We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book a room that has been refurbished!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Kensington to your Saves list
Hilton London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Free Wifi
Ranked #526 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Brighton, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Book a room that has been refurbished!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

I booked the Hilton Kensington for a 1 night stay as I was attending a work party in town. The hotel's got a nice location near Holland Park, and outside the hotel looks OK too. Well, it's typical Hilton (never look very cool or trendy but you can spot the same "H" sign everywhere in the world). The lobby area was OK, tidy and no complaints. I was upgraded to the Executive floor but my room was still very small and very old-fashioned (decor wise). However, the hotel is undergoing a refurb as most of the floor was sealed away. I'm assuming and hoping that the room decor will be updated and made modern. I had a good stay, nothing to complain or rave about. The rates at the hotel are quite good so after the refurb, I may return!
The breakfast they provide at the Executive lounge was pretty good. I didn't visit the lounge in the evening so don't know about the canapes or cocktails.

  • Liked — Access to the Executive lounge
  • Disliked — Room decor
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    1,012
    589
    197
    113
See reviews for
305
827
211
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

If you like the Hilton chain, you will get what you expect, except the rooms are much smaller than in the US. My extended family and I stayed here and enjoyed the recently renovated rooms, and small, clean bathrooms. The restaurant is also decent, and there are nice areas to hang out with family. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Rooms were small, but that is expected in the UK.
  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

This hotel is located in the quiet residential area of Kensington (near Notting Hill). There are numerous pubs, shops, and restaurants in the area. It was sedate, but there was plenty to do.

Directly outside the hotel door is a stop for the numerous double-decker bus tours; tickets can be purchased at the consierge desk. There is a tube station about 10-12 blocks away from the hotel.

The rooms are quite small, but normal by European standards. We stayed in a "regular" Queen room and you could barerly walk between the edge of the bed and the wall. The television was hung on the wall in that space, so watch your head!

The breakfast buffet was incredible and was included in our price. It included traditional English breakfast foods (sausage, beans, eggs, tomato, etc.), American treats, and international foods such as fish, deli meats, etc. The value was great.

Internet is wired and quite expensive - about $20/day US. You can purchase pay-per-use cards from the front desk which allows you to use the internet from lobby computers.

We arrived at 11am after a 10-hour flight and were given a room immediately at no additional cost - that's worth it's weight in gold!

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Small Rooms
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

My stay was tainted by my estate agent booking me in for February 28th instead of January 28th.

The hotel was full but they found me a room at £169 instead of the £115 I did have. This room had to be a smoking room on a floor that was being refurbed. My room had no cold water and so no flushing toilet, no cold water to clean teeth and so I had to have a boiling shower.

The room smelt of smoke and the air con did nothing apart from keep me awake we the slashing light on the control.

The clock was wrong on the radio.

Room service brought me white wine instead of red wine for dinner.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlaston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

This hotel is your average typical chain hotel - but I would recommend it as it is just completing a complete renovation so standards are higher than some you may stay in. Good quality beds / linen, bathroom / towels / toiletries and a good supply of tea / coffee in the room - as you would expect. Don't bother paying extra for a more expensive room (try requesting an upgrade if you are a HHonors card holder) because all you get is a bath robe and slippers! High points are the breakfasts and the bar - where service is quick and efficient and the standard of food and drinks is good (can't comment on the food served in the hotel restaurant). The hotel offers parking - underground car park run by NCP - so a bit pricey but your car is safe! Don't forget that this part of Holland Park is now within the congestion zone! Hotel is easy to find and easy to navigate your way out of! Best of all Holland Park tube station is a 5 minute walk (10 minute stroll) so you're straight into town with no line changes in minutes. Try exploring Holland Park Avenue on the way to the tube - lots of top notch groceries (and a Tesco open til 11pm), cafes, bars etc, a superb bookshop (Daunts), hair / nail salons etc so everything you need is on the doorstep! The only low point is that this hotel is heavily used by flight staff and rooms often aren't ready unitl 4/5pm as the flight staff are still asleep! Try to get a guarantee that your room will be ready when you need it or demand a more expensive room! It works!

  • Liked — Quick easy access into town! Less city noise as a 'nice' area!
  • Disliked — Doesn't 'shine' - just a functional hotel but better than most!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here over New Year's and we had a great time. We arrived from Ireland at around ten o clock in the morning, very tired and one of staff member who was really nice let us check in to our room which we were delighted about!

The room was a bit cramped but we didn't mind as we had a lot of sight-seeing to do and we didn't intend on spending too much time there. We ate in the restaurant on New Year's Eve and it was absolutely delicious, very pricey but well worth it.

The Tube station is just a five minute walk from the hotel and there is also a bus stop with a frequent service just across the road. Also Hyde Park is a 15 minute walk away and nearby to this is the Science Museum, which is just fantastic!

London is the place to be for New Year's!!

  • Liked — The staff were very kind,friendly and informative.
  • Disliked — Room was a bit cramped and we couldn't find any stations on the TV for ages!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2007

I went to London for shopping for 3 days. I chose this hotel as it's in Kensington and a Hilton. The first 2 nights, my husband and I were on the 5th floor, renovated and clean, but the beds were too narrow. So, for the third night, we asked for a room with a double bed. We were given Room # 1078. The walls and corners of the bath tub were covered with mold, the sink had black mold belt around it. I closed the bathroom door, but couldn't opened it from inside. The door looked like it had water damage. I called out my husband, he opened it from outside. I wondered what would have happened if I were alone!

I reported the bathroom condition at the front desk, was told the room was one of the best rooms on the floor.

  • Liked — room on the fifth floor was very good.
  • Disliked — moldy bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton London Kensington is located close to a lot of London event venues and some great shopping too. Only about a 7-minute walk from Holland Park underground station and one of the main central tube lines, Hilton London Kensington is surrounded by places to eat, drink, shop, and watch bands. There is always comedy or music at the Hammersmith Apollo - a simple walk away, or sporting events at Wembley stadium - a short train ride away. And with the modern, well-stocked Westfield shopping center located just across the road, when you stay at Hilton London Kensington you can shop all day. Whatever you chose to do in your spare time, the hotel itself is bright and airy. All the rooms have an LCD flat screen TV and a mini bar. If you don’t want a night in, relaxing in your comfortable room and don’t want to venture too far either; choose to dine in the romantic West Eleven restaurant after making the most of the 24-hour gym and the relaxing sauna and steam room. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.