We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Plaza Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Plaza Kensington to your Saves list
Eden Plaza Kensington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 - 69 Queens Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JT, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #669 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

apart from the hiccup of being charged before arrival & constant nagging for a refund! my stay was comfortable and the location was ideal for the imperial college just a 4 minute walk and lit opposite the natural history museum!! lovely area of London with easy reach of the underground. some nice pubs and shops in the area. hotel room compact but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    187
    153
    52
    52
See reviews for
81
187
45
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As we pulled up outside and whilst checking in we were quite impressed with exterior and reception area, nicely decorated, etc. It all changed when we were put into a room on the "1st floor" which was in fact a basement. The room decoration was pleasant however had one double bed and 2 single beds all pushed together in a dim narrow room. To our pleasant surprise outside the window was the hotel's extractor fan/generator which made a racket all day and throughout the night. They were obviously trying to save energy as the bathroom and hallway lights were sensored so as you walk into the toilet it lit up, however, on 3 or 4 different occasions you'd be sat on the toilet and the lights would go off leaving you in pitch black - not very nice!! Another big pointer to mention is they try and catch you by saying when you check in that breakfast is from half 7 - 10 - we thought this was included in the price; however, found out when we were checking out that we had to pay £30 - £7.50 pp, per morning, so it was £7.50 each for what was initially some orange juice, crappy cereal selection and horrible rubber hard boiled eggs. Waitresses were also very rude and sneered at you. There were no locks on the doors so anyone with a key could just walk in, and seeing as it was 2 females - me and my mother, we felt very unsafe. One thing that really got on my wick was that yesterday morning as we were getting ready to check out, they decided to have the windows cleaned with a pressure washer which wasn't pleasant at all!
Another note is that when we asked them to order a taxi they booked a private taxi service who they obviously work onside with. We waited 20 minutes for a cab to arrive to then be charged £13 to get from the hotel to chelsea, which would normally be a fiver in a black cab. After doing this journey a few times and walking around, we realised that the cab driver drove around in a circle and then charged us excessive amounts. DONT fall for this mistake, just hail yourself a cab.
Overall, really unhappy with this hotel, the only good thing is the location. As soon as we payed our bill the reception staff ignored us and didn't even thank us or say goodbye so it was if they just wanted the money and for us to go.
It's not worth the money and we will certainly not be coming here again. Had better service at a travelodge to be honest!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Have read reviews with interest but if you want a hotel handy for all the museums albert hall kensington palace etc this is perfect and only 5 mins walk from tube; we got a twin and beds were end to end with small shower but spotless and nice and secure; dont pay for the continental breakfast just walk to the local cafes etc; definitely would use again if going back to london

Room Tip: Get one at back on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at the Eden Plaza when in London for a gig at the Albert Hall. The location is perfect for walking to the museums - the National Science Museum, the Natural History Museum and the Victoria and Albert, as well as walking to the Albert Hall and Kensington Gardens. Near to South Kensington tube station too. Plenty nearby pubs in the Gloucester road area to relax for the evening. Ok not a luxury hotel, but very clean, perfectly servicable rooms and does what it sets out to do. For a short trip as place to lay your head - ideal.

Room Tip: We had the disabled room on the ground floor which was large and facing a back yard so very quiet. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had two concerts to go to in Hyde Park so I looked for nearby Hotels. This one is only ten minutes away from the Albert Hall and a 40 minute walk to the Proms in the park and the Radio 2 event next day. We found the Hotel extremely friendly, helpful and clean. Our room, 105, was well suited to us as my friend likes to be near the loo and I like a window. One bed was in front of the other( which sounds bizarre) but was well organised. Waitrose is a five minute walk down the road and there is an ASK restaurant and many others nearby. Also a good pub just up the road, and a tube station there too.
I had another concert to go to 10 days later, on my own, at the Albert Hall. A 10 minute walk back down Queensgate road (which is nice and wide) I felt completely safe.
There was a mistake with my booking and the Hotel provided us (and me on my own) with a complimentary breakfast which was very nice. The breakfast room is not that big but so well organised with a good use of cupboard space and everything you needed very well laid out.
Reception were extremely helpful and polite.
My single room, 306, had a double bed in it and was very suitable for a single person, small but again very organised.
I will certainly be going back to this Hotel again next year.
A definite recommendation.

Room Tip: From Victoria it is about an hours walk. You can go to Hyde Park Corner (easy to find) and walk the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

On a tourist trip to London I searched for a hotel with great location and access to the Underground transit. We booked at Eden Plaza Kensington and loved our experience. Though it was not big, that made little difference as we were there to experience London and the U.K., not spend the trip in a hotel. The beds were comfy and the hotel was in beautiful shape. I very much enjoyed our experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Disappointed in size of room. Paid for twin room. First room we were given was tiny with twin beds laid out end to end against wall. (such that guests sleep feet to feet). Have never seen such a bedroom configuration in all my travels. We were moved without any quibble to what was described as a bedroom for 3. Hardly, double bed crammed against wall with single bed at foot at 90degrees. Public areas very dimly lit. Staff polite. Would only recommend for 1 night- low budget. It is spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden Plaza Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Plaza Kensington

Address: 68 - 69 Queens Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Plaza Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Queens Gate, South Kensington, this newly refurbished 3 Star Deluxe Hotel offers a chic yet comfortable atmosphere in a fantastic location.Set opposite some of the most famous Museums in London - the Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums, the Hotel is just moments away from the shopping of Harrods and Harvey Nichols, the Serpentine Gallery, the Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court as well as Hyde Park and Kensington Palace/Gardens. So whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, the Eden Plaza Kensington is an ideal base for your stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Eden Plaza Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Eden Plaza London
Hotel Eden Plaza
Eden Plaza Hotel London
Eden Plaza Kensington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Plaza Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.