We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay for visiting London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Plaza Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Plaza Kensington to your Saves list
Eden Plaza Kensington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 - 69 Queens Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JT, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #655 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Amalfi Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay for visiting London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a very central point for visiting London. Bus stops outside hotel, Gloucester Road & South Kensington tube stations nearby, just a 10 minute walk. On the opposite side of the road, literally, you can find the Natural History and Science museums! Both well worth a visit especially on a damp London day.
The staff are friendly, the rooms are long and narrow, but warm, comfortable & clean! The only problem we had with room 303 were the spotlights which were a bit dim! This room was internal, so we had no traffic noise at all! I would recommend it to anyone!
Breakfast is £7.50 p/p, added to the bill, but the best place for a fully-cooked English breakfast is at Garfunkels in the Gloucester Arcade next to Gloucester Road Tube station!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    174
    138
    47
    45
See reviews for
77
173
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I spent a couple of days in London last October 2012 and this hotel in Kensington is really situated in a good location just 5 min walking to the tube! Rooms are not wide but they are all new. We had the chance to have a good accomodation in a quite big room and bathroom at the ground floor (it is usually for people with handicaps). So ask for that one in case it is free! Breakfast is not as English style but normal and the cost is in the average comparing to the tea houses in the surroundings..

Room Tip: ground floor the biggest one for 2 people!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel overnight on 12 November. Upon arriving I was met by a courteous young man who booked me into the room with speed. He told me how to use the lift using the little card he gave me, the same card opened the door of your hotel room. The room was for my grandson and I having a single and a double bed in the room. The room was very small, but adequate for our needs. The bathroom had a power shower and was spotlessly clean as was the room. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. There was a kettle, tea, coffee and milk all complimentary. The hotel is between two tube stations, I do think Gloucester Road has the edge and is just a little nearer. It is handy and convenient and most central. We did not have the breakfast as it was continental and my grandson and I wanted a cooked breakfast, so I cannot comment on breakfasts. I can recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Eden Plaza Hotel is a two star hotel with plenty of facilities considering the price paid (do not forget that you can find excellent accommodation at around £ 1,000 / night).
It is recently renovated, is including free WiFi, hairdryer and kettle. Towels and sheets I thought were clean. In fact you can look on the hotel website, just do not mind at all. Including pictures are real, can only give an impression of more space. Indeed, there was little place, but enough to move two people in the room decently.
Although not quite in the center, but about 15 minutes of this, I only went down to visit the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, etc etc.
Across the street from the hotel is the Natural History Museum and Imperial College, so it's ideal for those going to the interview at Imperial (as we're about to do so many :))
I want to draw your attention on one thing though: outlets. I even got spikes with that single socket compatible with my phone charger was that the bathroom from the razor :)) and ironically, the bathroom had sensors, lights, and so and plug, if you do not Move about 10 minutes through it. It would be ideal to take with you an adapter, but be careful though that you use the adapter with a plate might appear to your hair loss that is too hot (something experienced by an acquaintance).
You can take a morning breakfast (continental) the hotel is £ 7.50. However, to me it seems a bit much, considering that food that you find in the supermarket and at a price more affordable. Generally food is just like us that price or a bit more expensive (you're in Kensington) at the supermarket, but the restaurant is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'll definitely stay here again. Why? Cheap. Excellent location. Comfortable beds. Clean and good shower. It fits all that I need. Gloucester road is on the Picadilly Line to Heathrow and into the centre of London. Nat History Museum 5'. V&A and Science Museum 8'. king Road 20' walk.

Room Tip: 609 is right in front of a tree so shielded from the Queensway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a 2 night stay and wanted somewhere near the Royal Albert Hall as I was taking part in the Remembrance Festival. Choose this hotel because of the location, which is fine for the museums and getting in to central London on the tube. There are two tube stations very close to this hotel.

Hotel was refitted in 2010 so it was very clean and had good décor. The reception men were friendly when we arrived and went out each day. The rooms are small but if you are spending little time in them this isn’t a problem. The bathroom (The room I had only had a shower) is compacted but again clean with good hot water and a strong shower.

Unfortunately the hotel is on a corner of a main road with traffic lights and although there is secondary glazing this doesn’t stop the noise from the traffic. I found that I couldn’t get to sleep until about 0300 in the morning, which is very unfortunate.

There is no lounge area as such (only a couple of corner sofas in the reception area) so there isn’t any where to relax on a night, and the breakfast area was a bit plain

I would have given this hotel 4 stars but the noise situation made it 3.

Would I stay again, yes, but only if I was guaranteed a quiet room

Room Tip: Ask for a room no facing the roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were spending a cultural three nights in London and wanted somewhere near one of the museums. We booked early through Laterooms.com and got a good rate.The hotel is about 300 metres from the Natural History museum and about 400 metres from Gloucester Road tube. The rooms aren't large;essentially two single beds, a small wardrobe and shelf unit and a TV. Seating is on the bed. The shower is strong and good. However for a short stay in London it was ideal for us and the two girls (next door). We were on the second floor and had no problems with noise even though the hotel is in a busy area. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Plaza Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Plaza Kensington

Address: 68 - 69 Queens Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #655 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Plaza Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Queens Gate, South Kensington, this newly refurbished 3 Star Deluxe Hotel offers a chic yet comfortable atmosphere in a fantastic location.Set opposite some of the most famous Museums in London - the Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums, the Hotel is just moments away from the shopping of Harrods and Harvey Nichols, the Serpentine Gallery, the Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court as well as Hyde Park and Kensington Palace/Gardens. So whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, the Eden Plaza Kensington is an ideal base for your stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Eden Plaza Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Eden Plaza London
Hotel Eden Plaza
Eden Plaza Hotel London
Eden Plaza Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Plaza Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.