We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip in January” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Hilton London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RJ, England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #530 of 1,049 Hotels in London
1 review
“Trip in January”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in January 2013. It was our second stay in the hotel. Very good location near far from shops and one step to Hyde park. Of course it is three stars but we can recomend it to whome who need good bad in good place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sergey M,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, it was particularly pleasing to hear that you found the hotel well located and I agree that the hotel offers a great base to explore London.

I hope we can see you again soon at Hilton London Hyde Park.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    438
    269
    116
    74
See reviews for
150
359
120
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Booked this with a friend following our visit to the V & A, sat in the bar area which was ok but definitely not as nice as sitting in a restaurant which has been the case with other hotels. We sat at a small table for 2 and the waiter brought another small table and placed it beside us to put the food on.

The food was good and plenty to fill you but what let it down was the fact we felt as though we were on an aeroplane and having airplane food!! The food was delivered in a square box containing a number of sections each one having either sandwiches, scones, jam and cream etc. in them. Problem was the sections didn't come out which, as it was on the other table, didn't make cream and jam on the scones very easy to do!

The waiter was on his own serving the bar as well as the afternoon patrons, he was very pleasant but had his work cut out!

None of the above negatives are major but the standard definitely didn't meet those of past experiences,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sarona,

Thank you for reviewing your experience of Afternoon Tea at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the quality of the food that we have on offer, though I can appreciate that this may not have been displayed in the way that you were expecting. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly seek ways to make our products more appealing.

I hope that you would visit us again sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was the first place we had to stay on our Europe trip.
We were a bit stressed about getting lost, but the hotel is located right next to Queensway train station with Bayswater (on a different line) close by too. This is helpful for travelling to different parts of London.

The room had all the basic necessities and the staff were helpful and very friendly. Checking in was stress free and they had our rooms available early which was nice coming off a flight from Australia !

Rooms are basic and clean and a great home base if you plan on doing some sight seeing and shopping. The hotel is situated overlooking Kensington gardens. There are plenty of places to eat near by including local cafes or some more well known chains such as Starbucks all a stone throws away.
Buffet breakfast was great with every type of breakfast covered and coffees being made to order too.

All in all a great stay and we have rebooked another two nights in early February before heading back home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear PKM1988,

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us earlier this month. I was most happy that you found the location of the hotel and service from our team to be excellent and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next month.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesgrave
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was my first time in the Hyde Park Hilton which is on the corner of Bayswater road and Queensway facing Hyde Park and directly next to Queensway tube station with Bayswater tube around 200m away.

The reception area is very small and the receptionists are sitting at desks so not sure if this was a temporary arrangement as it did not feel like a Hilton on arrival. No problems with the check in and the room was a deluxe king plus which I think was slightly larger than a normal deluxe and had a sofa and coffee table. Inside the room everything was modern and up to a good standard but walking along the corridor to the room the paintwork generally looked very grubby with what looked like fingerprints. The hotel is in an older Victorian building and they have tried to keep a period feel to it in the public areas and apart form the paintwork in the corridor the hotel appeared clean and well maintained.

Breakfast was ok but not one of the better Hilton breakfasts in London. As the hotel is in Bayswater you have plenty of options to eat and drink in the area and there is a cinema further along Queensway in the Whiteleys shopping area.

To get into the west end of London it is only a couple of stops on the central line from Queensway station or a 25 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Alx-UK,

Many thanks for your review of the hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed the classic feel of the hotel and found your room spacious and clean. I certainly agree that we are well located and I am happy you were able to enjoy the entertainment available right on our door step.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton W Yorks
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on way back from holiday for one night . Location excellent next door to tube station . Have stayed in hilton hotels before and been impressed.

Check in was good and staff very friendly we were offered a park view room on 5th floor (room 510) or a rear facing quiter room opted for the park view room.

The room was extremely small the smallest hotel room i have ever stayed in. Mattresses on beds were clearly old and past there best and both sagged in the middle which made for a poor nights sleep. Room was very hot but this was resolved by turning air conditioning on and the radiator off. room had large screen flat screen tv and ample storage in wardrobe and drawers

The bathroom was very dated with cracked tile and black stains on silicone seals on the bath and some of the grout in tiles. Toilet roll holder was rusting and the bathroom had a general feeling of being tired and in dire need of refurbishment and was also extremely small and whilst clean had a general feeling of being grubby. Extractor fan also sounded like a jet engline it was so noisy

In comparison to other hilton hotels I have stayed in this one was nowhere near the standard of the others and I would not stay here again unless it underwent major refurbishment to the standard of other hilton hotels nearby

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Normylad36,

I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I can appreciate that your room was not to your satisfaction, though I am sure however had this been brought to the attention of the Front Desk team, they would have endeavoured to find a room that was to your satisfaction. In addition, please be assured that we do have a preventative maintenance programme currently in place at the hotel to constantly maintain the best levels of accommodation for our guests. On a more positive note, I was pleased that you found the service from the team of a high standard.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for my girlfriends birthday.
Awful service from the moment i booked with us nearly losing our reservation through no fault of our own. Was promised a room upgrade and excellent service to rectify this, however we were put in a small, dim room, awful bathroom (appeared unclean) with our door directly opposite the cleaners cupboard. Not the fault of the cleaning staff but the cupboard was loud with people coming in and out. Room steamed up whenever you use the shower, ventilation needs work, spent most of the weekend with the windows open (in January).

The only saving grace to this hotel is its location, literally across the road from kensington garden and next door to Queensway tube station.

Awful service with no rectification, small, dim room, dirty bathroom, with a bedroom door opposite a busy, loud cleaners cupboard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Dan L,

I was saddened to hear that your stay with us did not match your expectations. I can fully understand the inconvenience caused during the booking process and the negative affect this placed on your stay. In relation to your room, we had indeed provided an upgraded Park facing room though I appreciate its location was unsuitable for you. I understand you had spoken with our Front Office Manager during your stay I am sure that had you raised your concerns over its location we would have been happy to find an alternative that you were more comfortable in.

I do hope this experience does not prevent you booking with us again as we would be more than happy to welcome you back to experience the hotel in a more positive light.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before Hilton took over, and since my wife and I were looking for a hotel in the Bayswater area with all its shops and restaurants, this has exactly what we were looking for. With 2 weeks to Christmas we went to London for a 4 days shopping spree, and you can find anything in London, but at a price.
However the Hilton Hyde Park we choose together with British Airways travel in a packet to a fairly good price for a hotel in London.

The hotel has a calm and informal atmosphere and very entgaged and friendly staff. We changed room due to bed size, and that was offered withour any problem off course due to availability. The rooms are not dig and not really modern, but still compared to other hotels in the area, you get a fair sized room that is clean. We didn't eat any meal at the hotel but choose the spanish cafe next door for breakfast. Fairly cheap and good food. The bar behind in the building was nice and cozy to sit in to get a drink before tugging in. Again with good and very friendly service. The concierge was competent, smiling and friendly and willing to help. (we heard what other asked for and they got good advices)

Location is perfect. Just on the other side of the north side of Hyde Park with walking distance to all the shops on Oxford street, Harrods and Kensington High Street. And If you haven't seen Kensington Palace where Princess Di lived, then you as close as you can be. It takes about 20 minutes to Oxford street and Harrods on foot.
If you don't want to walk you've got the Tube station Queensway on the Central LIne 10 meters from the Hilton entrace and Bayswater Tube station for the Circle and District Line 200 meter down the Quensway (street). With thesse lines you can get easy access to most locations in Inner London as Circle lines covers the borders of Inner London and Central line goes in the middle from Notting Hill gate in the West to Liverpoo Street Station in the East in the City

Room Tip: If you need a spacy bed god for the singlebeds which you can move together. The doublebeds are a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear soundlite1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was particularly happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and as well as finding us well located, offering great links to the city and beyond, you found the service from our staff to be of a high standard. I have fed back your comments and these have been greatly received by the team.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you at Hilton London Hyde Park again soon.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Hyde Park

Address: 129 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#320 Luxury Hotel in London
#355 Business Hotel in London
#369 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Hyde Park offers a prime location overlooking Britain's most famous park at the entrance of Kensington Palace. Conveniently located in Bayswater, this traditional townhouse hotel is adjacent to two underground stations, Queensway and Bayswater, servicing the Central, Circle and District lines. All of London's key destinations are within 20 minutes travel from the hotel. Originally built as the Coburg Court Hotel in 1907, this grade II listed Edwardian Townhouse later changed to the Coburg Hotel in the early 1960's. In keeping with the hotel's tradition, guest rooms are elegantly designed with a classic twist, keeping the modern traveler in mind. Whether it is shopping, sightseeing or business that brings you to London, we aim to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere. With London's favourite Royal Park situated right in front of the hotel, enjoy a jog or a relaxing walk in Hyde Park. The Kensington Palace, Serpentine Lake, and Diana Memorial fountain also offer interesting places to visit. You will also reach the shopping district (Oxford Street) within minutes, as well as Portobello Antiques Market and Harrods. Hilton London Hyde Park offers relaxed dining in the Library Lounge and is based in the bustling Bayswater District, bordered by Edgware Road, Kensington, and Notting Hill which are all known for their international gastronomic influences. All 132 guest rooms and our two meeting rooms for up to 100 guests offer wireless internet access. New Hilton Worldwide Cancellation policies: no cancellation charges until 1 day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Hyde Park Hotel London
Hilton International London
London Hilton
Hilton London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.