We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't stay with Priority Club points but enjoyed the stay regardless...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental London Park Lane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental London Park Lane to your Saves list
InterContinental London Park Lane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7QY, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #129 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“didn't stay with Priority Club points but enjoyed the stay regardless...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I haven't a clue what a 'stay with Priority Club points" involves but I did enjoy the stay at the Intercontinental London regardless. I stayed 4 night end of November (Thanksgiving for those from the States). The room was a "classic" room and so a smaller room with a view of the courtyard (no view) but given the general lack of sun the lack of a view wasn't much of an issue. The smaller rooms are a good size room and equal to most studio apartments in London (or so I was told by a local). The location was ideal as the underground was near and the area was nice. If traveling from the States some preparation will make the trip and the stay more pleasant. Acquire the Oyster card in advance for the mass transit as you can take the Underground from the airport . Acquire a convenient map of London in advance or a app on your phone for mapping as the only maps of London are quite large. Ask the mini bar be emptied immediately so you can shop up the street for drinks and snacks.

I must admit some issues appeared to be lost in translation between "5 Star" and common sense. I found no information on the hotel services in the room so I was a bit lost on how to address common requests. I asked three staff for a razor over a course of 4 hours prior to the delivery of a razor. I asked twice for the mini bar to be emptied. I always used the two towels in the room but never received more than two towels. No lack of staff to turn down the bed each night, though.

The breakfast buffet was a wide assortment of foods to accommodate a wide assortment of visitors. Breakfast starts at 6:30 AM and I suspect the quality is highest at 6:30 AM so wake up early. In a 4 night stay breakfast was buffet two mornings and room service two mornings. The quality was equal but the quanity was not equal. The room service pancakes were an al a carte size at best, as an example. So stick with the breakfast buffet or order the continental breakfast and the pancake breakfast.

The gym was very nice and located on the second floor. The main entrance was under construciton so no grand entrance during my visit. The hotel bars and restaurants are very popular. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The TV channels were very limited and included endless sports channels. BBC with the same shows repeated time and time again.

The doormen were cute and very friendly so a nice entry and exit to the hotel day or night.

Internet was 15 pounds so I paid nearly $100 USD for 4 days of Intenet. Internet should be at no cost at all hotels! I used Internet extensively to communicate and plan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    422
    126
    40
    38
See reviews for
230
576
111
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

with renovations going on downstairs, the reception area is a bit messy but that should be sorted out soon.
we like the IC Park Lane very much.
great service
great location
wonderful rooms
club lounge is one of the best for any IC

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed here (again) on Priority Club points, about a year after our previous stay. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (3.45 pm) but we were offerd a drink and the receptionist contacted us when the room was ready. We were given a small suite which was very well-appointed with a bigger bathroom than the room we had had the previous occasion. All spotless.
What I remain impressed with in this hotel, given its location and how busy it seems to be, is that the staff are pleasant, helpful and anxious to please. This is a credit to them and their management team. Now if only they could infect the staff of the in-house Theo Randall restaurant with their enthusiasm and professionalism. We booked there for 9pm and hoped to have the prix fixe menu, which wasn't offered. Our food was good, if not sublime, but the staff seemed distant and over-formal. The bill was £150 for two and no-one seemed particularly grateful for our business. I would return to the Intercontinental but would give the restaurant a miss.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

recently renovated but a huge let down for the price. over rated , service disapointing , much prefered the intercontinental portman square , ( its a hyatt hotel now) .the good thing about the hotel is its location ; hyde park , park lane, knightsbridge and piccadilly are all walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Booked twin bed superior room. Upon arrival, receptionist said none were available and did not offer an alternative. After further telephone conversation with her colleague "Tim" I was offered a room that was out of service due to a broken in room safe. After checking into the room we found other problems -- toilet did not flush, sink did not drain, burned out light bulb at bedside. Our late PM arrival had my wife and I rushing to dinner at the hotel's Theo Randall restaurant so we lived with these deficiencies until the following day. $180 bought us two salads, two glasses of wine two mains (all at the lower end of the price list. The demeanor of the maître d', server buser was interesting. It was as though Eric Von Stroheim had trained them as martinets for of his films. They were uniformly distant, imperious and unsmiling with that kind of bearing they better get the food and drink order straight, which they didn't. They brought one glass of wine instead of the two that were ordered and delivered the same entrée for both of us although we had ordered two different entrées. One of the entrees was way below standard and returned to the kitchen. A final insult to all of this injury is the restaurants adding a charge for a charitable contribution made in hotel's name. On a final note, the flushing mechanism for the toilet is located behind and below the raised lid and seat so it is necessary to lower them for each flush.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Good service. Ambassador lounge is excellent with great view and good breakfasts and evening drinks. Good rooms - great showers, comfortable beds. Location convenient for Hyde Park tube station and very close to bus stops.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenried, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The address says it all, and explains the price of the room. The hotel is located on the corner of Green Park and Hyde Park, facing onto Park Lane, although the entrance is on Hamilton place just behind.

Compared to its neighbours, this hotel has been tastefully renovated over the past couple of years, giving the building a very modern feel to its interior. The rooms are by no means vast, but are not small by London standards. My deluxe double room (the same size as the standard, but face outward instead of into the central courtyard, and have a few differing furnishings) had a king size bed, with a couple of armchairs, writing desk and a flat screen TV in the bookcase. It had an adjoining bathroom/toilet of reasonable size.

The hotel has the typical overpriced 'celebrity restaurant', in this case Theo Randall, in house restaurant, and a club lounge on the 7th floor that overlooks Green Park.

The staff in the hotel very polite and helpful.

I stay here on business, as I feel it is one of the better Park Lane hotels, however I would find far more reasonable priced hotels should I be here with my family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental London Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental London Park Lane

Address: One Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in London
#76 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Family Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental London Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the site of a royal residence, InterContinental London Park Lane is now the epitome of modern elegance. Located between Mayfair and Knightsbridge in view of Buckingham Palace, the hotel is not far from the Tower of London, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square. Also worth seeing is the Victoria and Albert Museum, Madame Tussauds and The National Portrait Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental London Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel London
InterContinental London Park Lane England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental London Park Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.