We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Suite West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Suite West to your Saves list
La Suite West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41-51 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JN, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #501 of 1,055 Hotels in London
vienna
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a twin room, which surprised us positively with its size : pretty good for London - we even had a niche with two big armchairs. The beds were big and comfy and the minibar was full of good things (tea&coffee available). There are some hangers and drawers for clothes - not too much, but was enough for a girlie weekend. The bathroom is small but nice - the shower is excellent. We liked the minimalistic black&white decor, lots of mirrors. The best : our room was very quiet.
Concierge and receptionists were efficient, fast and helpful. There are two underground stations around the corner and we walked from Paddington (max 15 min.). I'll be definitely back soon !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    92
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
26
89
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel through Living Social and were expecting a nice little hotel. I dropped off my bag the day before, and the staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. When we checked in we were upgraded free of charge, and had an absolutely wonderful room with lots of fun mod-cons. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was lovely, the fluffy dressing gowns were fab, the disappearing TV was perfect (my pet peev is a TV dominating the room) and the whole room was so comfortable.

We dined in the restaurant both evenings, despite knowing many restaurants in London that I like - that's how good the food was. Presentation was immaculate, the dishes were very tasty and interesting (not just touristy English food) and the staff were so helpful and pleasant.

Breakfast the next day was ample; my husband had a superb full English, and I had Eggs Benedict, and you get all the trimmings as included (pastries, toast and jams, juices etc). Particularly with deals, you can find that you're charged for everything, but that certainly was not the case here. They couldn't have done more.

I honestly wanted to find one little thing wrong with this hotel to ensure that I'd leave, but genuinely couldn't. We had such a wonderful time, and would definitely return here and pay full price for such a lovely stay with such wonderful staff. Really great experience.

Room Tip: We had a room which faced Inverness Terrace, which was definitely quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is my first TP review. I have signed up just to leave a review because I was so impressed.


My customer experience at La Suite West was fantastic.

I was staying in the Inverness Suite and I was more than happy with what the room had to offer. The bathroom was entirely marble and had underfloor heating and a powerful rain head shower. There were also samples of Molton Brown products. The bed was very comfy. The suite was very clean. I had room service on various occasions and I was impressed with the friendly and speedy service. The hotel itself is located in Bayswater which is a walk away from Hyde Park and the main tube station - it is very well located. Knightsbridge is a 15-20 minute walk.

There is a mini bar in the room which is a £50 deposit a night which was not mentioned until I checked into the hotel - but if you don't have anything from the mini bar then it is refunded, unless you do have something, in which case they deduct from the deposit and give you the difference.

The staff are helpful, friendly and always happy to help. Nothing is too much.


My only fault with this hotel is that it is located in the Bayswater area. It attracts a lot of students and foreign nationals. It is surrounding in cheap / budget hotels. However once you are in L.S.W you forget about that and you can soon start relaxing in the luxurious bedrooms. I did on 2-3 occasions (in the 3 days I stayed) hear the tube vibrate the room and I was on the 1st floor. However this is a Victorian building and is expected.

La Suite West is on par with The Dorchester.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been very suprised by the very nice and new hotel. At the time of our stay if was opened for half a year, so almost new. It was clean and bathroom was very nice, cleaning was spotless. The only negative was the quality of food during night, which couldnt compare to really great room service food during the day. The location is also very close to the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of October for a birthday trip to London. The location of the hotel is superb , two tube stops within 2 mins walk and close to Notting Hill . The welcome at the hotel was excellent , we had a good sized room on the ground floor overlooking a quiet back street , but we weren't there for the views. The style of the hotel is minimal and dark , an outstanding design by Anouska Hempel but may not suit everyone. The room had a large four poster bed , desk and sofa , a small but stylish bathroom with under floor heating , although compact the bathroom worked very well and was pleasant to use . Lots of hanging space and storage , but far too few clothes hangers. On the second night we returned to get ready to go out for a meal and 10 mins later a birthday cake was delivered to the room with the compliments of the hotel , that single gesture signified the amazing service the staff gave . They noticed us coming back in , arranged the cake immediately , all the staff new it was my birthday and the room we were in , outstanding personal service , they all wished me a happy birthday on our way out knowing the cake had been delivered.
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was superb , highly recommend it , breakfast was excellent too , but a little slow maybe.Some candles in the restaurant at night would just give it a more appealing atmosphere and encourage more people in .There is also a beautiful terrace to dine on in better weather, a real oasis away from the street.
Some reviews have mentioned the flooring which is sisal so a little" rough" maybe but slippers are provided , but the rooms are a real pleasure to stay in .
We had one or two niggles , lack of hangers , no turn down the second night , lack of a light on the desk , and a sofa which was comfortable but no light near it and the tv would not swing out from the wall to view it from there .The minimal design needs perfection as every blemish shows, there was still paint all over the window and splatters on the dark wood screens , and a bit of the bathroom shelving that had no paint on it at all, think they still need to do a snag list as it is a new hotel.
Overall an amazing stay in a stylish hotel with outstanding service , in a great location. I would not hesitate to return and be happy to highly recommend it and the restaurant ! Looking forward to a another visit !

Room Tip: Room 13 was roomy and very comfortable , but you do hear the gentle rumble of the underground as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay in La Suite West, from the moment (early) we arrived until the moment we left the staff could not be more attentive. Everyone from Anand at the front desk to Simone in the dining room.
There is an excellent choice for breakfast and the food is very good.
At dinner we were treated to chicken "lollipops" and prawns on a "high wire", the menu is very innovative and very tasty.
Our bedroom, while a bit on the small side was comfortable with a very comfy bed.
The location is great, minutes from Bayswater and Queensway tube stations.
We would definitely recommend La Suite West, great staff, great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst on a weekend break in London.
First impressions were very good - reception staff very friendly, as was the porter! He worked long hours Saturday and Sunday but remained upbeat and professional - he is a real asset to the hotel!
Our room was pretty small - just the standard room - but for what we paid was well above anything else you would get that close to the centre. Bathroom and shower in particular were amazing - nice underfloor heating. Had an iron sent up to the room which proved difficult due to lack of space but we managed. Bed was very comfy and nice fixtures and fittings throughout.

We would definitely stay here again if we went to London - keep it up.

Room Tip: Room 316 was great for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Suite West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Suite West

Address: 41-51 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#297 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Suite West 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London's newest luxury boutique hotel.Located on a quiet street on the edge of London's magnificent Hyde Park and close to the West End and Paddington, is the minimalist and latest creation of famed British designer Anouska Hempel.Ranked one of the world’s top 100 interior designers and architects, Anouska Hempel has also made a name for herself in landscape design and high fashion and has owned, designed, and managed several award-winning, luxury boutique hotels.Here at La Suite West, the aesthetic takes the shape of a stark temple of black and white, where clean lines meet sharp angles and sculptural forms. A corridor of inky-black marble floors leads guests up to an unusually long white marble reception desk.In the garden, crisp lines and sculptural forms that characterise the hotels interior are echoed in meticulously pruned plants, trees and hedges. Leading from the hotel restaurant, food and beverage service is available, making it the perfect location for cocktails or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Suite West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Suite West London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Suite West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.