We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear - they've designed the soul out of this charming hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of No.11 Cadogan Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added No.11 Cadogan Gardens to your Saves list
No.11 Cadogan Gardens
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Cadogan Gardens | Sloane Square, London SW3 2RJ, England (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Oh dear - they've designed the soul out of this charming hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Having stayed at No. 11 on a couple of occasions before and really enjoyed it, we were looking forward to a few days in this lovely part of London.

As soon as we stepped over the threshold though, we started getting worried. Whereas previously No. 11 had real old-fashioned charm and style, the entrance was now dark and unwelcoming, seemingly lit only by reflections off the gilt chandeliers and reproduction "boudoir" armchairs. The kind and welcoming porters in their white jackets have been replaced by staff dressed in an attempt at urban überchic - black shirts, black trousers. A quick glance into the drawing room revealed - oh horror of horros - a flat-screen TV hanging on the wall in a gilt frame.

Happily the decoration in the room had not been tampered with, but our room overlooked the inner shaft and echoed with the incessant throb of the kitchen ventilation. Interestingly, the new porter commented on this fact with a "Oh, it is noisy, no?".

Our next disappointment came the following morning when we went down for breakfast. Hitherto, the dining room was a light and inviting room. Now, the walls are over-filled with paparazzi-style photos and the new furniture was certainly no improvement over the old.

Sadly, the make-over has - in our opinion - taken the soul out of the hotel. Yes, the carpet in the entrance used to be a bit threadbare - but did the designer need to try and replicate the over-styled, over-gilt and utterly charmless places you find the world over? The very fact that No. 11 used to be so different from the faceless hotels you can find in any city was the essential part of its attraction.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The fact that it has "suffered" an unsuccessful renovation that destroyed its previous charm.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    94
    48
    24
    25
See reviews for
66
206
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

I just stayed at 11 Cadogan Gardens for a few nights while traveling in London. At first, I wasn't too happy about going to London given the weather. However after staying at this property, my whole experience on this trip changed.

The rooms are very well appointed, although a bit beaten. I had a fireplace in my room which was an amazing amenity to counter the damp London days. We faced a small park in the back off the street and enjoyed sitting in our room with the windows open taking in the fresh air.

The area is equally wonderful with many shops and cafes down by Kings Road. Cadogan Gardens itself is an amazing English Garden type of community in the heart of London. I would definitely stay here again and now look forward to going back to London.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alella
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

I stayed at N11 last week end with my family and some relatives and we all enjoyed it very much. Chelsea is my preferred neighbourhood in London anyway, but this hotel is special since you feel like staying in a real English home. I like the building, the decoration, the linen, their breakfasts in classical English china, and the service. For sure I will go back.

  • Liked — Decoration and cleanlyness
  • Disliked — Size of some bathrooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Eleven Cadogan Gardens is like visiting your old rich aunt who leaves in 19th century splendor. The hotel was, in by-gone days, a stately mansion in the middle of the city. Now it houses one of the most sublime experiences to be had in London.
Now, don't expect "corporate hotel" glitz. There is no glitz. Just warm, understated, highly personalized service and comfort.
The staff is invisible - until you need them. They appear with the press of a button. The walls are wood paneling, aged and beautiful. There are old paintings everywhere. The furniture is down-filled and covered in silk damask. But the attention and service are on a par with the finest hotels anywhere.
This is definitely a place I'll return to.

  • Liked — Great bed, linens and outstanding service
  • Disliked — the bathroom - I'll never get used to those tiny London bathrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here! You'll love it
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

We've stayed at 11 Cadogan Gardens every time we visit London, but I was never a member of Trip Advisor before, so this is my first "review". There is no hotel like this one. As others have said in their posts, it is more like coming home to your own palatial London address than staying in a commercial establishment. And for those few who were offended by the "stains" on the rugs and the age of the furnishings--we love the age and beauty of this place. If the carpeting isn't brand new and spanking clean, it's only because so many feet have danced with joy over these floors before ! If you want to experience London as a true Englishman (albeit a wealthy one) rather than a tourist, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

stayed there this month and enjoyed very much! all the staff made feel me very welcomed and were very helpful. Big thank you for the night porter for his "discret" service. will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2006

We've stayed everywhere from Claridges to Gore, but nothing compares to Number Eleven. The perfect experience begins when you enter, to find no signs whatsoever that you're in a hotel at all. It's a beautiful 19th century townhouse, beautifully, elegantly decorated. You are greeted by a butler in white uniform, who promptly takes your bags to your room, as if you are the property owner and they were awaiting your return. Suite number 5 is really wonderful, two rooms, quiet, very comfortable bed, elegant and luxurious bathroom. My only complaint is that the sofa is too short to stretch out on. Room service is prompt and proper. I can't say that the restaurant's food is first class, but everything else about the hotel is superb. And here's the topper: the evening after we returned to the states, we got an email from the hotel porter, telling us that they found my wife's wallet, filled with money (with London prices as they are, I can't imagine how she saved a pence!). And they shipped it to us. If you appreciate traditional elegance, fine and discreet service, no pomp and circumstance, no pompous guests with loud parties or egomaniacs with deplorable bodyguards (as I always see at Claridges), this is your place. It is positively our favorite.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to No.11 Cadogan Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.11 Cadogan Gardens

Address: 11 Cadogan Gardens | Sloane Square, London SW3 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
#138 Family Hotel in London
#177 Romantic Hotel in London
#183 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — No.11 Cadogan Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to No.11 Cadogan Gardens, a unique urban hideaway off Sloane Street in the heart of affluent Knightsbridge. A member of the internationally recognised brand Small Luxury Hotels of the World™, this enchanting retreat is brimming with character and charm.Behind the classic Victorian façade, No.11 Cadogan Gardens is reminiscent of a grand private residence. On ascending the stairs, guests can view the many gilded oil portraits of distinguished royalty and aristocrats adorning the walls. These artworks transport guests to a era of glamour and elegance from the moment they step through the door.The distinctly eclectic décor marries beautifully with all the modern conveniences a contemporary traveller could wish for, creating a truly unforgettable boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your No.11 Cadogan Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
11 Cadogan Gardens
Eleven Cadogan Gardens London
Eleven Cadogan Gardens Hotel London
No.11 Cadogan Gardens London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No.11 Cadogan Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.