We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden extras” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Kensington to your Saves list
Hilton London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #516 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden extras”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location for discovering London and is only a short walk from Shepherds Bush under and over ground stations. The staff were really very friendly and helpful and the hotel was neat and tidy with a good sized room which was equally well equipped.
My gripe is not particularly with the hotel itself but possibly more with the Hilton. We are regular travellers and are not surprised when a hotel takes our card details when we check in. However when I was told that my account would be debited £50 incase of charges or damages I was a little surprised but perhaps this was in the small print. I was also advised that if I made any charges to the room then a further £50 would be debited the next day.
When we woke on the day of departure we had a slip through the door for a fast check out the account had been debited £2.00 not a huge amount but I had not authorised this and was a little annoyed that it had been taken without my permission. It was the principle of it really. Reception staff dealt with this and assured me that my account would be credited with the full £50 but that this would take 3 working days. It didn't take 3 working days to take the money out of my account and so I was annoyed that I had to wait a total of 5 days before my money was returned.
As I say this was possibly an oversight on my part when reading the small print and in no way detracts from our stay but just a thought for anyone staying at the Hilton hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    930
    541
    181
    103
See reviews for
274
758
199
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Brilliant hotel to stay in for shopping, tube connections and value for money. Good comfy bed, decent bathroom and clean. Use of the spa included in the room price for honors members and a discounted breakfast price as an optional extra at reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Excellent weekend stay, modern room with all moderen comforts.
Hotel is located only a short walk to the tube station and is 15 mins on the train to the cente of London.
One of the best breakfasts going and a complemenatry bar from 6-7 pm in the busines suite is highly recommended.
Satff were very friendly and assisted where possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying once again at this fantastic hotel. All staff were very welcoming and made my husband and I feel at home. Kindly offered entry to the Executive Lounge, thank you Holly !! it was very much appreciated.

We look forward to returning later on in 2014, THANK YOU ALL Hilton Team, you are a credit to your hotel, keep up the great work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is that it is in a good location. There is a bus stop right outside with busses that will take you into central, to Camden, Notting Hill etc and shepherds bush tube stop less than 2 minutes away. A couple of minutes walk away is another good bus stop where you can get a bus to drop you right outside the V&A and Harrods.

We had a standard double room which was fine but a little overpriced in my opinion. The room wasn't very big and breakfast wasn't included in the price even though the website we booked through said it was. They asked for £20 each for breakfast on top of the £143 a night we'd already paid so we went elsewhere to eat. Overall the experience was fine but I've definitely stayed in nicer hotels for less money.

ALSO NOTE: there are no internal stairs in the building!! So if you don't like lifts, don't stay here!! (Just something I wish I'd known before booking).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights from 1-5th January 2014. Check in quick and easy as we arrived around 11pm. Room average size by London standards and clean. Free wifi in lobby but not in room despite being a rewards customer. Sleep quality terrible till staff sorted out a very hard bed so first two nights we were very tired, staff were very helpful to sort this out. Room was quiet and air con worked to control temperature, windows opened for fresh air which was great. Had interconnecting room with our two teenagers which was perfect.
Hotel is 5 minute walk from Shepherds Bush tube on the Central Line which is great for access to all sights. Turn left on leaving hotel, cross rd at roundabout, turn left and cross dual carriageway, keep left, walk down stairs and cross rd and voila, tube station and Westfield shopping centre with a cinema and restaurants are right there for your enjoyment.
If not eating breakfast in the Hotel (£12 if booked the night before) turn right and walk towards Holland Park tube station (10-15min walk) where there is a Paul bakery with a sit in area selling delicious fresh croissants, baguettes and artisan breads and cakes; a Patisserie Valerie doing breakfasts, lunches and superb, but very rich French patisserie; and a Giraffe local doing breakfasts for £6. There is also a local supermarket and a pub along the way.
Concierge didn't seem to know that Shepherds Bush was much closer than Holland Park tube and told us they were roughly the same walk, didn't use him again so not sure if this was a blip.
We would stay here again because of the location despite the sleep quality as hotel manager emailed me to say they had updated my profile to include extra padding on the bed in future stays.

Room Tip: If travelling with friends ask for interconnecting rooms. We were on third floor and room overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel 4-5 times and the experience was very good. The location is excellent, near the bus and subway stops, the area itself is very nice (typical London street), the mall nearby offers endless choice of shops and restaurants. Always, a preferred choice for a week-end in London.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton London Kensington is located close to a lot of London event venues and some great shopping too. Only about a 7-minute walk from Holland Park underground station and one of the main central tube lines, Hilton London Kensington is surrounded by places to eat, drink, shop, and watch bands. There is always comedy or music at the Hammersmith Apollo - a simple walk away, or sporting events at Wembley stadium - a short train ride away. And with the modern, well-stocked Westfield shopping center located just across the road, when you stay at Hilton London Kensington you can shop all day. Whatever you chose to do in your spare time, the hotel itself is bright and airy. All the rooms have an LCD flat screen TV and a mini bar. If you don’t want a night in, relaxing in your comfortable room and don’t want to venture too far either; choose to dine in the romantic West Eleven restaurant after making the most of the 24-hour gym and the relaxing sauna and steam room. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.