We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an awesome location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England (Formerly Ramada London Hyde Park) (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #255 of 1,060 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an awesome location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This really is an excellent hotel. The location, literally opposite Hyde Park and 200 metres from the nearest tube could not be better.

I stayed for a week in a Queen Room. I agree with others about the room size, they are on the smaller side however I was on my own so no issue. The room was very modern, excellent large TV and a coffee maker which was good. The bathroom contained a shower and again, very well appointed. The wifi was reasonable speed and complimentary which is a nice touch.

These however are the negatives. There seemed to be a smell in the bathroom, it smelt like the drains. It came and went so I imagine it was something to do with the extraction system. I didn't complain so it wasn't a big issue. The other is the air conditioning unit. As the windows do not open you are dependent on this unit to cool the room. At full it's very noisy and took over an hour to cool the room. I understand it's an old building but still an issue.

Overall an excellent hotel with a couple of small issues, mostly related to its' age.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    389
    107
    24
    11
See reviews for
149
347
57
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Met our needs as meeting up with Family. Arrived mid day ,checked in but room not ready. Reception area small and busy. Was given a warm cookie. Waited another hour and room still not ready so we left case ( was not given any ticket) as had to meet up with Family for a special lunch. Returned at 10pm. Room ready and given another cookie. Was told case in room. Entered room to find it not there. Went back to reception who retrieved case from cupboard. Room clean and compact . Had a good nights sleep as bed so comfy.
Tea and coffee facilities in room so had usual morning Cuppa. Checked out 10am.
Had already paid and had no extras so left key card at reception as staff busy.
Room was on mezzanine level overlooking side street. Might find our basic room a little claustrophobic if more than 2 nights and in the height of Summer. On this occasion suited us, but in all fairness who stops in their room when in London.Buses,tubes nearby. We enjoyed our very pleasant stroll from there to our son's place just off Portabello Road.

Room Tip: A larger room may be better ( at a price!)and may look over Hyde Park but may be noisier . Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear KazzaEastbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review about your recent stay. I am pleased our location worked well for you and that you enjoyed our signature DoubleTree cookies and most importantly a good night’s sleep in our comfy beds! I apologise we were unable to accommodate your early arrival and the miscommunication about your bags being in your room.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great hotel with good central location. Staff were helpful and polite. The restaurant/cafe was okay but would prefer to dine out, although breakfast was good with a wide range of choices. Room had a great view over Hyde Park. Would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Paige D,

It is great to read the review about your recent stay in our 'excellent hotel'. I am pleased you found the staff helpful and enjoyed our central location and great room view!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sweden, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Close to the tube and park, lots of buses just outside the hotel, descent and clean, would definitely stay there again when i London.
For the price this is a bargain in this city as you usually have to spend a lot more and get nothing.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Mattias J,

Thank you for posting the review about your recent stay. I am glad our location worked so well for you and to read that you will definitely stay with us again when in London.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We often stay in Hilton hotels in UK and abroad and we decided to give this Doubletree a try. We arrived to reception, only to be told that the room we booked can't accommodate our family, and we'd have to pay £10 a night for an upgrade to a king bed (we did book a room for 3 people, so not sure why the booking system did not pick up on this- managed to clarify this at checkout, but not a good first impression). Told also that breakfast was until 11, only to find out the next morning that it had finished at 10 am. We booked dinner for each night, shouldn't have bothered- the menu choice for people staying on DBB was between 'risotto, beef burger or pork burger' for the main course. We asked to eat from the main menu and pay the difference and were given a variable allowance every night of the three we stayed (told we had £17 and free child, then £15, then £18 and paying child, so charged at random every night). The food was of poor quality (dried chicken, salad with freezing cold chicken and no dressing, seafood linguini with not a hint of fish, small portions- tiny seabream on a bed of onions as 'vegetables', five calamaris if you ordered a portion) and the service very slow- about an hour wait for our meal was average. Ordered bread and olives to keep us going, only to have these delivered with the main meal an hour later. The manager was also the waiter, so kitchen staff often delivered the meals- really poor customer service, with food put on table in a rush, dripping cups and glasses, no cutlery. The breakfast was similar, very under-staffed, with lots of items unavailable from 9ish onwards. We regretted paying for breakfast and dinner, definitely not 4 star service or food, plus the street has many nice restaurants. The facilities in the room are nice, although the hotel looks very bland- really no character. As we were on holiday, we did not appreciate being woken up by a fire drill on the second day (at 8 am, with no previous notice, so we woke up our small child and started getting ready to evacuate, and did not receive an explanation or apology after- good hotels would inform their customers in advance) and noisy cleaners knocking at the door at 8 am on our departure day. As suggested in the title, the location is great, 5 mins to the nearest metro and lots of shops, plus the nice park in front, but the service is very much work in progress and lets the hotel down. At £700 spent for three nights, we really expected better from a hotel with Hilton in its name. Will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel seem quieter, as you avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Used this as a weekend base on a recent short stay in London.
Hotel is a little hard to find when approaching by car. No signage facing Hyde Park (to preserve the classic facades I assume) meant we did 3 laps of the block to find it.

Very accessible from here to the tube, a short walk to Notting Hill and the Portobello Rd area and right outside Hyde Park.
Rooms are small but well finished.
Very comfortable stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A lower level room allows you to avoid the lifts which are slow and small. Use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Fan-tc,

I was pleased to read the review about your very comfortable stay and that you would highly recommend us. We are in the process of getting new visible signs to make sure no one misses us!

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed for two nights but unfortunately on first night was woken up by fire alarm. Staff were excellent providing foil blankets and keeping guests informed of progress and profound apologies. A few of us were not allowed reentry to our rooms but were offered alternative accommodation. Next day i was offered compensation of a free meal for us but i did have to ask. Second night was excellent. Comfy beds and very good room service. Good breakfast and staff always helpful. Would stay again as convenient for West End and points of interest.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Vicky010,

Thank you for posting the review about your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the overall stay, particularly our helpful staff and great location. Thank you for your understanding about the fire alarm activation – I apologise for the inconvenience but the health and safety of both staff and guests alike is our main priority in this situation.

I am pleased to read that you would stay with us again and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Address: 150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England (Formerly Ramada London Hyde Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Business Hotel in London
#184 Luxury Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#250 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Hyde Park. Superbly located opposite Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and just 400 meters from either Queensway or Bayswater Underground stations, our warm and welcoming hotel offers close proximity to popular London attractions including the West End theatre district and Madame Tussauds. Enjoy fantastic shopping opportunities at nearby Oxford Street or hire a pedalo at the Serpentine boating lake in Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada London Hyde Park Hotel London
Ramada Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Ramada
London Ramada
DoubleTree By Hilton - London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.