We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza London Kensington to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #176 of 1,065 Hotels in London
1 review
“Hotel is highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked a duplex Suite which is really spacious with bedroom on the 2nd level; staircase is a bit steep though. Hotel is 5 mins walk to pick-up/drop-off area for 11am Bus to Bicester Village Premium Outlet. Tickets are available at Concierge. They are very happy to help. After a tiring day of shopping, we decided to just have dinner at Umami...they serve nice "Laksa". We requested extra spicy "beef rendang", Malaysian Executive Chef was very obliging and made sure our rendang was spicy and "lemak" enough. Thanks Darren. Also thanks to Arman at the Hotel Lounge for that nice cup of coffee every morning of our 5-day stay. Hotel Staff are warm, polite and efficient. Hotel is highly recommended.









  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear jocelynchong,

Thank you very much for your comments on our website. We are glad that you has a wonderful time with us.
We will pass the compliments to Arman and Darren. Our staff is always there to anticipate guest needs and make sure guest stay is a fantastic experience.
I will recommend Umami- Asian style cuisine restaurant open for lunch and dinner.

We are looking forward to see you in the future.
Best Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    559
    148
    28
    14
See reviews for
584
383
71
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed here recently with work. There are a number of similar hotels in the area and I would rate this amongst the best. The staff here are all very helpful and friendly. The room I had was very comfortable with seemingly new fixtures and fittings. The breakfast meal had lots to offer including fresh fruit which is seemingly impossible to get in London.

The hotel is also very close to the Gloucester Rd tube station which gives access to the Picadilly, Central and District lines. The area of Kensington also has lots to offer tourists given its location to major attractions.

The free in room wifi is also very appreciated.

Overall, a very comfortable, pleasant hotel with no obvious drawbacks. I would certainly stay here before I'd book into other nearby properties.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Des_traveller,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Kensington as your final destination in London.
We are glad that you had a great experience with us.
Our staff is always there to anticipate guest needs and make sure guest stay is enjoyable.
The hotel is located in heart of Kensington area with easy access to local transportation. In our area there are plenty of restaurants including UMAMI -Asian style cuisine restaurant, coffee shops and bars.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.
Best Regards

Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Comfortable hotel, good, clean modern rooms. Ordered room service - lovely and very good service. Right across the road from Gloucester Road station. Front desk were helpful.

I also used the gym which is unmanned but has the basic equipment you'd need.

Overall, it wasn't overwhelming or WOW!, but I'll definitely return. Good value for a London hotel and has everything you'd expect from a Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear JoGreenwood,

Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing Crowne Plaza London Kensington.
We are glad that your stay was excellent. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.
Thank you very much for feedback about our staff, will be address to appropriate department.
Best Regards

Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our first time at this hotel, and I'd stay again, the room accommodate our family of 4 fairly comfortably.

Just over the road from Gloucester Tube Station, and a zone 1 position keeping tube costs down, everywhere very easily within 10-20 minutes, only a 5 minute walk to the Natural History Museum, 15 minutes to Harrods.

The room was kept clean, the staff polite. The room was very very warm, and the air con could maybe do with a service, we just left the window ajar to keep cool, not a biggie.

Breakfast was a bit of an issue, it was school holidays, so we didn't mind having to wait a bit, but little things started to bother us after 3 days, we only got toast once in three days even after asking about three different servers everyday.

Overall good stay, very convenient, clean and good value.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear markfromcleveland,

Thank you very much for your comments and choosing Crowne Plaza London Kensington.
We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and we are looking forward to welcome you back.
Our family rooms- deluxe rooms can accommodate up to 4 adults ( or 2 adults +2 children).
The hotel is located in heart of Kensington area with easy access to local transport.
Our staff is always there to anticipate guest needs and make sure guest stay is enjoyable.
I'm really sorry for the inconvenience with breakfast issue, will be address to appropriate departments to improve the standard of breakfast.

Best Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went to London with our grown up children for a birthday treat. Prices were good for Valentines weekend.; two rooms, a two and a three.
We were up graded to suite at checkin! We didn't request it but ask and they can only say no! This was brilliant as the five of us could sit in the evening and have a drink in our pyjamas. There is a Waitrose over the road so you can get anything you want. Also within 100 yard is Gloucester Road Tube station and you are on a Main road with buses going everywhere.
Hotel has a smallish reception area and the Bar and eating areas are adjoining. They have a specialist Asian Restaurant on site and was very busy both nights.
Our suite was on two levels with two Bathrooms. Both well appointed and they had all the individual toilettes you would expect from a 4 Star Hotel and very nice they were. Two TVs and rare these days; free wifi, free tea and coffee and free water and chocolate bars! I loved this. Stayed at a Hilton recently and wifi was £15 a day!
Bed was large and comfortable and although we were on the first floor and looking onto Cromwell Road, there was absolutely no noise whatsoever from the traffic.
Staff were polite and helpful and we enjoyed cocktails one night before setting off.
All in all we loved staying here and will come again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Patsy9,

Thank you very much for great comments about our hotel, facilities. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcome you back.
Our hotel is located in heart of Kensington area with many restaurants, bars and coffee shops. In our hotel we have great Asian cuisine restaurant Umami, open for lunch and dinner and also bar and lovely garden.
Our staff is always there to anticipate guest needs and make sure guest stay is enjoyable.
Kind Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I spent just a night in London after a business trip in another town and was very glad I chose this hotel. The location was excellent, as it was just a short 3-minute walk to the Gloucester Road tube station, which is also along the Picadilly line that goes to the airport. I had one piece of big luggage so this was a good thing. I also liked that there is a supermarket so close by for me to get supplies. Thumbs up for the room and breakfast. I will certainly consider staying here again the next time I visit London.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mr Richardnng,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Kensington. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is located in heart of Kensington area with easy access to buses and underground. There are good choice of restauarnts/ bars/ coffee shops with lovley Asian style Umami restaurant in our hotel.
We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and as a Platinum IHG member, I can compare against a number of other properties - the welcome was underwhelming and the Crowne Plaza in Shudehill Manchester is excellent by comparison. I saw on my app that I had been upgraded from a standard room to a King Club - I did have a King room but nothing confirmed it was a Club room in terms of the usual labelling. I didn't get access to the Club lounge and paid an extra premium (£30 a day). The Receptionist told me I could have a complimentary drink but when I entered the lounge the host explained he had stopped serving - I had a soft drink and watched him serve other guests wine and asked him if he could reconsider and a beer was brought. The room was good, the food was good and the rest of the staff were friendly. I would however stay here again as the proximity to Paddington station and the Gloucester Road underground makes the location very appealing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mr. Jonathan,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Kensington. I'm really sorry for the misunderstanding with Platinum benefits. I will pass the comments to front office team to explain better the benefits/ upgrade upon check in. On availability we are trying to upgrade Platinum members to better category of the room but access to club lounge is additional fee.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.
Regards

Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.