We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza London Kensington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #145 of 1,073 hotels in London
Torrance, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked two rooms for our family of six. I had the #520 and it was excellent space wise. We all have a garden view and it was quiet. Love the bathroom! The service was amazing! They arranged my transfer which was a big deal because there was a few of us in this trip. The Location was excellent! It is centralize to a lot of the sites and the Underground is right across the street. Not to mention, walking distance to the Natural Museum & Science Museum.

Room Tip: if you have a family of four. request room #520. Beds are doubles. The space is huge. A lot of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Luvtotravel1988
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back again soon. Many of our bedrooms do overlook our 1 acre garden, but the rooms facing the front of the hotel are double glazed and so are also very quiet.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    624
    502
    131
    26
    14
See reviews for
532
348
69
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the best hotel in London. great location, great service, great staff, great food....I could go on and on....try it! If you are a priority club member they will give you that extra care and plenty of benefits

Room Tip: duplex suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Bustrav44
Thank you for your review of our hotel , we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope you will be back again soon. I hope you had an opportunity to try our new Asian restaurant, Umami, diring your visit.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Have stayed at several Crowne Plaza's and this is one of the nicest. The hotel has a nice blend of modern decor and features whilst being set in a traditional 'old style London' building. The staff were excellent and whilst we didnt eat there the bar was welcoming as were the bar staff.

Our room (with two queen beds) was spacious and comfortable with all the acroutrements you would expect from this brand

The hotel is very well situated for West London, museums such as V&A, Natural History and Science museums are a short walk as is shopping in Knightsbrifge (Harrods, Harvey Nic's, Sloane Square etc). If you are going to the theatre, again only a short tube ride away (10-14 mins)

The only thing that stops this being a five star is that it is just so damn expensive, like most things in London, but no worse than Paris or Rome, probably less expensive than Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear BigDad 62
Thank you for you review of our hotel and I am pleased that you thought it was one of the nicest you have stayed in. The hotel is in fact a purpose built hotel behind a Regency facade that is protected.
I am sorry that you felt the hotel was too expensive ( although I can assure yo that it is competitive in comparrison to other London hotels). The best rates can aleays be found on our own website.
I do hope you will return again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Booked 2 Club rooms for 3 nights directly though hotel 2 months in advance, one with 2 double bed and another with King bed with request for close rooms. However, was informed only during check-in that they do not have King bed club rooms and double bed club rooms on the same level and suggested that they change the double bed club room to a deluxe room if we want our rooms on the same floor. This is ridiculous, I paid for a Club room and they feel that they are doing me a service by lowering my room class !!

Upon entry to my Club Double bed room, there is a smell of vomit. I then asked for a change of room but they said that they do not have one avaliable and can only ask housekeeping to spray some air freshener. The smell went away after the spray though. There are also stains on carpets and funiture do not look as new / clean as other Club rooms I have stayed.

The next surprise I get is that no provision of disposable bedroom slippers and that there is only 3 pieces of tissue left in my newly checked in Club room. Slippers were however later provided upon request.

Service at the Club Lounge, however, is excellent with a good selection of drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Girder 22
I was very soory to read that you were not able to get the rooms you believe you had booked with us. Our club rooms in fact all have one king size bed. We do not have any Club rooms with 2 double beds. Our Deluxe rooms all have 2 double beds. Our reservations team are all aware of our room types and as these are pre programmed in to our computer system, it ios not possible to book anything else. Please acept my sincre apologies if anyone gave you the impression that the two double bedded room would be a Club room rather than a Deluxe room.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during half term with our 4 year old. room was ver tired and a bit dated but reasonably clean. The reason I've scored cleanliness low is due to the awful smell coming from the bathroom. It smelled like drains or mustiness. Having complained (twice) they did offer to move us at 9.00pm when we were trying to settle our daughter to bed. We did move but it was only next door as it didn't seem to smell. However, the smell soon appeared in the same way. Wonder if they'd tried to spray and mask it initially. We figured it was due to the fans not working in the bathrooms. After the first night we didn't bother to complain again as we were out all day and sprayed with complimentary pillow spray?! Overall breakfast ok but if you get there towards the end of service there won't be much left as it doesn't seem to get replenished. No croissants or bacon left when we arrived at 9.30. Service was hit and miss when ordering coffee, asking for milk etc. We had a two double bed room for 3 of us. Beds a bit on the small side for a hotel of this cost but I guess that's what we booked. Beds were hard though. We thought we got a good price of £370 for 2 nights inc breakfast, given the location but wouldn't stay again. Quick lunch at Paul's across the road recommended though and it's only a short walk to museums.

Room Tip: Our smelly rooms were on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Doughgirl
I was so sorry to read of your disapppointment with your stay here. I have asked our maintenance team to identify which room you were staying in and to check that the bathroom extract fan is working properly. Please accept my sincere apologies that you had to move rooms at a time when you were putting your daughter to bed.
Our twin rooms ( which you were staying in) all have 2 standard double beds. However, for larger beds, our Club rooms and suites have either king size or super king beds.
I do hope that you will try our hotel again so that we can restore your confidence in our rooms.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 7 nights at this great London hotel. It was a return visit for us, as we had stayed there in 2011 while my husband was in London on business.
This trip was a vacation and we were both pleased that the hotel had remained the same since our previous visit.
We arrived early having had an overnight flight to London, and, although, we not able to enter our room as soon as we arrived, the front desk staff was more than helpful, storing our luggage etc, until we were able to check into our room.
We chose a club room on the 4th floor with a view of the back garden and were not disappointed. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a nice , large shower and tub. Having access to the Club Lounge was excellent for us, as we had breakfast there most days... nice hot eggs, sausages etc to chose from, and in the evening we were able to have drinks before dinner..
The staff were all friendly and welcoming and kindly arranged for a private car to take us to Heathrow on our final morning there. I highly recommend this hotel either for business or pleasure. We had a great time and will definitely be back next time we are in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Middleastgirl
I was so pleased to read from your review that you enjoyed your second visit to the hotel and that you appreciated the club room with access to our exclusive club lounge.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit and a fourth ...
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Devon, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night only, but it is literally across the road from Gloucester Road tube, and 5 minute walk from the Natural History Museum, and maybe 20 mins to Harrod (and I'm talking about walking with a 5 year old).

The room wasnt cheap, but was large and v clean with two double beds so was ideal, and the breakfast was great.

Prioity card holders (free to join, do it online before you book) get free access to the 24 hour priority lounge of reception, with free hot and soft drinks, and computer access.

Finally, you can dump your bags their early in the morning of check in before your room is ready, save you carrying them around town, and the same on the day of check out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear PaulC 1972
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit.
For the benefit of other readers, the Priority Lounge referred to is actually the Club Lounge. Access is free to all guests booking a Club room or a suite. The lounge is open 24 hours a day and offers a complimentary breakfast, hot and cold soft drinks all day and a complimentary bar and canapes early evening. Guests in Club rooms or suites also get free wi-fi throughout the hotel and use of both Mac and PC's in the Club Lounge.
Priority Club members earn points for every qualifying stay, as well as a range of other benefits depending on the level of membership.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#124 Family Hotel in London
#133 Business Hotel in London
#144 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.