We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I advise any alternatives.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kings Cross Rd, London WC1X 9HX, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #527 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I advise any alternatives.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The rooms are ok. The cooked breakfast is quite bad. I can't comment on hotel restaurant, as I was working odd hours and had to use room service for food. That was not great, but better than the breakfast fare.

It's a short walk to the tube. Convenient, and reasonably priced. Plenty of other options for food nearby.

Room Tip: do get a higher floor, there was AC noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Mr_Worktravel,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    613
    431
    166
    70
See reviews for
513
262
63
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location for trains from King's Cross. The hotel is modern and the rooms are of good quality. Staff
are helpful. We booked for Full English breakfast which was very poor. Food was poorly cooked - eggs were inedible - scrambled egges were lumpy, pale coloured and tasted vile as if they were made from powdered eggs. Baked beans were liquid - very cheap beans indeed. Pasties were not to normal Holiday in Standard - no variety and cheap. We have stayed in Holiday Inn Hotels in Uk many times and this breakfast was well below normal Holiday Inn Standard for Edinburgh, York and Harrogate. The staff were working flat out to keep tables clear and did a good job at that. However the tables were covered in cheap plastic stuff which was not nice. Overall a very disappointing breakfast: coffee lukewarm, poor food second rate.

Room Tip: Our room was very good. Could not fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Longstone,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. Most importantly, I am truly sorry to hear that the breakfast served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped her in December for a theatre break for one night. Easy check in without any problems as booked online. Room comfortable and clean, however no bottled water as with all Holiday inns, you do need some from the shop as the hotel is very hot. Breakfast is buffet style but you need to be first down otherwise expect to queue up as facilities not big enough for size of hotel, everything kept running out, no cups, milk available. Also if you are going out, leave early enough as you can wait 20 mins for lift to arrive and then visit all floors before getting to ground floor.
If you are planning for a theatre break and walking, would recommend somewhere nearer centre.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Andy C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is really nice to know that you found the room comfortable and noticed its cleanliness. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with breakfast. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in October when the children were on half term. The hotel is 1/2 mile from the train station meaning a taxi was necessary. In addition please note there are 2 holiday inn hotels in Kingscross, so need to remember to ask for Holiday Inn on Kings Cross Road. On arrival the hotel the hotel is very pleasant with good service from the reception staff and remember to ask for your free 5 day internet pass (this is when you are a holiday inn reward holder, or if you do not have it already, simply apply on the spot). The concierge was also very pleasant and helpful, however the bar area was not anything special and a little small. The food was also not great and poor value. The rooms which i had orders connecting rooms, were on the small side, and poor value again for the price I paid for the 2 rooms and 4 nights. Breakfast was continental and can pay extra to upgrade for a full english, which I did one morning and was hounded by one of the assistant managers for payment, this is supposed to be a 4 star! Not Impressed! However other staff were helpful.The pool in the hotel is also not free and a daily charge is necessary, again not ideal. Staff in the bar are also not customer focused and a uncomfortable feeling. I complained upon departure but little was done so I told them I would write to trip adviser.

In summary, not value for money, staff generally not great, everything is extra money and it is not best placed for most of London's attractions.

Room Tip: No views to suggest here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.


Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Very pleasant hotel, but a shame it was in the congestion zone and only by a few metres.

Very clean, comfortable beds. Did what is said on the tin. Ideal if you are not. Taking your car into town.

Breakfast is average and not cheap.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is situated about 5 mts walk from Kings Cross Railway station and bus stand so travelling around was very easy.
Buffet breakfast was superb with a good spread. The room was clean and very well done with very good service and facilities.
On the whole it was value for money and we enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend here. It is conveniently situated and the rooms were spacious and clean. We had an executive room which was on the top floor and it was lovely and quiet even though there were many families in th ehotel due to it being halfterm. All the staff were welcoming and helpful and the price of the stay was very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury

Address: 1 Kings Cross Rd, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London Kings Cross/Bloomsbury is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Holiday Inn London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Holiday Inn London Kings Cross has 405 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Charings bar is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or just your favourite drink. Rasa, our Indian Restaurant, serves authentic Kerala dishes, all are freshly prepared with the finest ingredients using traditional recipes. Carriages Brasserie is open throughout the day providing a range of refreshments from teas and coffees to full meals from a continental style menu.Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. E-mail and Internet services are chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.