We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza London Kensington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #146 of 1,073 hotels in London
Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Good crown plaza
Beside tube station
Has no car park and where you can use is expensive
Staff friendly in general and helpful
One female at reception has to practice how to smile everyone else are good
Food good but expensive

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Vacationerfmsing
Thank you for leaving feedback of our hotel, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful.
I am surprised that you found the food expensive as our starters are priced from £3 and main courses start at only £9 in our Umami restaurant. This is really very good value in London.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    537
    135
    28
    18
See reviews for
529
346
69
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with wife and 2 kids. All staff were so attentive from the first minute we walked in. Hotel location was great and hotel itself was really nice.

Reception very friendly. We waited for only a few mins until the concierge actually found someone to come our and serve us. Concierge/reception were excellent. My 9yr old daughter had a headache while we were in the club lounge and when we asked reception if they had any medicine they offered to go out and get some. They returned quickly and then offered hope that she would be better quickly. She soon improved. But the same person also asked how she had been next morning! Nice touch.

Just a really nice hotel made by the staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Dazza Gee 68
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you found our staff so helpful as it is the staff that makes the difference between a good and a great hotel. I do hope you and your family will be back with us again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This Crowne Plaza is well located and stylish. My husband and I were severely disappointed with the Club Lounge. The bacon was unpallable, it was dried out and curled at the edges. It had been there since first thing in the morning and not replaced due to the Club Lounge's exclusivity, there was not a large turnover of food. We politely asked the male member of staff on duty if it was possible to have an omlette instead and he told us that we would have to pay extra! This is totally unacceptable and we refused on principle.
We then returned at 12.30pm for "lunch time snacks." There was no member of staff in the Club Lounge and no water in the coffee percolator and no source of water for the guests to do this themselves. Two business men arrived shortly after us and they were stunned that there was no coffee available. They then went on a search for a biscuit and the cupboard was bare. The two businessmen were very disgruntled as were we. Another family appeared with rucksacs ready for "lunch time snacks;" they brazenly opened all the drawers and cupboards, something we were too embarrassed to do but they only found some bottles to drink. We thought that there would have been some lunch time snacks at 12.30pm, particularly as breakfast was such a major disappointment. We feel cheated. Our enjoyment of our break was marred by the Club Lounge which was very upsetting. My husband bought a couple of sandwiches in Waitrose instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Caelis1
I am so sorry to read that our Club Lounge was not properly serviced on the day of your stay with us, this is certainly not our standard.
Our Club Lounge is normally staffed in the mornings and evenings 7 days a week and is checked regularly throughout the day by our restaurant and concierge staff.
Like all Crowne Plaza Club lounges, we offer a complimentary breakfast. We actually offer a limited selection of hot items as well as the standard continental breakfast, and a wider choice is available in our main restaurant.
Please be assured that your experience is not indicative of the normally high standards set at this hotel.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel situated 2 mins walk from Gloucester Road station.

Pros
Excellent customer service
Modern/clean rooms
Complimentary water/kitkat/biscuits
Extended check out till 2pm - no hassle
Soft bed sheets

Cons
No free wifi!? £15 per day

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Kellyjcook
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found so many "Pros's".
Our wi-fi is priced in line with most other London Hotels ( most hotels do charge for wi-fi as the system is a lot more costly to install and maintain than the lower band width domestic wi-fi connections that most of us have in our homes). However, I am pleased to say we are now offering complimentary wi-fi on a trial basis until April.
I do hope you will be back with us again soon to take advantage of this offer.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My family of four spent a week in the Crowne Plaza in Kensington (12/28-1/5). We are seasoned travelers and found the hotel to be well-situated in a great neighborhood, directly across the Gloucester Rd tube stop and within walking distance of a number of cafes, restaurants, and shops. It was clean, safe, and comfortable with larger than average (for London) rooms, good beds, and double-glazed windows. The concierge staff was terrific, providing us with good dining and transportation suggestions as well as making reservations for us. The check-in staff made sure that our two rooms were in close proximity. On two occasions, our magnetic keys failed but were quickly replaced. My only serious complaint concerns the wifi. The hotel provides two computers in the lobby which were very slow and usually occupied. When we did buy an hour of access, the signal was too weak to be of use. There are local cafes with wifi, but given most travelers' reliance on the internet it would have been nice to have it in our rooms.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden - beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear acornlover
I am glad to hear that you found our hotel so clean, comfortable, convenient and spacious.
Whilst we do provide 2 PC's in reception and two in the Club Lounge for guests use, we do also have wi-fi throughout the hotel, including in all bedrooms. During January, February and March, we are offering this wi-fi free of charge.
The service does have a high band width and is regularly checked to ensure the speed is sufficiently fast. I apologise if you were having difficulties accessing the wi-fi, if we had been aware of the issue we could have resolved it.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This convenient hotel only 40 minutes from Heathrow was all we expected from a hotel of this category. It was very clean, the food was good but the quality of the bar and restaurant staff was amongst the best we have ever experienced. They remembered our names and what our preferences were!
The other hotel staff were very helpful efficient and courteous.
How nice to have such a base to enjoy a short visit to London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear William M
I am delighted to hear that our restaurant and bar staff looked after you so well. We are very lucky to have a great team here as it is after all, the service that makes the difference between a good and a great hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you want a hotel near to the museums (Natural History, Science, V&A) then this is ideal. You are in easy walking distance of all of these and Hyde Park, the Albert Hall, the Albert Memorial and many other places of interest and just a little bit further.

The room was very comfortable with a huge bed, a good bathroom with both bath and shower (and lots of nice bathing materials) and all the usual things. Free wifi was very useful but it seemed a bit slow.

We had a "club" room which gave us access to the club lounge. This is really worth paying the extra for. In the lounge you can have breakfast in peace, sit quietly during the day and meet for free drinks and appetisers in the evening. All very civilised!

The food was very good too. The breakfasts were great and really set you up for the day. The "fusion" style restaurant was also good as was the room service.

Staff were friendly and efficient, really very good.

This isn't cheap but in it's price range strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a club room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Covenant
Thank you for your feedback, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In response to other reviewers, we ae now offering free wi-fi to all guests on a trial basis until the end of March.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#130 Business Hotel in London
#133 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.