We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental London Park Lane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental London Park Lane to your Saves list
InterContinental London Park Lane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7QY, England (Mayfair)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #117 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amalfi, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is about location. Everything important is in walking distance. We booked it with my friend as a little educational trip to London for our kids. Reception and concierge services are excellent, but when it comes to cleaning your rooms... Couple of times I was very surprised to see my room unmade when I returned to the hotel in the evening. My friend had even better experience - somebody was raiding his minibar for champagne and Red Bull. Hotel management took this seriously and all wrongs were promptly corrected. Very nice lobby bar with good selection of drinks. Superb italian restaurant, definitely worth visiting. Excellent breakfast. Overall very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear aberucha

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us in July.
We are happy that you liked the location as well as the lobby bar and Theo Randall restaurant.

I am sorry for the shortfall you encountered with our Housekeeping services. I would like to assure you that this is not indicative of our usual standards and your feedback has been shared with the relevant Department Head so that the necessary actions can be taken.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental London Park Lane soon.

Kind regards

Caroline JIllings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    455
    134
    41
    40
See reviews for
256
628
119
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
thurso
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for first Rolling Stones concert due to handiness to Hyde Park and got a great deal too!!! Beautiful hotel - rooms sumptious!!! VeryLuxurious!!! No expense spared in this hotel! Breakfast - probably one of the best spreads i have ever seen!! Top Notch!! We checked out at midday and by midnight Andy Murray was checking in after his Wimbledon victory!!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ThursoExplorer

Thank you for sharing your experience at InterContinental London Park Lane. It is always great to receive positive comments and I will certainly pass them on to our team.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to London.


Kind regards


Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This Hotel is perfectly located. Walking distance from Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace. There are many coffee shops and good restaurants very near by. If you find the price for Breakfast a little steep, then you can walk 2 blocks to Pret-a-Manger for a great breakfast. The rooms are very spacious, very modern, super clean, and very well equipped. The concierge is great, very well informed, and very helpful. The staff very friendly. It is not the most luxurious hotel in London, but it is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Fritz69_13

Thank you for sharing your experience at InterContinental London Park Lane. It is always great to receive positive comments and I will certainly pass them on to our team.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to London.


Kind regards


Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just stayed at the Intercontinental London with our children and absolutely loved the hotel and the whole experience. The hotel is beautiful, well appointed and perfectly located. The concierge was beyond helpful and resourceful. The breakfast in the hotel was excellent also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear MEM22135

Thank your for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards


Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

When we travel, intercontinental hotels are our number one pick and this one didn't disappoint. We were in a deluxe room that easily accommodated our three large suitcases. The king bed was comfortable but the pillows were a little disappointing. The tv channels on offer leave a lot to be desired, though one should not be watching too much tv whilst visiting London.
Breakfast - a large arrangement of food which should satisfy all tastes. The hummus , I really enjoyed. There service for coffee/ tea can be quite slow. At times I thought that the staff were a little distracted.
The bar - the service is exceptional, though watch what you order if you are in a large group. I was charged for other people's drinks.
Location - hard rock is around the corner which is one of the most popular restaurants in the area requiring you to wait for a seat. In the back streets are a large number of great pubs serving slightly cold beer and good old pub grub.
You are walking distance to Piccadilly square, Harrods and Buckingham palace. The tube is also very close.
The concierge at the hotel are very helpful and can arrange anything that you need.
Really enjoyed my stay, this time. Third time at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Kylee D

Thank your for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards


Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Our room overlooked the park and had a great layout and feel. We laughed that we were put at the end of the corridor as we had a baby with us, but it all worked out well. Staff were very friendly. Only annoying thing was the daily (or should we say nightly) charge in our credit card at approx 4am for whatever extras we had that day. Why don't they just charge at the end of the stay like other hotels? The bar is nice and despite being s lobby bar, has a cosy feel to it. Drinks are very pricey but you expect that. Food in restaurant was tasty with average size portions. Room service was quick and relatively value for money. Overall we had a most enjoyable and pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Bigby21

Thank you very much for your review and kind words following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that our service and facilities met your expectations.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you have the expectation that this property competes with the its neighbor across the street, the Four Seasons or the Bvlgari or the Lanesborough, you will come away disappointed. But, if you are expecting a 4 star business hotel, then you will be satisfied. I stayed in a deluxe room which had no real view (looked onto a man changing in the room across the court yard). The room was very small, particularly the bathroom. The public areas of the hotel could have been a different hotel because they clearly invested a lot more in the public areas than they did the rooms or the hotel corridors. Service was consistently professional, but very few of the staff were very warm or would go out of their way to do something beyond their scripted response. You received no real name or face recognition. The breakfast was decent, but the lay out and whole room configuration was too crowded and had more the quality of a three star hotel than a proper four star hotel, let alone the luxury impression that they wanted to convey in their lobby. Would I return? No, I would either go to a smaller hotel that had more charm or pay a little bit more for a tier one London property, such as its fantastic neighbor, the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Amanjunkie17

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Your comments are highly appreciated as it is only through the valuable feedback provided by our guests that we can continuously improve.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental London Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental London Park Lane

Address: One Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in London
#69 Romantic Hotel in London
#90 Family Hotel in London
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental London Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the site of a royal residence, InterContinental London Park Lane is now the epitome of modern elegance. Located between Mayfair and Knightsbridge in view of Buckingham Palace, the hotel is not far from the Tower of London, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square. Also worth seeing is the Victoria and Albert Museum, Madame Tussauds and The National Portrait Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental London Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel London
InterContinental London Park Lane England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental London Park Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.