We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of the Hilton name...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Bridge Place | Victoria, London SW1V 1QA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #275 of 1,065 Hotels in London
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the Hilton name...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for most of last week and unfortunately find myself here again!

I'm a Diamond member and have been for many years. I stayed here last week and it was not a pleasant experience.

Let's deal with last week first. The lobby is pretty shabby. Many of the front of house staff struggle with English.

My upgraded 'Exec' room was miniscule and interconnecting with one of the loudest women I've ever heard next door. When the noise got too much at midnight I complained and was told it would be dealt with. At some point in the night (I don't know the time) reception phoned me and asked me to explain what was wrong. Somewhat idiotic and lacking in forethought.

Additionally, my room was overlooking Victoria station. Extremely noisy so try and avoid if you can.

I did eventually get moved to a much better room on the other side of the hotel after suffering two nights of noise from the woman and the station.

The food is awful. I had some cod in the restaurant which was relatively expensive for this type of hotel. It came with a small Le Crueset of cabbage and a multitude of other sauces and accompaniments which were just utterly mismatched. The preceding night I had had pan fried salmon with...cabbage! Now I've got nothing against cabbage but it just doesn't work with those dishes. The Exec. Chef is clearly very inexperienced, on a tight budget or both.

There's also an abundance of recycled roast potatoes in many of the dishes - slightly odd.

Next, the gym...closed without any warning, apology or explanation to the guests.

Next, the concierge, or lack of concierge. He/she was never there when I wanted them.

So, on to this week. The front of house staff have been simply rude. Possibly the most discourteous staff I've come across in a Hilton (Nuria checked me in this time). She took my name, printed out an invoice with the wrong person on. When I asked where the room was she proclaimed arrogantly "it's an executive room" as if I was meant to be impressed. I asked her where the room was again and she simply let out an enormous sigh. Incredible. Hilton, a word of advice, as a Diamond member (or any guest for that matter) I expect some level of respect, all I got here was impertinence!

As I was checking in there was a loud shout from behind me in the bar where a chap began to chant loudly. Presumably a football song but it contained the words *unt and *ollocks! Elegant.

I refused the Exec. rooms this week as they couldn't provide one without a view (and noise) of Victoria station.

And so to the rooms, and here's the thing, the rooms are actually passable. Apart from my first room last week, they are well decorated for this type of hotel, not shabby at all and have decent, but small, bathrooms.

I may have to stay here again on business but I'm really going to try and avoid it. In fact, it would be better to stay at the Guoman Grosvenor across the road - much better, decent restaurants and without the football hooligans in the foyer!

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms overlooking the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear MrOizo100,

Thank you for sharing your views on trip advisor.

I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations in particular when being a hotel with very high volume of valued Hilton Honors' members. Whilst I do value every guest’s opinion and do take action with raised concern or general comments, I am disappointed with the way our team and recently refurbished product was portrayed in your review. I would agree on a couple of elements that could have been managed better but found it surprising that since all aspects of your experience from general appearance, size, product, culinary services through to interaction with our team were disappointing including other hotel guests, you would still consider coming back to our hotel for business but as you review content, it remains you choice as a consumer and valued guest.

Regards,

Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    243
    57
    16
    6
See reviews for
137
170
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed two nights for our honeymoon after a flight into LHR. Were treated royally and enjoyed every minute. The hotel went over the top for our honeymoon when I upgraded our room. They surprised us with a bottle of champagne and cheesecake along with a welcome letter from the mgr. of guest relations. We were very honored. They also allowed us early check-in by 1:30 hrs. Since we requested in advance. Also provided free wire fy in room. I am a platinum member with another hotel chain and have not seen service like this before. Doubletree by Hilton London Victoria is convient, professional, and generous if you want to tour London in a weekend I don't know if you can stay at a place with a better value

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mattcalcio2,

We are delighted to have further enhanced this special moment in your life and hope to welcome on future visits to London.

Warmest Regards,
Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had afternoon tea here, encouraged by a voucher from the afternoon tea website. This made the tea incredibly reasonable and as such we were happy. If, however, we had paid full price we would have been very disappointed. We had to repeat our order a couple of times and then the waitress still brought the wrong sandwiches. We also had to ask for more tea and and we weren't offered any additional food and there wasn't much in the first place. The tea area had little atmosphere and wasn't a traditional London afternoon tea. If you want something cheap (if the offer is on) then it's worth a whirl if the location works for you but don't go there especially.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and i stayed here for 2 days this week.. We were given a room which was freezing.. we adjusted the temperature control and no joy after 2 hours.. In the end the hotel heating engineer came and confirmed the system has broken down... We then had to wait to be moved to different room. This is after unpacking all our stuff and settling in.


My wife needed to go for a course and we asked for a wake up call which did not materialise. On the second morning it did come but 50 mins early which was annoying. We also had a false fire alarm which went off 3 times at 1.30am which i guess can happen any where as some one accidentally set it off.



Location was good close to many good restaurants and the room it self was good enough and clean. Concierge Mohammed was excellent.

I booked this place as i like to go to gym every day. When i arrived i was very disappointed to find that the gym was out of order.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ram m,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am truly sorry for the disappointing the set of events you experienced. We had a challenging couple of days last week with a new condenser which broke down and a pipe burst which required access through our gym and the reason it had to be closed for 2 days whilst we conduct this important repair. I will address the wake up calls lapses and thank you very much for commending our concierge Mohamed.
I would truly hope we could get a chance to showcase our hotel under it's usually high standards so feel free to contact me if you intend to travel back in the area.

Yours sincerely,

Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
I.abid@dtlondonvictoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton at Victoria did not get off to a good start.
After arriving at the reception I was advised that the room I selected during my online self check-in was not available. That was not an issue for me as other rooms on the same floor (I've chosen 8th floor) were still free. I was given room number 826 and headed off to the lifts.
And that's when the problems emerged.
Room 826 is located next to the lifts (having read previous reviews I was aware it might be quite noisy - and it was), facing the front of the hotel and what comes with it the Victoria train station (few other reviewers have complained about that too - that was also true) and to top it off it is also a corner room (same as room 813 mentioned in one of the reviews) which makes it smaller than other rooms.
So as soon as I got into the room I headed back downstairs to have it changed.
It is worth mentioning though that during the brief time I spent in room 826 I did notice that it was nicely decorated and tidy and the bathroom was clean.
Having arrived back at the reception I explained my concerns to the gentleman who was on duty.
Without a blink in his eye he apologised and said he would do his best to fix it.
The next thing I know I got a free upgrade to an Executive room on the 9th floor as far away from the lifts as possible and overlooking the back of the hotel which was way more quiet than my original room! Couldn't ask for more!
The room has everything you need - very comfortable kingsize bed, massive flat screen TV, mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was spotless with a big rain forest shower along with nice slippers and soft bathrobes.
So with a small glitch to start with the rest of my stay was very pleasant and enjoyable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel but make sure you follow the room tips.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms, rooms next to the lifts and rooms facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff helpful and attentive and rooms of a good and comfortable standard for Hilton Double Tree Hotels. Found the restaurant to be more of a bar/café type area with lots of tourist slouching around texting or playing games on their phones. We were told that we couldn't have lunch as there was no room in the eating area. No one, taking up all the tables in the eating area, were eating so they should make it clear to them that guest for lunch take priority. We walked around the corner and had a lovely lunch in the Park Plaza Victoria instead.

Room Tip: Reception said only rooms on 1st floor have a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well located hotel, 2 mins from Victoria station. We were one adult and two teenagers. Since we were three, we had to get a family room, which was way too small. Too expensive to get extra bed or 50 pounds pr.night. Extra bed too soft so you slept poorly. No wifi except at high price.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria

Address: 2 Bridge Place | Victoria, London SW1V 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in London
#208 Business Hotel in London
#213 Romantic Hotel in London
#240 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Victoria Station, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London – Victoria provides its valued guests with immediate link to the London wide public transport network, Gatwick via the gatwick express and Heathrow airports as well as some the city’s most popular points of interest. Major attractions, such as Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament, the London Eye and the famous West end are within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton EMEA, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Victoria Hotel
Hesperia London Hotel
Hesperia London Victoria
Hesperia Victoria London
Hesperia Hotel London Victoria
DoubleTree By Hilton London Victoria England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.