We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, disappointing service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott London County Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott London County Hall to your Saves list
Marriott London County Hall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westminster Bridge Road | County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Ranked #240 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location, disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times before but were a little disappointed with the service we received this time and we were only there a night. The reception staff were not particularly welcoming, we were not offered a morning newsapaper nor did we receive even a smile. We had requested early check in but did not get this and were not able to get to our room for over 3 hours. Our room was clean and had the view we had asked (and paid) for. When we returned in the evening at a few minutes before 11pm we were not able to get any food except from room service which was both limited and expensive ( I only wanted a sandwich but had to make do with a small packet of Pringles at £2.50 room the mini bar!) We had paid for a room with access to the executive longe but were told this was closed. Breakfast was not much better. The service was surly and slow, staff were more interested chatting with each other than serving guests. The plates were cold -never a good thing with a buffet style service. The serving bar was taller than many guests which was amusing to watch at times, as was the juggling to find a space to put down the heavy iron lids on the pots of hot food and everyone else dived in quickly whilst the lid was off. It was a 'make your own toast' bar too but the toaster was not quick. It was hard to spot some of the food you wanted as it was in pretty stripey jars with quite small labels. I found my yogurt eventually but you should have seen the face of the American girl on the table next to us when she swallowed what she thought was chocolate spread only to discover it was Marmite (she certainly did not love it!) This hotel now seems to be living off it's good location rather than any attention to service which is a shame from the Marriott Brand. It is so much more expensive than it used to be too. The only plus was Dani the lovely doorman, a true Cockney with a proper London welcome (even if his name badge did say he was called Enrique!), the other staff should take notice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view (the alternatives are pretty dire unless you like air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    490
    197
    71
    41
See reviews for
506
498
60
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights during Para-Olympics 2012. Excellent location for walking to all sites and really seeing the architecture. View from our room was of the River and buildings beyond in the center curve of the hotel. The room and hotel was very clean, roomy and we experienced excellent attentive staff. The pool was very relaxing and all the usual amenities can be found in the hotel itself. Cannot think of any negatives. The Olympics were excellent and organized brilliantly - way to go London!

Room Tip: View of the river, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have been to this hotel on a number of occassions for drinks and evening dinners, with some functions thrown in. It is in a fantastic location right by the London Eye and the H of P. There are fantastic views of the river from the really unique bar. They have their own specially brewed beer which was excellent. This is a great place to take a break with out of town visitors. Not cheap though so wath the tab, but well worth it. staff are friendly and helpful. The views from the top floor function rooms are tremendous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Service second to none. Friendly, approachable staff. My husband & I have stayed here on two occassions now, and each time has been a wonderful experience, we cannot reccomend it highly enough. The rooms are of an exceptional standard, the housekeeping is impeccable. Steam iron & ironing board, hairdryer and trouser press in the room. Tea/coffee making facilities, essential & welcoming after a hard day sightseeing. Breakfast is a delight too, as the breakfast room gives a river view, with the London Eye as an added benefit.
Every member of the hotel team are a credit to the hotel, especially the doormen, who had the unfortunate task of carrying our rather heavy luggage on both occassions.
Lifts arrive very quickly, once called. There is heavy, noisy work being carried out at the moment, however, we were not disturbed in any way whatsoever. The only noise noticeable, is when exiting the building to go sight seeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The location is great indeed: central, right next to some of the main attractions. But don't be fooled: if you pay for a regular room (which is not cheap anyways) the windows are narrow and you might not really get a view of anything. Or perhaps, like us, you will get a tiny view a part of the London Eye.

Anyway, our biggest disappointment is that this hotel is definitely not up to Marriott standards. We always choose Marriott for its excellence and because of our Elite status but this one, despite the great recommendations by friends, is not in our list of options for the future. The hotel is really outdated, it smells like mold and it looks as if it hasn't been renovated in years. For the price it costs even for the most basic room, this is not worth it. There are better hotels (even Marriott's) around town.

If you like being central to everything and in a big room (the rooms at least are big considering it is London), go for it! But if you don't mind catching public transportation or walking, you might want to research some more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKLA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently spent three nights there on our first trip to London. We chose this property for location and it didn't disappoint. From our room we could see Big Ben and the London Eye. It was an easy walk across Westminster Bridge to visit Westminster Abbey and Churchill War Rooms. The Big Red Bus stops right in front of the hotel. You can walk out the door by bar and restaurant and have easy access to London Eye and River Thames cruises. We were there the day of the Paralympics Marathon and streets were closed to any kind of vehicle so we were glad we could walk back to hotel easily. Concierge lounge was closed Fri night, all of Sat, then reopened on Sun aft. Computer printer there wasn't working so made it more difficult to print boarding passes. They didn't offer much to eat or drink in concierge lounge (shrimp was only out for one hour then put away). There wasn't much of a breakfast. Because the lounge wasn't open on Fri or Sat we were given free breakfast in the restaurant which was very good and one free drink in the bar in the evenings. Because it's an old historic hotel the halls are long-quite a walk to our room. Glad it was air conditioned since it was unseasonably hot on our visit. The two men who worked in the lobby as concierge' were outstanding and very helpful. Our room was larger than expected which was a pleasant surprise. Someone came every evening to check on us and offer chocolates, a nice touch. We could have stayed at less-expensive Marriott properties, but do not regret staying at County Hall. Our driver, who took us to airport, said we made the right choice. That's another service that is offered for a fee, but is reasonable(airport transportation). The charge is added to your bill.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face River Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This is the 8th time I have stayed at the hotel and have always found the staff to be very professional, the rooms clean and gym outstanding. The location is good for both business travelers as well as day trippers as tube stations are no more than a 5 min walk away. On a down side I have noticed the overall 'feel' has changed after the Olympics, the business service has been cut back in the lounge but when challeneged about this issue I was assured all will be back to normal soon. I will be booking my next stay soon :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott London County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott London County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#164 Family Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#245 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott London County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, historic Hotel located on the banks of the River Thames with some of the most iconic views of London to include the London Eye, Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. Originally housing the London County Council: it opened in 1998 as the London Marriott Hotel County Hall. The Hotel comprises of 200 Rooms: many with River Views, 11 Meeting Rooms, 25m Swimming Pool & the County Hall Gym. Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar and The Library Lounge serving delicious Afternoon Tea. We can cater for private events/catering with views to match. The Marriott Hotel County Hall provides a location to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott London County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott
Marriott London County Hall England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott London County Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.