We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK rooms but public areas need refurb” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Mayfair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Mayfair to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Mayfair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8NE, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #334 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
“OK rooms but public areas need refurb”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Great location just off Piccadilly and across from Green Park tube station, I arrived at the hotel and checked in at the dated reception. 

My rate was an extortionate £235 per night, so I was upgraded to an Executive room. The room was just OK. Large bed with pillow choice, grubby sofa bed, safe, iron, old style sliding mirror wardrobe, net curtains and coffee making facilities. No free WiFi. 

The cramped bathroom was dated, over the bath shower and taps with the chrome wearing off. A bath robe was provided, I guess this and the complimentary bar of Kit-Kat were the executive extras, plus the view of the Ritz across the road. Toiletries were basic.

The bar and public areas were dated, as was the dining area (a breakfast area next to the old wooden bar), which served an OK breakfast at sole less tables with no windows. 

The rooms are typical and the general areas need a refurb. For the price paid I won't return, unless I get a deal for around half the cost I was charged.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Mayfair, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Nick from Manchester,
Good day to you and thank you for taking the time to post a response in regards to your recent stay with us.
Our aim to give each and every guest the best hotel experience there is to offer. Our highly trained professional staff thrive on good customer service and value all feedback given.
I sincerely hope you enjoyed the great facilities and amenities as part of your room upgrade. You will be very pleased to know that we are currently in the process of a refurbishment to many of our rooms and are also looking to improve the public areas as you have pointed out in your review.
We believe in today's technology environment, Internet should be available with swift and easy access, therefore, we are hopefully looking to offer this as a complimentary service in the very near future.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance prior to your next trip.

With kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    607
    252
    87
    40
See reviews for
453
374
73
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire Moorlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Good venue that's a bit dated. Rooms are good size for London and comfortable, but the furniture needs a big uplift. Good service in the restaurant and attentive staff. Need to allow a lot of time to check out. The access is great and ideal for those that just want a base to venture around London.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Mayfair, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Mike_from_Staffs,
I am very pleased that you chose The Holiday Inn Mayfair and glad that you found our location and other aspects of the hotel satisfactory.
I am also very happy to say that we are embarking on a course of refurbishment, starting with a few trial rooms and expect a roll out of the full programme imminently.


K C
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for a London break using priority points and was very pleased with this hotel. I was upgraded to an executive room on the 7th floor which was a good size for central London, huge flat screen tv, large bed and small sitting area with table and chairs. As said before the location is great 3 mins walk from green park tube and lots of restaurants and bars near by. Staff were all helpful and courteous. I would be happy to stay here again. Only downside expensive Internet.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Mayfair, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Willpickerish W,
Thank you for an uplifting review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay and we would love to see you back again.


Kent Collins
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We wanted to visit London and we looked for a well placed hotel so that we can easily get around and be close to London's hotspots.

After reviewing some hotels on Tripadvisor I chose the Holiday Inn in Mayfair and I have to say I was not dissapointed.

The hotel is perfectly located right at the exit of the Green Park tube station and that makes it very easy to access from the airport (you have a direct tube from there via the Piccadilly line - takes about 45-50 mins).
Also Green Park station is a crossing between 2 other lines, which makes it even easier to go by tube (you need to switch less often) and It's just a 4-5 mins walk through Green Park to Buckingham Palace.

The hotel is quite nice. It's not pretentious, staff is very friendly.
Breakfast is quite good and varied, the breakfast lounge spacious and well kept.
Rooms are spacious and well-lit (we stayed in an executive king room) which was nice and well equipped.

The hotel has several downsides though.

The biggest would be that they don't have included Internet access and that's quite a bummer, especially since the paid access can be quite expensive. You're better off getting a pay-as-you-go (pre-paid) sim-card from one of the local providers who offer 2G of traffic for as low as 17GBP.

Secondly, the rooms are large and clean, but the bathroom would benefit from some refurbishing (bathtub, sink, were clean but you could see the "age fatigue" on them). On the first day the shower cord was pierced and it leaked, but once we reported this to the staff they replaced it quickly (when we came back from a walk, they had replaced it with a brand new one).

The third drawback would be the price. It mean don't get me wrong, the location is perfect in my opinion, but the room price is a bit high for what it's offered.

But all in all, if you're looking for a good hotel in a really good location, this is a really-really good place (just make sure you have internet on your phone/tablet).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Mayfair, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Cluffy-Ro,
Hello and thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn London Mayfair as well taking the time to post such a kind and detailed review of your recent stay with us.
We aim to provide you with the best standard of service and value your feedback.

You will be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of renovating many of our rooms, so we hope to have the pleasure of you choosing to stay with us again.

We are also looking to offer internet as a complimentary service, this will be updated and hopefully taiing place in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your thoughts and comments.

Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent two nights at the hotel in August when down London for the Olympics. Had a huge room with two double beds, everything was spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nearest tube station two minutes away which made all parts of London accessible. Worth a stay for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Mayfair, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Rita H,
Good day to you and many thanks for sharing your review with us. I am so delighted to hear that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
We are currently in the process of rolling out a majot renovation to majority of our rooms and hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us.
Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The location of the Holiday Inn in Mayfair was excellent. Close to the hub of London and to a Metro line.

Overall very happy with the hotel and would have given them 5 stars except they had Internet issues and we were forced to pay for 24 hours usage per device instead of being able to pay $5 per hour to use 2 devices. We were charged $32 for 24 hours as we had two devices. When I complained upon check out $16 was reluctantly refunded but the lady at reception gave me plenty of attitude and shared smug looks with her colleague.

I would stay there again but this did put a dampener on what was otherwise an excellent experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Mayfair, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Sharon C,
Good day to you and thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us. We aim to provide you with the best and highest standard in service and value all the feedback recieved.
I am sorry to hear that the internet service was not entirely to your satisfaction and sincerely apologise for the negative responce received from the staff member, I have addressed this with the Reception team and currently looking into the matter.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance or information prior to your next trip.
Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

First thing to say is this hotel has a great location, close to Piccadilly Circus and just a hop step and a jump from most things you might want to do in central London and has friendly service. If I was comparing it with budget hotels such as Travelodge etc, I would say it is far better. As always, however, your view of a hotel is coloured by the price you pay for it - and given the room rate was well over £200 when I stayed here on business (including a party discount) it has to count as poor value.

The rooms are very clean, but definitely need a refurb. Internet access is exorbitant (£16 for 24 hours just should not be in this day and age). TV only included 10 channels, and nothing for non-UK visitors. Most worryingly, if lots of rooms around me were using their showers at once, a grey water residue rose up through the plug-hole of my bath and left it dirty. Clearly the plumbing needs a major overhaul. One of the lifts was frequently broken, and this meant long waits to get down/up at busy times, especially given that the stairs are marked up for emergency use only. Individually, these things are not big, but taken together they indicate a hotel in need of a bit of love and attention.

I would add that one of my more distinguished colleagues had his hand luggage, including his medication, stolen in reception. Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel, and they did everything in their power to sort it out - but just a warning to be careful.

In summary, if the price had come in at £150 I would have been happy with the hotel (for London prices at least) - but it was certainly not worth anything >£200.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Mayfair, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Mr dksmith,
A very good day to you and many thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to inform you that we are in the process of a very major refurbishment and also looking to combine the internet with our room rates.
You will also be very pleased to know that the guest, who lost his bag, (your distinguished colleague) did indeed find the bag, which was never lost or stolen but amongst his other cases.
Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, which I have discussed amongst my team as well.
We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any queries prior to your next trip.

Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London - Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Mayfair

Address: 3 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in London
#259 Family Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
#313 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London-Mayfair hotel is located in the heart of Mayfair, London's premier hotel district. With its unparalleled location on the corner of Piccadilly and Berkeley Street, the Holiday Inn Mayfair is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. This Mayfair hotel is fully air conditioned and all bedrooms are equiped with high speed internet access. The traditional and tastefully appointed hotel is in close proximity to Green Park, Hyde Park,, the Royal Academy, Covent Garden, superb shops in Bond Street, Regent Street as well as many clubs, casinos and night spots. Oxford Street, Harrods, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Theatres and the West End are all close by. Adjacent to the hotel is Green Park underground station which gives direct access to Heathrow airport and St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. As well as mainline rail services from Victoria and the Gatwick Express. All Conference & Meeting rooms in this ideal central London location have natural day light and are equipped to cater for any event. Nightingales Restaurant offers modern British cuisine from light snacks to a full a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Mayfair Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Mayfair England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.