We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay at a Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott London County Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott London County Hall to your Saves list
Marriott London County Hall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westminster Bridge Road | County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Ranked #242 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Best Stay at a Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My review is on the staff because they made our entire trip. When we landed in London we got trapped in the hotel because the London marathon was going on. I am really glad we did. We ended up at Gillray's. Juraj taught us about gins. As someone who does not drink gin at all I was skeptical but when in London...... He made us some of the best drinks I have ever had. They gave us ideas of where to go everyday and we ended ever night with Juraj, Lisa, Ruxandra, Leo and Sam. They made our stay feel like we were family and not a bunch of crazy tourists. No matter what you like or don't like they will make you something you will love. If you don't stop by here you will miss out on an amazing treat.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    490
    197
    71
    41
See reviews for
506
498
60
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Prior to my visit, I had issues with them answering e-mails asking about some room specifics. I reached out to their facebook and ultimately the corporate help desk before finally getting an answer stating that they received my e-mail, forwarded it, and never sent a response. The stay at the hotel was uneventful until check out when I paid for my room. They swiped my card, said their system crashed and they were unable to provide me a receipt. I checked my bank right there and saw the charges pending to know they went through. The front desk assured me that the charges went through and the hotel would sort it out.

Fast forward A MONTH later. The hotel night admin starts sending me e-mails saying that I owe them money. They send me a bill with an extra night as well as airport transport and dining. I replied that I prepaid the room online and didn't stay any extra nights. They sent me a new amended bill that took the extra night off. Now they expect me to go through my historical credit charges and sort things out when the desk assured me it was taken care of. The point of sale system crashed. I get it and it is difficult for them to track the money. That is something they need to work out with their point of sale system rather than sending e-mails to guests a month later.

The latest message threatened to charge my card on file again. Why are they still holding my credit card information after I left?

To the hotel. Work it out with your point of sale system and leave your guests alone. We pay way too much to let you take care of those details.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddi J, Senior Guest Relations Manager at Marriott London County Hall, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Mr Day

As per my e-mail to you yesterday, please accept our profound apologies for any miscommunication prior to check-out and any inconvenience caused regarding payment for your incidentals.

We thank you for your valued patronage and look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards

Teddi Jackson
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a very good position with excellent views, staff very polite and formal (probably as it should be). I didn't try the food as on bed only basis and lots of places close by for breakfast, dinner, etc.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Champagne Afternoon Tea
In the library in the old County Hall. Original Oak paneling and books in place. Good ambience. Overlooking the Thames. White tablecloths and silver service. Sandwiches, scones etc with jam & clotted cream, delicate cakes, choice of (loose) tea served through a strainer or coffee as preferred, unlimited bubbly and EXCELLENT service.....the staff could not have been more helpful. We were not rushed out and in fact spent several hours there.
In short, a memorable very British experience well worth the cost.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is one of the few 5 star European hotels that is truly a 5 star! The hotel is in a fantastic location with wonderfully helpful staff! Upon arrival I was welcomed with warmth and kindness, then shown to my room. My room was excellent! Clean with the most amazing view of both the London Eye and Big Ben! The suite was stunning and huge. During my reservation process I had had some difficulties, however after getting in touch with guest relations manager Mr. Alexis Bertran all my issues were totally resolved. He was so helpful and kind there are not enough words to express my thanks! The staff here goes out of their was to make you feel welcomed and at home. anything you need will be taken care of. You cannot go wrong with this hotel

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent 7 nights and 8 days (April 17th thru April 24th 2015) at this hotel. Great location with beautiful views. The staff was so friendly and helpful. My husband and I especially enjoyed our time at Gillray's Bar. Juraj, Lisa and Ruxandra were so nice. Juraj makes a great Gin Manhattan. Sam told my husband about a great cigar shop. Everyone went out of their way to make our trip awesome. A great hotel is nothing without a great concierge and this hotel has a great concierge staff. A special thank you to Arron who answered my numerous questions and booked numerous reservations for us. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: river view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night with two children on London Marathon weekend - soooo busy everywhere! But the hotel felt quiet and peaceful. Our partial river view room on the third floor had no noise - we could see the London eye, South Bank and part of the river from the room. The room we had booked (two double bedded room) was not available which was disappointing but the gentleman on check in said the sofa bed was plenty big enough for two...well really it wasn't and the mattress on it was awful - could feel the springs through it :( One child had the sofa bed and me and another shared the king sized bed round the corner. The room was large, biggest we've had in London, spacious bathroom too with lovely toiletries. tea tray - no tea! What's that all about? Only coffee on it and some horrid UHT milk - would have been nice for there to be fresh milk in minibar fridge. Asked at reception for some camomile tea for me and some hot choc for the kids - came back and found normal tea and a pile of actual chocolates! Very nice, but no use for drinking. Turns out they don't have hot choc in sachets for the rooms (really???). Finally got some camomile and peppermint tea after asking again. Overall a pleasant stay - amazing location, good sized rooms with space to move with kids, quiet, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott London County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott London County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Luxury Hotel in London
#245 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott London County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, historic Hotel located on the banks of the River Thames with some of the most iconic views of London to include the London Eye, Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. Originally housing the London County Council: it opened in 1998 as the London Marriott Hotel County Hall. The Hotel comprises of 200 Rooms: many with River Views, 11 Meeting Rooms, 25m Swimming Pool & the County Hall Gym. Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar and The Library Lounge serving delicious Afternoon Tea. We can cater for private events/catering with views to match. The Marriott Hotel County Hall provides a location to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Marriott London County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott
Marriott London County Hall England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott London County Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.