We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of London Hilton on Park Lane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added London Hilton on Park Lane to your Saves list
London Hilton on Park Lane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Park Lane, London W1K 1BE, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Offer
Ranked #247 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Over- priced, Over - hyped, and over here. Kept awake all night with the sound of the lift. The room we had sported all sort of communication devices, but kettle was there none. Breakfast mediocre for a Hilton. Lessons could be learned from Gatwick Hilton. ( Superb.) Sonny and Cher had issues with this place in the 60's. Nothing has changed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    461
    205
    79
    37
See reviews for
269
663
76
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in September. First of all the desk staff was terrific. We were fortunate to be greeted by a young Brit named Christian who was superior at his job. He really enjoyed talking about the hotel and the surrounding area (Mayfair and Shepherds Market). We had a room on the 22nd floor from which we could see: Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the Shard, etc.). It is also very convenient to either the Green Park or Hyde Park Corner tube stations. The room was scrupulously maintained and our breakfast arrived right on time. The entire staff was very professional and cordial. We will return the next time we are in London. The icing on the cake was that we paid for it with Hilton Honors points (free!!!).

Room Tip: Get the highest floor you can to enjoy the views. They trweat Hilton Honors members very well,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Can't thank the staff here enough. after an awful stay in brighton, they have restored my faith in Hilton. I wouldn't think twice to stay here again. The room was amazing and i have never had a view like it in my life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in several Hiltons aroynd the world, I was actually excited to stay in the London location.

First thing, i was placed in a smoking floor, where i was assured by the reception staff that the room would be smoke free - it's not.

Secondly, please take a look at the bathroom!!!!!! Is this a 5 star hotel?? Am I really paying £371 per night??!?!!

Lastly, I felt completely discriminated by the male staff that checked me in. It's incredible that in this day and age, a young single woman can't check-in at a nice hotel without getting weird looks... Not that I'd need to explain, but I was meeting my partner who has recently been relocated to Brazil. I arrived at the hotel 2 hours before him and was made to feel very uncomfortable.

Thanks but no thanks, Hilton. Currently in the room while my partner is at the front desk trying to move us to a non-smoking shower-having room. I'd prefer moving hotels though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Set in front of Hyde Park, it was beautiful waking up in the morning and walking through the park. The convenience of having Trader Vics downstairs and Nobu next door was also a reason for choosing this hotel. Location aside, the hotel was great, provided all the necessities with friendly staff. I would definitely recommend staying here. The only downfall was that there was no free wi-fi in the rooms, and the rooms were a bit small. I was staying alone for business so the room size was not an issue, but I would image it could get cramped had it been a two person visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ideally situated for walks in Hyde Park and within walking distance of Buckingham Palace, Westminster, South Bank, Regent Street and Kensington High Street – we thought that this would be the ideal hotel for our 4 night stay in London.

However, we were surprised by the incompetence of the reception staff in this supposedly 5 star hotel which resulted in a total mix up/double allocation of rooms to us and another guest.

In addition to the inconvenience of numerous trips to reception in an attempt to rectify the situation, I am seriously concerned that I was asked to pack items of clothing belonging to another guest into her bag which was then collected by a member of staff (we had found both clothing and bag in our room) – I certainly would not like to think that a total stranger had been given the opportunity to go through my belongings.

Even more concerning is that we were told that we had been reallocated to another room which turned out to be occupied by the lady whose clothes we had previously packed. We were given the key to that room and would have walked in on the lady had she not had the sense to latch/lock it from inside.

The whole episode could be described as farcical if it were not for the serious security issues raised, especially as this lady was travelling alone.

The receptionist who finally sorted out the ‘practicalities’ advised that we would receive an apology but this had not been received by the time we checked out 4 days later. During check out we mentioned the issue again, we were asked to confirm our email address and were told that management would be in touch …. 9 days have passed and we still have not received any correspondence or an apology from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ParkLane, Guest Services Manager at London Hilton on Park Lane, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear peanut0904,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

First and foremost, I must sincerely apologise for the incident that you have described.

I have investigated with the Front of House team, and as this is absolutely not to the usual quality of service that we provide at the London Hilton on Park Lane, I have been able to ascertain the situation that you are referring to, and all relevant information including your contact details.

I shall be writing to you as a matter of priority to further discuss this matter.

Thank you very much for your patience in this regard, and you shall be receiving my further correspondence to your e-mail address as a matter of urgent priority.

Yours sincerely,

David Gerrard
Guest Services Manager
London Hilton on Park Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I bought this special type of afternoon tea from Groupon and it was a fantastic deal. The experience was held in the Podium restaurant just inside the hotel and the staff were lovely.

Being that it was a chocoholic afternoon tea I was aware that it would be very different than the usual experience. The chocolates, cakes, scones and pastries were lovely to look at and very filling however I felt that the sandwiches were quite small and after a few chocolates I started to feel very sickly. As such, we couldn't finish off the treats but we did ask for a box to take them away, to which the staff were happy to provide.

I think the experience could benefit from having slightly less sweet things and a few more sandwiches just so you can really enjoy the chocolates and cakes without feeling like you have OD'd on sugar.

This is definitely a lovely gift and a well worth experience however!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Hilton on Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Hilton on Park Lane

Address: 22 Park Lane, London W1K 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#160 Romantic Hotel in London
#166 Family Hotel in London
#180 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — London Hilton on Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mayfair, the London Hilton on Park Lane is close to all that London has to offer, whether it's musicals and theatres or world famous landmarks. Soaring high above the city streets, the hotel is famed for its unparalleled five star luxury. With 453 spacious guest rooms, including 56 suites, there is something to suit every taste. Meanwhile, the five bars and restaurants remain destinations in themselves, offering something for every taste, including our Michelin-starred restaurant Galvin at Windows and trendy nightclub Whisky Mist at Zeta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your London Hilton on Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hilton On Park Lane Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton International London
Hilton London
Hilton Park Lane
London Hilton On Park Lane England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Hilton on Park Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.