We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming new hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Suite West

Save Saved
You added La Suite West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Suite West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41-51 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JN, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #487 of 1,073 hotels in London
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“charming new hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel is just 3 minutes from the tube station bayswater or five minutes from queensway. We met a warm welcome with an efficient check in proces.Afterwards a staff member guided us to our room when also taking our luggage. The room (no 314) was situated on the back side of the hotel (some noise of ac units outside). In comparison with other boutique hotels in large cities we found our room very spacious, with a ktichenette, two lounge chairs and a small table to sit down. The bedding........ in just one word wow !! excellent !! Extra services as two bottles of water provided by the hotel and a free newspaper we appreciated it very much. Bayswater road, which is a minute walk from the hotel has lots of small restaurants and some shops for groceries. We experienced this as a welcome change of the crowded inner city ! Breakfast was ok but consists not of a buffet this is maybe a welcome option for much guests. Main conclusion value for your money !!

Room Tip: ask for a room as high as possible and at the front side (any street noise isn't avoidable but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
22
77
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Enjoyment of any stay in this hotel will be dictated by your appreciation of black as a decorative feature. Its prevalence renders the accommodation extremely dark, with tension and foreboding the primary emotions evoked, and these exacerbated by the employment of wooden grates instead of wardrobe doors, referencing, apparently, prison bars. The white parts of the building naturally appear rather shabby, as they show all the dirt. My room totally lacked windows, which enhanced the sensation of claustrophobia. I like a light room, so did not enjoy staying here. That's a matter of preference, though; my partner found it just to his taste.

The ground floor rooms do not benefit from hot water until the evening. This is not acceptable and is the main reason for the poor rating. The taps run a cool luke-warm, not suitable for washing. This was explained as normal for the ground floor.

Pros:
- Very large bathroom and good-sized bedroom
- Very numerous and attentive waiting staff
- Close to tube stops (Bayswater and Queensway)
- Very nice tea!
- Sink in room for kettle and cups (Room 18)
- Two gigantic TVs in room
- Complimentary newspaper

Cons:
- Extremely ugly decor
- No hot water
- Much noise emitting from technical unit and constant drain outflow in internal courtyard, and tube trains beneath the hotel
- No breakfast buffet; everything a la carte
- Breakfast extremely slow to arrive
- Metal grid by which room 18 is accessed poses health hazard to ladies in heels
- Request for quiet room on second floor and with window not respected
- Room not cleaned during stay; turndown service only

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the ground floor. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for our 5 year anniversary of our relationsip, found online after searching for hotels near hyde park. We had intentions of visiting the nearby winter wonderland so wanted somewhere closeby! Got a great deal last minute.

Around a 15 minute walk from Paddington station, although it is next to Bayswater if coming from elsewhere. Upon check in the lovely reception staff were extremely polite and eager to help. No issues whatsoever. Online I had heard about a pre auth required for rooms with a minibar. My debit card was not accepted for this (credit cards only) however more than happy on helpful advice from the reception staff that a cash point was a minute walk away!

The very helpful concierge then took us to our room, saw us in and explained the features of the room to us (Touch lamps for lighting etc). The room itself was very modern, spotless and very well designed! Loved the colour scheme.
I believe we were in the Kensington suite on the ground floor. Bed was extremely comfortable. And with the cold London weather outside, the heated marble floor bathroom was the icing on the cake!

Hyde park is a 10 minute walk away however the Wonderland is slightly further (30 minutes) but again, coming back to our lovely room took away all the cold!

Checkout again was efficient with no issues, PreAuth cash returned without a problem. We were on a room only rate so can not comment on breakfast/dinner however we walked past the interior restaurant a few times. It is very well presented, and the colour scheme of the hotel works perfectly!

I work within the high end hospitality industry. So I know what to expect in terms of quality, they did not disappoint and was astounded by the service and quality of this place. So thank you La Suite West, I will definitely be returning :) - Room 013

Room Tip: Go for a suite and treat yourself, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

So this is a new venture for me, staying a bit further out of town. La Suite West, is a gem that I have overlooked due to my prejudice in staying out of the west end given that my work place is in the heart of Soho. From Tottenham Court Road station takes you directly via the central line to Queensbury followed by a simple 2 minute stroll to the well-appointed, great value hotel.

On entry a concierge is there to greet you, (the door is at the side of the hotel and hidden slightly, so preserver and you will find) with a friendly smile, check in was easy and uncomplicated.

If you like your hotels chintzy then I would avoid, the hotel is minimalistic in design, no clutter (dust collectors) with stark white walls and dark furnishings, but clever lighting makes feel warm and cosy.

The rooms are really well thought out, including mini-bar with sink (simple I know but being able to wash your own stuff is handy!) , robes and slippers, heated marble floors and mirrors in the bathroom and rain shower with separate hand shower. To top it off lashings of Molten Brown toiletries.

The bedding is sumptuous particularly the pillows which are snuggly warranting hugs all night!

Breakfast is a little pricey, but was of high quality with the staff adding to the overall good experience. The full English includes fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, pastries, tasty fry up and toast and condiments.

So all in all, really great. Worth the slight trek out of town!

Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

PROS
- free wifi! Being one of those people who likes to stay connected, this was a huge bonus. The wifi connection was pretty good and fast.
- Good location in Bayswater; near the Bayswater and Queensway stations, and close to Tesco Express and Sainsburys and a number of Asian food outlets
- Neat and clean rooms
- Plenty of power sockets in the room, including some next to the bed
- Comfy bed and pillows (though my bed was a little high).
- Bathroom floor was heated. I liked this :)

CONS
- Signage outside is rather small, which made it tricky for the taxi driver to locate.
- Corridors are rather dimly lit.
- Did not like that my room (and my parents' room) had to be accessed via stairs. Only a few steps, but it's tiresome when you have heavy bags with you.
- No toothbrush and still water provided in the rooms. Had to ask the front desk for them. Took a whole day for a bottle of still water to get to my room, though.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed 1 night, 30/11/2012 in double room with evening meal & breakfast. Entire hotel is very dark & looks quite seedy as totally black & white and bathroom was smallest we've ever had in a hotel. Evening meal service was very slow but food quite nice. Breakfast, however, wasn't good...just ordered tea, coffee & 2 English breakfasts, our tea & coffee arrived after around a 10 minute wait and our cooked breakfast arrived over one hour after we had ordered it!!!! Had to complain 3 or 4 times before our cooked breakfasts eventually showed up! Many other guests were also joining in with us complaining to the waitresses that they were waiting unacceptable lengths of time for their food to arrive & we all commented together that it was like staying at Faulty Towers.

Very, very, very poor standard of service was experienced by many of us guests during our one night stay there. Please do not book to stay there as it isn't a pleasant experience and it is very, very over-priced for the standard of service they offer. We have stayed in many different types of hotels & guest houses in our time but never have we received such terrible service from staff, absolutely awful place it is.

Room Tip: Just don't book, try another hotel in the same area, but avoid this one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very nice hotel, was given a upgrade upon arrival which was great.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The room was very modern.
I've been in many hotels worldwide and I have to say this is one of the best hotels I've been in.
Will use this hotel again that's for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Suite West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Suite West

Address: 41-51 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#289 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Suite West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London's newest luxury boutique hotel.Located on a quiet street on the edge of London's magnificent Hyde Park and close to the West End and Paddington, is the minimalist and latest creation of famed British designer Anouska Hempel.Ranked one of the world’s top 100 interior designers and architects, Anouska Hempel has also made a name for herself in landscape design and high fashion and has owned, designed, and managed several award-winning, luxury boutique hotels.Here at La Suite West, the aesthetic takes the shape of a stark temple of black and white, where clean lines meet sharp angles and sculptural forms. A corridor of inky-black marble floors leads guests up to an unusually long white marble reception desk.In the garden, crisp lines and sculptural forms that characterise the hotels interior are echoed in meticulously pruned plants, trees and hedges. Leading from the hotel restaurant, food and beverage service is available, making it the perfect location for cocktails or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Suite West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Suite West London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Suite West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.