We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in central location of London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England (Formerly Ramada London Hyde Park) (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 20%
Ranked #248 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sandnes, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in central location of London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is located just behind Oxford Street and in close neighborhood to Marble Arch or Selfridges. Even though it is not directly located at one of London's main roads, traffic noise can be quite loud sometimes.
The hotel offers free WiFi in the public areas, for which you will need to get an access code from the reception. The quality of the network and the speed are okay for general purposes, but the fact that you have to re-login when ever you switch off your device can become a bit annoying. The breakfast buffet offers a brought variety for any kind of taste including müslis and omelets. The latter you have to request from the waiter and they will made to order.
The rooms are small compared to normal US Hilton standards, but for London they are quite large.The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    406
    110
    26
    11
See reviews for
154
366
58
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is great. Very close to main subway lines to get to the big tourist attractions in the city and the lines to get to major airports and international train hubs. The hotel was clean, and well kept like you would expect from a Hilton brand hotel. In this occasion, the staff were readily available to answer questions and help, but not necessarily knowledgeable and accurate in their answers and processes, including billing issues upon check-out. It was not anything major, but something to be aware of when staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We chose to stay in London and take the tube to Heathrow, rather than stay at the airport. The hotel suited us perfectly, great room, clean, lovely views, central. We breakfasted at the Spanish café just down the street, had diner in Covent Garden and walked the parks to the Diana Memorial Fountain. So easy to get around, lots to see and do (Portobello Market - go on the weekend)

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Kensington Gardens Easy to miss hotel walking from the tube, there is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Fosie,

Thank you for the lovely review about your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed the view from your room and most of all our wonderful location.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked an afternoon tea experience at this Hotel as it was very close to Kensington House in Kensington Park.
We enjoyed a 1.5 hour afternoon tea with nice sandwiches, cakes and a glass of Prosecco.
It was a nice experience and warm sunny day so it was nice to be able to choose from sitting indoors or outside.
We sat outside in the sun but the only fault the outside area is in Bayswater road which has heavy traffic, and it would have been a lot better if it had been a grassed rear garden.
Still in Central London and very close to Underground station and Kensington park we cant have everything.
Recommend this if booked through Groupon or similar sites as Expensive otherwise

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear paul c,

I am pleased you enjoyed afternoon tea in our Urban Meadow restaurant. I am glad the weather cooperated and you enjoyed our outdoor terrace, despite the traffic.

Thank you for sharing the details of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webby01
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is a solid hotel. It is clean and well kept. However it is nothing exceptional. The hotel staff was helpful and courteous, but don't expect them to be overly accommodating. The rooms were well decorated albeit very small, but in line with the size of most UK or European rooms. If you are expecting a room comparable to the size you would find in the US, you need to reset your expectation. One thing that I did notice was that the walls were fairly thin. I did notice that the shutting of the doors in the hallway from other rooms was very loud. I was awoken several times during the night due to loud shutting doors. Ear plugs would help this issue. We did eat breakfast in the hotel one morning. If you do not have the breakfast buffet included with your hotel rate, breakfast items are a little on the pricey side. Service in the restaurant was below average, but I think that this may be isolated to the waiter who handled our order. He clearly had an attitude and was not someone who enjoyed his job. As result, we avoided the restaurant after the initial breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Webby01,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased that overall you regarded the hotel to be ‘solid and clean’. I was however disappointed that we did not meet your full expectations in a few areas and I apologise that on this occasion we let you down in regards to your service experience. Please be assured that your comments will be discussed with the relevant Department Heads for action.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakarya, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

excellent location, clean, helpfull, averaga english breakfast. rooms are small but not bad, usefull to stay. underground and bus station 2 minutes to walk. also very close to oxford street and notting hill...

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Ahmet C ,

Thank you for the review following your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that our great location worked so well for you.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We love the Double Tree brand and as this was a booking for a hotel to stay in while I ran the London Marathon it was the obvious choice for us. I booked our King Size room (plenty of room for aching limbs to stretch out in bed) just short of a year in advance, to make sure we got what we needed. The Hotel is fantastically situated being very near Notting Hill tube and the usual Double Tree standards were there - all except the fact that our booking hadn't processed properly. Head Office had it but the Hotel didn't! The staff were lovely although some reassurance that we would get a room would've been welcome at a much earlier stage. We were given a free drink whilst they looked into it. Cafe seemed nice. We were then given a room, which was decent enough but not what I'd booked. My husband was given a complimentary breakfast and the next day we were moved to a bigger room. The staff couldn't have been nicer but the original mistake will live long in the memory.
Double check your booking arrangements if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear hollythedog,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased that despite the initial inconvenience due to a miscommunication between our central reservation team and the hotel directly, that we were able to best accommodate your booking. I have discussed the matter with the Front Office Manager who has already been investigating the situation. Should you choose to return to us again, please email us directly so our in-house reservations team can assist with your booking – reservations@doiubletreelondonhydepark.co.uk.

I hope that the Marathon went well!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Address: 150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England (Formerly Ramada London Hyde Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Business Hotel in London
#178 Romantic Hotel in London
#182 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Hyde Park. Superbly located opposite Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and just 400 meters from either Queensway or Bayswater Underground stations, our warm and welcoming hotel offers close proximity to popular London attractions including the West End theatre district and Madame Tussauds. Enjoy fantastic shopping opportunities at nearby Oxford Street or hire a pedalo at the Serpentine boating lake in Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada London Hyde Park Hotel London
Ramada Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Ramada
London Ramada
DoubleTree By Hilton - London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.