We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kings Cross Rd, London WC1X 9HX, England (Clerkenwell)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #522 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Short bus or taxi ride from Kings Cross railway station. Reasonable taxi price and I was also able to use my oap bus pass. It was a belated joint special 40th and 60th birthday weekend in London for my daughter and I to see the Jersey Boys show which was fabulous. A trip to Harrods which is a must plus Covent Garden was great. Unusual living statues there. Bought lots of souvenirs and presents for the family. Hotel was faultless. Food and room service excellent. Rooms clean. Bed very comfy. Staff very friendly and polite. Omega Holidays Highly Recommend. A thoroughly enjoyable weekend which we shall do again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    682
    476
    173
    76
See reviews for
569
290
65
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked as part of a 'Superbreaks' weekend away with first class rail travel. A tourist and high turnover hotel , I wasn't expecting too much. It is a thing with me that hotels should live up to their promises...if they claim.to be luxury then they should be. Look at my other reviews- I have high expectations.

This hotel is a 15 minute walk from Kings Cross along pretty uneven pavements. So if you have suitcases just get a bus or a taxi. Reception on Friday night was busy but welcoming. All smiles in fact and that for me started things off well. The room, on the 8th floor, was large, well lit and air conditioned. It was clean and had a fridge which we stocked up with the cans we had bought with us.

Good bathrooms toiletries provided as usual in Holiday Inns.

Buffet continental breakfast was included and was a little sparse in choice but perfectly adequate.

The amazing factor for me was the almost universally pleasant attitude of the staff. From reception to the dining room and concierge everyone smiled and even made conversation. I can't believe how hard the staff have to work with the incredible turnover of guest that this hotel has.

We feel, after 30 years of weekend visits to London, that we have finally found a mid range hotel that we will return to. Well done all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights with husband and granddaughter. The hotel was great, a short bus ride to the station and great eating places 5 minutes up the road off Farringdon road. The pool facility was used every day sometimes twice. I shall certainly return here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I had to write this review, what an improvement has taken place in this hotel. The staff are at last great. I don't know what changed but it's a great place to be. The reception have humour at last, the bar staff are and have always been great.

Room service is great ( it's now not 24 hours) the menu is a bit repetitive and needs to change more often.

Breakfast is good the eggs are soft the bacon delicious.

The only criticism is the house keeping tapping on the door early in the morning, but then I should put out the don't disturb.
I have stayed in most of the holiday inn crowne plazza in uk, this hotel is the one I recommend in London. Practical clean great service you can't go wrong for business ( as I use it ) or for holiday/trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We didn't need much from this hotel. We were arriving from the train station, needed a good place to sleep and a good breakfast, and then needed to get back to the train station in the morning. We booked an advance purchase executive queen with English breakfast. Our understanding was that the hotel was no more than a 10 minute walk from the train station. However, after a six hour train ride the turned into eight hours, by the time we reached London we tried to catch a cab. They wouldn't take us because they said the trip was too short. All good, we said we'd hoof it. When we arrived, we were upgraded to an executive KING. Even better. When we got to the floor, there was no AC whatsoever in the halls, which were siiflingly hot. No problem with the AC in the room, but this meant every time we wanted to leave or return to the room, we had to go through the unacceptably hot hallway. In the room, there were two small bottles of wine on the credenza. In the fridge, there were two bottles of sparklng water, two bottles of OJ, and one candy bar. I called downstairs and asked, "of the things here to eat or drink, what's complimentary?" I was told, "the water." I asked, "What about the OJ?" and was told, "that too." I asked, "what about the candy bar?" I was told, "that too." Finally, I asked, "what about the two bottles of wine?" I was again told, "That too." All of that should have been much easier to discern, but we were extremely grateful for the two bottles of wine. The room was fine and larger than expected. The next morning, as we prepared to check out, I asked for a receipt, which I needed for work. I was told, "Since you prepaid, you can't get a receipt." That was a problem, and it was never properly resolved. We then went to the breakfast buffet, which is separated into two dining rooms: the continental dining room, and the full English dining room. There was an adequate variety of foods from which to choose, but we felt the food was generally tasteless. As we left the dining room, I attempted to bring a cup of coffee back to the room. As I began to walk down the steps from the dining room, the cup was snatched from my hands. I accept that the person who snatched away the cup was merely following rules, but it could have been done more tactfully. Once we were ready to go, I asked the front desk to call for a cab to help us get our luggage back to the train station. They said it was too short a trip and they wouldn't be able to get a cab. I pressed and said we really needed one because we couldn't lug our luggage back there, especially in the rain. So, they called a cab, and readily got one within five minutes. Ovearall, my impression is that this is a pretty decent hotel with a decent facility, but the service provided by staff was poor and begrudging. We would not return here for that reason. We regret we did not have time to use the fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear NoPegasus,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and the nice comment regarding the in-room perks.

However, We’re sorry we fel below your expectation regarding customer service from our staff which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was travelling with my infant child and my boyfriend. We booked the hotell on Hotwire and got a really good deal... the hotell was at best satisfactory. For London the room we got was pretty big for London standards, I have stayed in several hotels which have definately been better but often not larger.
The hotel is an old American style hotel. The beds were ok, there was a sofa bed which we didn't use to sleep in but it was nice to sit on in the evenings when our baby was sleeping. There was no minibar, there was a couple of bottles of water and a bottle of juice which was for free and some biscuits, coffee and tea but that was that. I am not sure if we could have requested a full minibar or not, but the whole thing was a bit weird. Internet is super expensive which always annoys me....
Both family and business hotel, so I would not have stayed for business unless the location made a lot of sense. For tourists new to London the location is not good, for me whom have lived in London many years it was good as I know how to get around.. and what to avoid.

Room Tip: As high as possible and away from the roads if possible very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear kj11an,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding internet access. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

situated 15 mins walk from Russell Sq. underground, I would vouch that this is a more leisure orientated solution. Don't get me wrong, this is a notch above the usual IHG offering, with good quality property, albeit quiet restaurant and inefficient lifts. Room size relatively small, but equivalent of London standard (a la The Cumberland). Can't rate restaurant/breakfast as never ate, but reception staff were consistently warm and efficient.
For the business traveller, the location is neither one thing nor the other!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear phileasfoggtmc,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury

Address: 1 Kings Cross Rd, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London Kings Cross/Bloomsbury is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Holiday Inn London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Holiday Inn London Kings Cross has 405 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Charings bar is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or just your favourite drink. Rasa, our Indian Restaurant, serves authentic Kerala dishes, all are freshly prepared with the finest ingredients using traditional recipes. Carriages Brasserie is open throughout the day providing a range of refreshments from teas and coffees to full meals from a continental style menu.Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. E-mail and Internet services are chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.