen was very plain and basic, but clean.
Breakfast was very busy, but we never had a problem being seated by very pleasant and helpful staff. A decent enough choice of the usual suspects; you could also order off a menu if so desired.
A big thank you to all the staff, who without exception, were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The executive room was a decent size and the side of the hotel was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusGM, General Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Guests

Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay and I am very pleased that you found many aspects of the hotels faciltiies and services to be positive. The hotel does have a variety of room types with varying degrees of space and facilties and the tariffs reflect the differences. I am delighted that you found the Corus Hyde Park via the TravelZoo offer.

I shall share your comments with the hotel team and hope that you would consider to stay again when you next visit London. If I can be of any assistance with a future stay, please do contact me directly.

Thank you for using Tripadvisor

General Manager Corus Hyde Park



thank you for the kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I stayed here whilst working in Paddington for a week so had it paid for me. It was a great hotel but I think it is a little overpriced, I wouldn't pay for it myself!
My double room was small - only about 2 feet between the bed and the wall but it was very clean and modern and had everything I needed. At first I was anxious about there being a fairy busy road outside but I couldn't hear the traffic at all, the shutters that closed in front of the window probably helped. There was a safe in the bedroom which was provided at no extra charge which was great and it was large enough to fit my laptop. Excellent location - right across from Hyde park and the nearest tube station is only about a minute's walk away. I had an English breakfast each morning and it was great, really good selection of food and good service from the waiters.

Room Tip: Even the lowest priced rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusGM, General Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for the positive feedback following your recent stay at Corus Hyde Park and I am very pleased that you enjoyed this stay and found the hotel to be well suited to your needs.

The hotel team will be delighted to read your review and I hope that you would consider to stay with us in the future. Thank you for the kind remarks and for using Tripadvisor.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

219 pounds for a tiny single rooom with a very small bed and small bathroom.Having stayed in London numerous times, this room was worth no more than 100 pounds. Hotel has 4* star rating but mystery how it got that. Breakfast pre-cooked, luke warm and greasy. Even the cappucino (served in a mug) tasted weird. Unfriendly staff capped an awful stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusGM, General Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Reddy6
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the size of the single bedroom and also the rate that was charged. The single rooms are similar to many London hotels in this area and our rates are always priced to be competitive with hotels in the same class. I am surprised and disapointed that breakfast, coffee and the staff attitude was below par as recent feedback has been positive about the quality and range of items at breakfast and staff are often praised for their friendliness. Your experience will be reviewed as part of the operational reviews and action taken to strive for better standards going forward.
Thank you for using Tripadvisor
General Manager , Corus Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at the Corus purely because we had booked a celebratory meal in the Bel Canto restaurant in the basement.

Bel Canto is fabulous. The Corus is not.

Having informed reservations we were staying for a celebration we checked in to hear the receptionist proudly declare that we had been upgraded.

Our delight was short-lived. I have seldom seen such a small and shabby room. No more than 10' square this 'executive' room boasted a cheap, uncomfortable mattress, cheap furnishings awful, tiny bathroom with a leaky sink, a toilet seat that would not stand up and a shower that dispensed only tepid water.

Downstairs to the lobby for an aperitif. Soul-less, uninteresting bar area staffed by two young girls who were reluctant to stop gossiping to serve us. Glancing around to see if there was a table to sit at we noticed all the four or five tables had empty, dirty glasses and plates on them. We finally attracted the attention of the bar staff and asked if a table could be cleared and cleaned for us to use. Their response was "we're busy at the moment" but I saw no evidence of a heavy workload. Stood at the bar waiting for a table to be cleared I watched one of the bar staff pour two soft drinks for some people in the nearby restaurant. Some liquid was dispensed into the two glasses followed by some ice. The pourer then noticed a fly had landed in one of the glasses and proceeded to chase the drowning insect around the glass with her finger until she managed to extract it. She then used a straw to stir the drink, placed it on a tray and sent it off to be delivered to the unsuspecting diners. Disgusting!!

Aside from the fact that the Corus is reasonable well located for the West End, it has no redeeming features for me to recommend it to anyone that expects cleanliness, service and reasonable value in an hotel.

Room Tip: Use another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusGM, General Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to Bel Canto and the subsequent stay in the Corus Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed Bel Canto, however I am very disappointed to read that your stay was well below par and I hope that you will accept my apologies for the poor quality you experienced.
I have commenced an investigation into all the areas of concern you mention as poor room quality and the service behaviour you report in the bar area are unacceptable. The food and beverage manager will address the service issues immediately and the housekeeper will do a full room inspection to identify the faults you mention.
The feedback is below standard but I assure you that action has been taken to investigate and put right these issues. I would be delighted to provide you with any further details you may require particularly in terms of the results of the investigation and what improvements will occur as a result.

Thank you for using Tripadvisor

Andrew Hollett - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Address: 1 - 7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#339 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.