We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid three star, no more, no less” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza London Kensington to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #176 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Solid three star, no more, no less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

my family & I recently stayed at the cap Kensington London.
The exterior is a beautiful 18 th century Victorian building but getting inside was a challenge if you have strollers or if your wheel chaired inclined.

The location is ideal as its two minutes from Gloucester tube station and 5 minutes from Kensington park where prince William resides.

The walls are thin, you can hear the next door TV playing, the carpets are old and hard to maneuver a stroller on and the restaurant is not busy at all.
Overall, the price fits the location but not the quality of stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    614
    158
    29
    14
See reviews for
631
415
78
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is lovely inside, and perfect for the tube. All the staff were very helpful, and couldn't do enough for you. The restaurant is excellent, and would definitely recommend eating there. The pub across the road is a good busy pub, if you fancy a change of scene from the hotel bar.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Laurie Anne S,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza London Kensington.
We are glad that your stay was great and our staff made your experience even more enjoyable.
We are looking to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful neighborhood, walk to 3 major museums, 3 minutes to Starbucks, also gorgeous grocery, loads of restaurants, ,beautiful 15 min walk into Kensington Palace gardens, and Palace, just across the street from Tube with all major lines there, so easy jump to all of London, all that and a peaceful, uncrowded area, very upscale. We visited the theatre district and area around Buckingham Palace and it was a crowded, dirtier, area, so to return to our clean and less hectic surroundings was so relaxing. Will never look for a different hotel in London!

Room Tip: Such a wonderfully quiet room in the back facing the garden/ window opens! We had 3rd floor, facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Elizabeth S,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza London Kensington and your great feedback.
We are glad that your stay was enjoybale and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This Crowne Plaza was recently remodeled so the rooms are nice and the lobby is comfortable. The stAff was very attentive and helpful. The rear garden is beautiful and a rare find in London. It is close to the underground and museums. Being a stone's throw from Hyde Park provide a great venue for exercise and strolling.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear tommyboy1959,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza London Kensington as your London destination.
We are very glad that your stay was great and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is modern, corporate and business orientated. Small rooms, air con wouldn't work well. Breakfast solid B, service a bit slow in the morning. Bar was uneventful, cold and functional however bar staff were terrific. Location fair but not a lot around you in the way of choice, one pub. Probably would go more English less generic next time. Again, cold is a good summing up.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear croakies,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay. I'm really sorry that your stay was average and you had some issue regarding size of the bedrooms and A/C.

Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss any further your stay on joanna.witkowska@ihg.com

Kind Regards
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Kensington for a few days while traveling on business. In addition to the business, I had one day for fun/sightseeing. The hotel is located directly across from Gloucester Road tube station on the Piccadilly Line so getting all around London was very easy. The staff were very helpful and friendly from check-in through to check-out. The rooms are well-appointed, stylish and clean. My room was directly on Cromwell Road which you would think would have been noisy, but it was silent due to the double set of windows they use. While I was there, there was a meeting or conference going on. The facilities for meetings seemed to be excellent. There is a nice outside courtyard in the back. We were sitting out there in early evening having a beer and we saw a fox, right there in Central London. I would definitely choose this hotel on my next stay in London.

Room Tip: Save money by taking the tube to and from the airport. In the end, it will be less hassle and does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Dave B,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza London Kensington. We are glad that our staff made your staff even more enjoyable.
Our bedrooms has been redecorated recently included corridors. In the back of the hotel is beautiful private garden.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed Easter Mondy had a lovely refurbished room on 4th Floor
Everything was so clean and new. Bathroom was great loads of nice tolietries. We had dinner in restaurant which was lovely. Nice bar stting atea and a garden out the back. The staff were friendly and helpful. Was good value for Kensington area would stay again

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Melissameg,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza London Kensington and your great review with score 5 of 5.
We are glad that your stay was excellent and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#134 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
#152 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.