We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not a 5*room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of No.11 Cadogan Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added No.11 Cadogan Gardens to your Saves list
No.11 Cadogan Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Cadogan Gardens | Sloane Square, London SW3 2RJ, England (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 1,065 Hotels in London
1 review
“Great hotel, not a 5*room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for my wife's 40th birthday.
Staff were excellent but the room was sub standard.
We asked to change room or upgrade but front desk was not very helpful. Hotel was full and there was nothing they could do.

Room was tiny, no kettle, no mini bar, bath was tiny(3' long at max) facilities in room were awful. In the future, I would check the room before staying.

Great location and quirky hotel but a ruined stay overall.
Would not risk staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soliman K, General Manager at No.11 Cadogan Gardens, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with. I am sorry to read that you thought the room was sub standard during your stay and that the team could not offer a solution due to the house being fully booked. In regards to this, I am happy to inform you of a refurbishment project that we will be undertaking this coming August. The project is to create new rooms and suites, as well as update the facilities and our curent rooms and suites. Being a boutique townhouse hotel, all our rooms and suites are of differing shapes, sizes and styles and I am sorry that the team could not find something for you on this occassion. On a positive note, it is great to read that staff made your stay enjoyable.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with after the upcoming works.

Kind Regards,

Soliman Khaddour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    94
    48
    24
    25
See reviews for
66
206
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were looking for a small, traditional hotel perfectly situated in Kensington, adjacent to Knightsbridge, and found No. 11. A true gem with personable staff, lovely lounge area adjacent to the entrance, bar decorated in dark rich colors, quiet tea room and elegant downstairs dining room. The polished brass and glass original elevator slowly moves you up to the hotel's guest rooms. If you don't like the elevator's slow pace use the winding stairway with its polished wood railings and creaky steps...really reminiscent of old England.

Our 3rd floor room was perfect...small and cozy, beautifully decorated with a small marble bath. We don't spend much time in our room so small is fine by us. The construction noise next door was a bit bothersome and when we asked about changing rooms the only other available room was on the 1st floor, even smaller, not nearly as well decorated and had a bathroom door opening up onto the bed. This bath was very plain, no marble and very unappealing so we chose to stay where we were and in the end, adjusted to the noise. Also, on the weekends there are no workman so if you're scheduling a weekend stay construction noise shouldn't be a problem.

We enjoyed drinks in the bar each evening because its just so inviting...small, rich and dark. A good way to begin your night out on the town. Tartufo, No. 11's fine dining restaurant, was a bit of a let down though. The menu looked interesting but each course was bland. The descriptions of each dish were much more appealing than the food itself.

The staff at No. 11 are all amazing from the front desk to the concierge, bellmen, waitstaff and housekeeping...all were truly helpful and personable, making us feel special as if we'd stayed at No. 11 for years!

We will definitely be back and will also be careful as to our room selection as, from our experience, the rooms vary greatly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

In one of London's best neighborhoods, with access to public transportation and also in walking distance of numerous restaurants, shops and sites, No 11 is the right place if you and your family do not wish to stay in a high rise hotel that could exist anywhere in the world. Moreover, the people you will meet are memorable and will welcome you back on your next visit or trip. Richie Long, the concierge, is the best - and his staff are friendly, witty and super helpful with all your local needs. You will feel like you are staying at someone's home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soliman K, General Manager at No.11 Cadogan Gardens, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank your for your kind words.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay at your new home in London in the near future.

Best regards,

Soliman Khaddour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I like very much this hotel it s hidden quiet and really beautiful. Like a huge boudoir. I ll choose it for a movie. Nice restaurant downstairs with beautiful decoration in white and black. A posh hotel definitely!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soliman K, General Manager at No.11 Cadogan Gardens, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to No.11 Cadogan Gardens in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Soliman Khaddour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Beautiful hotel, quite small but as advertised. Gorgeous lounge and outside patio area. Room was great, bed extremely comfortable! Staff couldn't do enough for us - we ordered ginger tea from our room which didn't arrive. When we went downstairs they apologised profusely and waived our bill for two cappuccinos. Very handy location right by the Kings Road and not far from Sloane Square tube. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soliman K, General Manager at No.11 Cadogan Gardens, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I am very happy to read your positive comments on your recent stay with us here at No.11 Cadogan Gardens and particulary pleased to read that the staff made your stay all the more enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Soliman Khaddour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a quaint hotel with plenty of cosy charm in the public areas—a nice lobby/library room, pretty tea room, attractive breakfast area—but the rooms themselves need updating. We had two rooms, and in each room the mattress was extremely old and saggy, we had to ask for bedboards. The carpet was soiled. The windows did not close properly. The a/c did not work properly. In one of the rooms the drapes were very light and did not block any sunlight in the morning. The furniture was tired. The elevator is ancient and doesn't always work. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great. We were expecting a better experience. The location is wonderful, on a lovely, quiet street just steps from Sloane Square.

Room Tip: There is construction going on in the neighborhood at the back of the hotel, so rooms at the back ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soliman K, General Manager at No.11 Cadogan Gardens, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time out to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you had some issues during your stay but am happy to tell that you that we will be under going a period of refurbishment starting in August. These renovations will see the expansion and creation of several new suites, the addition of a spa and the refurbishment and update of the bedrooms and public areas. This part of our consistant goal of ensuring that we continue, as we have done for many years, to exceed guest experience in all aspects. I very much hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us after this process is completed.

Best Wishes,

Soliman Khaddour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and we both really enjoyed it! The staff was very attentive, pleasant and helpful, they just did everything right the 1st time. We stayed at the room #005 the decor was gorgeous and the bed was extremely comfortable! (I wish the room had a bit more light in it though). The breakfast was very delicious and whole atmosphere of the hotel was great! I highly recommend it if you like the classy royal look. We would defiantly recommend it to friends and family and stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soliman K, General Manager at No.11 Cadogan Gardens, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff played a significant role in that. Thank you for your recommendations and I hope to welcome you back in the future to one of our lighter suites.

Best wishes,

Soliman Khaddour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to No.11 Cadogan Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.11 Cadogan Gardens

Address: 11 Cadogan Gardens | Sloane Square, London SW3 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
#138 Family Hotel in London
#179 Romantic Hotel in London
#182 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — No.11 Cadogan Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to No.11 Cadogan Gardens, a unique urban hideaway off Sloane Street in the heart of affluent Knightsbridge. A member of the internationally recognised brand Small Luxury Hotels of the World™, this enchanting retreat is brimming with character and charm.Behind the classic Victorian façade, No.11 Cadogan Gardens is reminiscent of a grand private residence. On ascending the stairs, guests can view the many gilded oil portraits of distinguished royalty and aristocrats adorning the walls. These artworks transport guests to a era of glamour and elegance from the moment they step through the door.The distinctly eclectic décor marries beautifully with all the modern conveniences a contemporary traveller could wish for, creating a truly unforgettable boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your No.11 Cadogan Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
11 Cadogan Gardens
Eleven Cadogan Gardens London
Eleven Cadogan Gardens Hotel London
No.11 Cadogan Gardens London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No.11 Cadogan Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.