We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service sets a High Standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza London Kensington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #148 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer service sets a High Standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This convenient hotel only 40 minutes from Heathrow was all we expected from a hotel of this category. It was very clean, the food was good but the quality of the bar and restaurant staff was amongst the best we have ever experienced. They remembered our names and what our preferences were!
The other hotel staff were very helpful efficient and courteous.
How nice to have such a base to enjoy a short visit to London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear William M
I am delighted to hear that our restaurant and bar staff looked after you so well. We are very lucky to have a great team here as it is after all, the service that makes the difference between a good and a great hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    526
    134
    26
    14
See reviews for
565
357
69
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you want a hotel near to the museums (Natural History, Science, V&A) then this is ideal. You are in easy walking distance of all of these and Hyde Park, the Albert Hall, the Albert Memorial and many other places of interest and just a little bit further.

The room was very comfortable with a huge bed, a good bathroom with both bath and shower (and lots of nice bathing materials) and all the usual things. Free wifi was very useful but it seemed a bit slow.

We had a "club" room which gave us access to the club lounge. This is really worth paying the extra for. In the lounge you can have breakfast in peace, sit quietly during the day and meet for free drinks and appetisers in the evening. All very civilised!

The food was very good too. The breakfasts were great and really set you up for the day. The "fusion" style restaurant was also good as was the room service.

Staff were friendly and efficient, really very good.

This isn't cheap but in it's price range strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a club room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Covenant
Thank you for your feedback, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In response to other reviewers, we ae now offering free wi-fi to all guests on a trial basis until the end of March.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been coming to Crowne Plaza Kensington for a few years now everytime we visit London (once a year) and this time were very disappointed especially in contrast with our great experience at the CP St james a week earlier than our stay.
The internet is now charged 15GBP/24h and limited to 3 devices !!!! it is cheaper to get a vodafone data plan ! the breakfast is absolutely overpriced at 17GBP for just cereals and orange juice, a total rip off... Room decoration in dire need of a refurbishment.
Service has gone a bit downhill as well with reception not even helping with carrying heavy suitcases down the steps...
Only improvement is the bar area and its food, great lively atmosphere, reasonably priced and good quality open until 11pm or so.
Also, the Priority Reward Club is a difficult thing to get benefits from as all hotels are in fact franchises and cannot help you in case there are any problems... We never received our card the first time and have been missing out on many years of 'loyalty points' and now they cannot find our records anymore and we have to apply again from scratch and they spell my name wrong and still no card in sight.... sigh ... we will think twice before we book here again...

Room Tip: ask for a garden view, it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Lauradezil
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. The internet charge has in fact always been in place, although we did install wi-fi throughout the hotel last year - on your previous visits it would have been a hard wired broadband connection in the bedrooms, although still charged for. We do offer Gold and Platinum members of Priority Club complimentary wi-fi as we do to all guests booking a Club room or suite.
Our breakfast is as you say, priced at £17.95 , although vouchers are sold at a discounted price if you buy them at the time of check-in,( and children under 14 eat free so this makes it very good value for families). Our breakfast is a buffet from which you can eat as much as you like from a whole range of hot and cold items, so much more than just orange juice and cereal.
I note that you prefer Crowne Plaza St James, and I appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Crowne Plaza St James is a very good hotel although much more traditional in it's style and decor than our hotel. Our hotel has been recently refurbished in a very contemporary style.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. Great location, right opposite the tube station. Walking distance to hyde park, knightsbridge etc.

The hotel staff were welcoming at check-in, but despite being platinum members there was no upgrade offered. We did get an early check-in at 9am which was greatly appreciated.

The rooms are quite small and dark (or at least ours was, sixth floor). But comfortable and adequate as a base and place to sleep. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food.

We have stayed in the Crowne Plaza St James, and personally if I had to pick between the two for a future stay it would be St James, which also has a great location and a slightly more grand feel to it.

But overall a good stay and a comfortable hotel!

Room Tip: Be careful of the 6th Floor - very small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Binash
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that when you arrived we were unable to give you an upgraded room. As I am sure you are aware, one of the benefits of Platinum Priority Club status, is an upgrade to the next available room type to that booked, subject to availability at the time of arrival. As our Club rooms and suites are very popular, we do not always have them available to offer as complimentary upgrades. To be sure of getting one of these rooms, I would reccommend you book one. I am glad that we were able to offer you an early check-in at 9am, which is another benefit of your membership, as is the complimentary wi-fi that we offer Priority Club members in this hotel.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during December 2012. I was not impressed for the facilities available in comparision with the price of the hotel. This was the third hotel I stayed at during my time in London and I found that the two other hotels far surpassed the Crown Plaza on price, convenience, comfort and location.

If you are staying here for a short period and get a good deal on price you should be fine. But if you intend on staying more than one or two nights I would think again for two reasons.

One: Even though this hotel is close to Gloucester Road tube station (Picadilly line - with direct connection to LHR) there are stairs you need to carry your suitcase up/down to access the platform.

Two: Wifi access needs to be purchased by the hour. Most hotels these days offer free wifi, so if you are here for more than a few days the 8 pounds each night will add up.

If you can cope with these issues then you should otherwise be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Meiow
I am sorry that you have downgraded your review of our hotel due to there being a flight of steps between the platform and the lift in Gloucester Road tube station. Unfortunately this is not something we are in a position to do anything about, although our porters will always be pleased to help you with your luggage, even accross to the station. Most guests find the convenience of having the tube ststion right accross from the hotel, a big plus point .
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Love the location and overall a safe option. We were surprised that wifi was not free when the hotel across the road charged us less for a bigger room with bigger beds and free wifi. The lobby provided slower Internet access than dial up, and we were then charged £13 for a local phone call.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Redrosehorse
I am sorry that your opinion of the hotel was spoiled by having to pay for wi-fi. Our charges are pretty standard accross most London hotels, although we do offer free wi-fi to guests in Club rooms and suites as well as to all our Gold and Platinum Priority Club members.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Pros:
- Fantastic location - literally 2 minutes from the Gloucester tube station (Picadilly line)
- Direct tube line from Heathrow to Gloucester - amazing!
- Beautiful neighborhood
- Right across the street from Waitrose - go there to pick up a pack of water and snacks
- Right across the street from a Boots store
- A few good breakfast places right around the corner; don't bother with the hotel for breakfast

Cons:
- No free Wi-Fi anywhere (and computers in lobby are dreadfully slow, almost as if CP giving you no choice but to pay for their expensive Wi-Fi service - just go to Starbucks around the corner - free, fast Wi-Fi there!)
- The shower. Water gets everywhere. The shower handles are counter-intuitive - try not to burn yourself. For a short girl, you risk slipped and falling every time you try to get out of the tub.
- Potentially small windows depending on your room - which ours was. In fact, make that window, singular. One tiny, tiny window overlooking the church. We almost never saw the sun, and that wasn't entirely because of the weather.
- Beds weren't very comfortable, but after walking from 9am-9pm, you don't care much.

Overall - LOVED the convenience and the location, I'd book again for that alone - which brought my review from a 3 to a 4. But don't expect to be awed by the hotel itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear KK1106
I am sorry that you were disappointed at having to pay for wi-fi 9 although the charge is p[retty standard in most London hotels), we do however give free wi-fi to guests in Club Rooms and suites as well as to all our Gold and Platinum Priority Club Members - why not sign up and become a member.
Our club rooms also have separate shower cubicles and baths which you may find easier than the over-bath showers in our standard rooms.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in London
#125 Family Hotel in London
#130 Business Hotel in London
#143 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.