We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but disappointing hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Bridge Place | Victoria, London SW1V 1QA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £133
Ranked #194 of 1,075 hotels in London
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Central location but disappointing hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We chose this hotel because we're hilton rewards members and the location looked good. There's a main train/subway location walking distance from the hotel and it's near sights like Buckingham Palace, which was convenient. We paid extra to be upgraded to an "executive" room that was supposed to be larger and with a king-sized bed. The first room they gave us was on the too floor but was directly next to the elevator. We could hear it every time it moved! The balcony was huge, which seemed great, until we realized we shared it with the room next to ours. It was creepy because the glass sliding door didn't lock properly so it made the room way less secure. They didn't have another room available but said they'd move us to a junior suite for the second bad third nights of our stay. They asked us to leave our bags packed in the room and they would move them to our new room in the morning while we were sightseeing. The bed didn't have a box spring, just a mattress on a frame so it was very uncomfortable! And the bathroom was only partially renovated.
We came back at 5pm the next day and the new people at the front desk knew nothing about our room change. They had no suites available and we got stuck in the same horrible room for the second night. We asked them to refund us our upgrade fee, which they agreed to. I asked for this in writing, and asked for the managers business card. She didn't have cards (too new an employee?) and eventually hand wrote a note agreeing to the refund. Thankfully I got this because the upgrade charge was not removed and there were no notes about it in our file when we went to check out!!
On the third night we were moved to a junior suite. There was construction going on, and the windows had film on them.
Overall, indifferent staff and a disappointing hotel. Lots of other guests complaining at the front desk. I'm surprised they're still a hilton hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    90
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
69
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed here a few times previously, and had classed this hotel as "emergency only". I was very pleasantly surprised this time, as they've refurbished most of the rooms now, and the additional noise reduction features have made a HUGE difference to a peaceful night's sleep!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Convenient location near Victoria Station, great breakfast places nearby. Comfortable beds, very quite room. Conceirge was very helpful. Close to Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff, rooms, food and location were all excellent. Everyone was friendly and eager to please. Breakfast was hearty and you will fall in love with the traditional English Breakfast. The hotel is next door to Victoria station and close to Buckingham Palace, Harrods, and Westminster Abby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex,UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Picked this Hotel as next to Victoria Station and close for British Pullman the next day. Warm welcome really surpassed our expectations, room was lovely and most staff really helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I find that travelling around Europe, many good and not cheap Hotels are becoming extremely complicated when it comes to some services.

The double tree by Hilton in Victoria is a good business hotel, reasonably close to center of London, you can practically walk (15 minutes) to parliament square, Hyde Park corner or Buckingham Palace but, breakfast is not included, getting a WiFi connection did not seem the most comfortable (for some reason from my room I could not use the option for introducing your room number and name and I had to ask in reception to get user and password, even for the public WiFi in lobby).

The rooms are good rooms, perfectly new and clean with good bathrooms but again, it is starting to be the little things that are annoying in many good European Hotels, minibar is empty? suddenly I get up during the night, want a cold during, open the fridge and nothing! I just do not understand why they do this...Also do not understand the point of having rooms with two single beds pushed together, a normal queen size is probably less costly and more comfortable.

Again, I think is a good Hilton Hotel, you will not find anything wrong with it but seems like this little inconveniences are starting to get a bit annoying for me personally. I am in a Hotel, I do not want to have to plan when to get WiFi, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear ngutierrez1972,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback.

Little things do matter and I am very sorry for the issue you experienced with our Wifi. The system is fully interfaced with the front desk and should be able to get you connected with your name and room number so please accept my sincere apology if that was not the case on this occasion. Minibar can be filled upon request as indicated but not a standard available in all room types. We opted to leave the minibar in our rooms following a survey with our valued guest which was perceived as a convenient amenity. As for twin rooms, our aim is to maximise the living space and as you would expect, twins are a room of choice for colleagues or friends travelling together.

Your opinion is valued and I would like to thank you again for bringing these points to our attention.

regards,

Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice staff who were helpful when I needed a late check-out and was met by my daughter who needed to drop her bag off while we went for lunch. Accommodating and service minded which is either rare or often times overdone. Great balance. It really was just what I needed and expected for a nights stay on business. A practical location. Next to Victoria station is ideal even if it is not the prettiest location in London. I will stay here again and made a reservation for my next visit. It is the second Hilton DoubleTree Hotel I have used in London. I have liked both and the service level is consistent. You know what to expect and that is what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Eric R,

Thank you very much for your glowing review.

We are delighted to read we provided a perfect balance for your London trip. Your word very much described the philosophy and standard we aim to consistently achieve which makes it all more rewarding for our dedicated team .

We truly hope to see you again soon on your next visit

Kind Regards,
Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria

Address: 2 Bridge Place | Victoria, London SW1V 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in London
#140 Luxury Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#211 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Victoria Station, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London – Victoria provides its valued guests with immediate link to the London wide public transport network, Gatwick via the gatwick express and Heathrow airports as well as some the city’s most popular points of interest. Major attractions, such as Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament, the London Eye and the famous West end are within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Victoria Hotel
Hesperia London Hotel
Hesperia London Victoria
Hesperia Victoria London
Hesperia Hotel London Victoria
DoubleTree By Hilton London Victoria England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.