We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved the London Marriott County Hall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott London County Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott London County Hall to your Saves list
Marriott London County Hall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westminster Bridge Road | County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #250 of 1,065 Hotels in London
A TripAdvisor Member
“Absolutely loved the London Marriott County Hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

I stayed at the Marriott County Hall for about a week, and I thought the hotel was gorgeous, our room was spacious, and the service exceeded my expectations. I was staying at this hotel on July 7th, 2005 when the bombings took place. The hotel staff immediately put extra security measures in place, but they did not make me feel unsafe or uncomfortable. For about two days they checked our shopping bags and purses when we came in, but they were very nice and professional about the whole situation. The hotel is in such a great location. The tube stop Westminster was a few minutes walk across the bridge and you could see Big Ben and Houses of Parliament from the hotel. I would recommend the Marriott County Hall to anyone looking for a fabulous hotel in London!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    452
    180
    67
    38
See reviews for
455
444
54
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new haven, connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

My wife and I took our 9-year old son to London this July and stayed in a river-view suite at the County Hall. We have been to London several times, and would certainly stay here again. The room was on the 5th-floor with a balcony that provided an excellent view over the Thames of Parliament, Whitehall, Embankment, and other sites. When the windows were closed there was no noise, and the air-conditioning worked fine. The room was very large with two bath areas, however, I was a little disappointed that some of the lower wallpaper was ripped (one day I encountered a workman in the hallway with wallpaper and he told me that he was patching rips, so they are taking care of things). The hotel decor is very "British" with lots of wood and brass. The Library overlooks the Thames also, and serves tea. Our son loved reading some of his new Harry Potter book in this area. The London Eye is right outside the hotel, as is a London tour bus stop. Our stay was during the time of the 2nd bombing scare, yet the staff was helpful and polite. We had one meal at the hotel. The food was very good, and our son enjoyed the kids' pizza. The hotel was expensive, especially considering the exchange rate, but worth the cost. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2005

Fabulous location within easy walking distance to Waterloo station (Eurostar) and Westminster Abbey and Parliament. Gazing at Big Ben at midnight through our window was amazing! Spacious room, immaculate with great service. Staff graciously stored a friend's luggage while he visited us. Small complaints: long, long walk to our room from the elevator; County Hall building is very big, and the distance seemed never-ending after a day of sightseeing. And, as other reviewers have noted, some of the hallway carpeting is musty, which was odd & annoying considering the hotel rating.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2005

This hotel is in a great location. We returned from a week vacation in London. The Marriott room that we had was very large with a king bed. My in-laws were next door to us and had a much smaller room. how we lucked out I'm not sure! Room was cleaned every day and had turn down service at night. Desk staff was helpful in answering questions regarding our vacation.

The central location of this hotel was great! Westminster tube station was a short walk across the bridge. Bus tour stop was right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2005

This was a very interesting hotel - not like other Marriotts we have stayed in for 5 nights. It is VERY LARGE and is built in the old County Hall - which is to say that after you get in the building you have to WALK to your room....a long ways if you are unlucky as we were. The views are beautiful as you overlook the river Thames and the London Eye and Big Ben. The best thing about this hotel is the location (and the internet acess in the room - which helped my husband stay connected to work). I was a little disappointed with the upkeep of the carpeting....it just felt old....like it needed to be redone. We got a crib for our 10 month old and it was just a port a crib and dirty! It had stains on the sides and was very gross. Rooms were on the larger side for europe but again...just overall a dissapointment. The best thing this hotel has going for them is location.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2005

What a shame, London. I am a Elite member of Marriott for years... not once have I experienced something as bad as this anywhere Marriott worldwide.
The finger pointing, to start with, between the front desk staff and the housekeeping manager when someone from the hotel trashed my dental retainer (yes, I gave specific instructions NOT TO CLEAN my bathroom over the phone to the front desk staff). Yet on return to my room in the evening, my dental retainer was gone! Please understand this is a non-replaceable item on my two-week trip in UK.
The rudeness of the housekeeping manager does not have anything to do with the "Marriott Way". The housekeeping manager came to my room to witness what her staff did. Yes, someone CLEANED the bathroom and TRASHED my dental retainer. Out of frustration, she yelled at her hotel guest saying "What do you want me to do? I apologized already"
Stephanie, the manager on duty with whom I spoke with multiple times, at least showed sympathy on the situation and promised to get back with me.
Alas, Stephanie, your Senior Guest Relations Manager, Miss Teddi did not agree. Teddi Medley wrote back and said, "...but unfortunately the
hotel is not liable for your missing retainer. We thank you for your valued patronage though."
I learned to lock up my dental retainer in the safe the next time I go to a Marriott, when and IF I ever go back to London Marriott Hotel County Hall!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

The location of this hotel is quite convenient and we could see Big Ben from our window. The staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly, the rooms are beautiful with very comfortable beds, and the public areas are charming with gorgeous wooden details. We felt quite at home at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott London County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott London County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in London
#179 Luxury Hotel in London
#186 Romantic Hotel in London
#203 Family Hotel in London
#260 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott London County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, historic Hotel located on the banks of the River Thames with some of the most iconic views of London to include the London Eye, Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. Originally housing the London County Council: it opened in 1998 as the London Marriott Hotel County Hall. The Hotel comprises of 200 Rooms: many with River Views, 11 Meeting Rooms, 25m Swimming Pool & the County Hall Gym. Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar and The Library Lounge serving delicious Afternoon Tea. We can cater for private events/catering with views to match. The Marriott Hotel County Hall provides a location to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott London County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott
Marriott London County Hall England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott London County Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.