We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and easy to reach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England (Formerly Ramada London Hyde Park) (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #250 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and easy to reach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you are visiting west London and need a relatively basic hotel then this is an ideal candidate. We spent three nights here a few weeks ago and it was a very enjoyable stay. It was very quiet, very clean and easy to get to. The nearest tube station is less than 5 minute’s walk, it is right across the road from Kensington Gardens so ideally situated for the Palace (having gone there I would suggest not wasting your money) and Hyde Park. A 10 minute walk to the west takes you into Notting Hill. We had a standard room which is relatively compact but is ideal if you just want the basics that a traveller does – clean, comfy bed, clean shower and bathroom and a Nespresso coffee machine; the latter should become mandatory by law. The dining room is nothing special, it’s basically a high street café but there are plenty of places within walking distance.
Like most hotels in London the rates seem to vary hugely so it is worth watching the trend for a few weeks if you can as ours worked out very competitively. For a similar price I would definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, today
Dear Baggley,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the overall experience in our very quiet, very clean and easy to get to location. It is great to read that you enjoyed the room, particularly the Nespresso machine!

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    354
    99
    22
    10
See reviews for
136
312
51
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel offers an excellent place of stay, when it comes to its location, price and public transport. It is one of my favourite hotels in London and I warmly recommend it. The latest is that they now offer a chocolate cookie at check-in, which was quite strange, as that was the first time food was offered to me while I was tucking away my credit card and trying to find out where my room was. The check in went smooth, so was the check-out. The reception area is a little crowded and tucked in a corner, while the lobby is wide, luminous and there are not many seats available. There are also toilets close to the reception. The restaurant is spacious, never busy and seems to have a wide variety of choices on the menu, as well as a separate sitting area for coffee/tea. If sunny, I would recommend sitting as close as possible to the window. Rooms are very clean and I was amazed how big the bathroom was, probably half the size of my room. The room has all the necessary amenities and large windows. The room, at least mine, was quiet, though I guess rooms facing the street may be noisier. Room service was quick, food tasty and I didn’t find it expensive at all. I also had lunch in the restaurant and again the service was quick, food good, even though I did not enjoy my choice. When I booked the hotel I was given the option to request late check out and I was allowed to stay for an additional three hours after the 12 o’clock check out time. It is therefore worth asking if this is possible. The only problem with this hotel is that some of the staff members do not behave professionally. For instance, when I went to the reception, the lady on duty had the most evil look, as she was judging the person in front of her. I don’t think she was aware of how she starred with a very harsh look on her face. When a guest came to leave something with her, her whole persona became a forced fake “thank you”. I am not saying people should be extremely kind, smiley and happy, but she looked like she did not belong in the reception. The same goes for some of the restaurant staff. Especially the younger ones behave as if they are in a club, hanging over the bar, laughing, talking, not paying attention. I am not saying this hotel is bad in any way, I would still stay there and I highly recommend it, but this kind of staff puts me off and makes me think that they do not value the reputation of the hotel or the job they are doing.

Room Tip: Late check out possible. Room service, worth it and not too expensive. If sunny, sit near the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, today
Dear InaF,

Thank you for taking the time to post the detailed review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read your overall comments, particularly about the signature DoubleTree cookie upon arrival, our great location and the room quality.

I was disappointed to read your feedback about some of our team members and I sincerely apologise as this is not at all indicative of the high standard of service we strive towards. This has been discussed with the Department Heads in order to address with all our team members.

I am pleased that you would still stay here and highly recommend us. I do hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed as a late valentines break and would definitely return. A few underground stops from Euston station but the complimentary warm cookies we received at check in made it more than worth it! Reception staff were great and we were offered an upgrade for just £10 which we did. The king room was lovely and had everything and more than what we needed, although I can imagine the basic doubles would be quite small. The hotel was extremely clean and stylish. As we only expected Breakfast in the morning to be a continental the large buffet was a welcome surprise! I would definitely recommend to all and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Lauren B,

Thank you for taking the time to post the positive review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read your comments, particularly about our great staff, the signature DoubleTree cookie upon arrival and that you enjoyed the upgraded room.

I am extremely happy that you would definitely recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Enjoyed a couple of nights at this hotel this weekend.Good location not far from Queensway tube on the Central line. Rooms were well appointed and I found the service very good. We opted for the breakfast and were not disappointed. Freshly cooked full English, lovely pastries and fruit. Would definitely use again.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear KernowLad,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed our good location, well appointed rooms and the breakfast in Urban Meadow.

I am pleased to read that you would definitely use us again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very good and nice hotel. Rooms are clean and very nice. Staff is helpful. Close to attractions and public transport. Tourist bus in front of the hotel. Bathroom very small. Beds are good and linens very good. Would go back to the hotel. Bayswater Road is good connection.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear JustusvanHoegee,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It is great to read about your experience and I am glad you enjoyed the room, staff and location.

I am pleased that you will return to stay with us again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Second visit to this hotel. Has been redecorated since last visit and is now fresh and modern. Great room, fresh and clean, and superb beds with really comfy pillows.
Good service at the front desk.
Breakfast was good. Well at least the variety off food. But what the breakfast didn't lack in food, the staff lacked in service. Grumpy staff, smashing tea cups on the table when passing the table. Didn't have time to hear the whole question when we asked for another kind of tea and moaned when we asked for an extra teaspoon. Can we suggest a course in smiling?
Next time we stay here we'll skip breakfast

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear elipse,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to read your comments about the superb beds and comfy pillows!

I apologise that we let you down during your breakfast experience on this occasion and your comments have been forwarded to the Urban Meadow General Manager to address.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is my 2nd DoubleTree this week. The cookie tastes different in every DTbH i visited, I wonder why. The reception was very friendly and welcoming. The reception area is very narrow, 3 workplaces allow little space for 3 consecutive guests to be processed. The room was very comfortable, as expected from a DoubleTree. Bed was exceptional. Bathroom nice and clean. Iron and board in room, very important feature for me as business traveller. Room service excellent and fast. The 28 days sirloin was great quality food including fantastic french fries. One thing, truly great in DoubleTree hotels, you may turn off ALL lights from the bed. Extremely satisfying for me, very few hotels offer this feature. The location of the hotel is great, with great restaurants, Hyde Park and Notting Hill district nearby, great for walks and eating out.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear RobyGlobal ,

What a delight to read your review ‘Business traveller's heaven’! I am delighted to read your comments, particularly about our exceptional beds, excellent room service and our great location.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Address: 150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England (Formerly Ramada London Hyde Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in London
#176 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Hyde Park. Superbly located opposite Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and just 400 meters from either Queensway or Bayswater Underground stations, our warm and welcoming hotel offers close proximity to popular London attractions including the West End theatre district and Madame Tussauds. Enjoy fantastic shopping opportunities at nearby Oxford Street or hire a pedalo at the Serpentine boating lake in Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada London Hyde Park Hotel London
Ramada Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Ramada
London Ramada
DoubleTree By Hilton - London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.